A White Dogwood Tree

427966_3554187091944_911756793_nThis past spring as I sat looking out my window at my white Dogwood Tree, the white pedals glowing in the dusk I was reminded of the hope Jesus offers of peace and rest.

As I watched twilight give way to darkness it resembled a blanket being pulled over daylight welcoming the darkness.  This darkness overtakes me as I witness the beauty of God tucking in His creation for a nights rest and His whisper gently telling me to “be still” in His care – even in darkness He is with me.

Nightfall replaces the peaceful calm of early evening when the glow from a neighbor’s home illuminates a noble White Dogwood Tree.  With a radiant quiet beauty it reminds me of the Light of Jesus in our dark world. In the shadows comes a quiet beauty as night fall descends and tranquility settles over my drowsy neighborhood.

Everything around me is dark except for the brilliance of one solitary tree.

I have walked in the darkness many times – darkness of death, illness, and sorrow. Yet, there has always been one Light constant, never changing in my darkness.  Like night must come, so we all must face the darkness that life sometimes brings.  Our night.

If we are not careful we will wander around in the darkness never experiencing the Light of Hope that Jesus offers.

Hope the light of day will come. 

We know every night when we lay down we do not fear the darkness because morning will come and the sun will shine down on us once again. 

We have hope of a new day.

When we face the dark times in our lives, we do not need to give in to the darkness. For in the darkness there is a glimmer of the Son’s divine Glory, reassuring us of His Light within us, like a neighbor’s porch light casting a soft glow on a blooming Dogwood Tree.

A reminder of Jesus’ presence in our lives.

At times His Light is strong like a beacon boldly showing us the way and other times a faint glow gently leading, like the shadows of a White Dogwood Tree silhouetted in the night sky.

We have hope of a dark free world.
Patty B.  June 2017

dogwoodtree

 

{Pictures of my Dog Wood Tree
in the light of a spring day ~ Patty B.}
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A White Dogwood Tree

  1. Oh Patty, this is a touching and beautifully written post! You have such a gift, I hope you begin to post more often because I’ve missed reading them. All my blessings back to you strong lady!

    Like

  2. Patty.. that is such a beautiful description of God’s light and hope…. Diane

    Like

  3. Christine Woods-Henderson says:

    How wonderful to know that our Light continues to use one of His lights – YOU – to help dispel the darkness. I love you! Christine

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Christine – I think of you often and know you are touching the lives of those in your new community. Thank you for all you had done for me. We miss you!

      Like

  4. A wonderful Message Patty giving assurance in the Storms that life brings that Jesus our Light and is always with us.

    I miss your Post messages Patty when your not Blogging, you always offer Hope as we Trust in The Lord and His, Joy and Peace.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

  5. Debbie M. says:

    I remember something a pastor said in his sermon, “Keep walking until you find the light in the darkness.” The point being that God will give us a beacon to bring us out of darkness. What a beautiful analogy and living reminder you shared in your blog post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

