Unexpected Path

Isaiah 43_2

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. Isaiah 43:2

In February when I posted about writing again I had good intentions to get back into my routine.  But like the old saying, “the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry” (Robert Burns), my life has taken on a new twist and I find myself in the midst of a new storm.

Last November I went to my doctor for a pain in my left side that turned into months of doctor appointments and tests, with a break until March when more tests found other issues.   I think I have had all scans known to mankind since this ordeal began.  The ironic thing is my initial concern of the pain is gone.  The problem (without going into much detail) is each test is inconclusive but then they find something new so more tests are ordered to get a clearer picture – and results again are inconclusive. I have felt like a human pincushion and Guinea pig! 

I am thankful to God – so far all cancer tests (blood markers and MRI) show no signs of metastatic disease from my breast cancer.  So the question remains – what is going on?

Six months later and they are still unsure. 

I have them all stumped –  I have no symptoms, no other pain (other than the pain in my side that went away), I feel pretty good other than another fight with a virus, and my appetite is normal.  The peace of God has enveloped me as I wait and has given me super human strength for patience – if you know me you would know it is indeed God’s strength and not my own. Let’s just say when God was passing out patience I got tired of waiting in line and so went on to the next of God’s gifts!

So, here I sit in limbo. 

Looking back during those months when I took my break, God was at work with preparing me for this season of waiting. So, instead of dread I feel an expectation of how God’s glory will be revealed. 

God has reminded me I am at that age now when things will begin to fall apart, sort of like an old car, when one part goes they all go.  I just need to go into the repair shop (hospital labs and doctor’s offices) for tune ups and repairs.

And, so, life goes on. 

In between work, dr appointments and to do lists (yes I am still doing them!) I have plans to get back into my writing. I have even etched out a time frame to sit at my desk with a cup of tea, dogs at my feet and soft music playing as I type away all the stories and inspirational thoughts flowing through my mind during the day.

My best laid plans often go awry as reality sets in –

 After working all day, there are the daily things that need done around the house and then time to unwind.  Any writing gets put on the back burner as I jot down some thoughts for future posts.  So you know, the dogs are on their sofas or chair – yes they have their own furniture and are gracious enough to allow us to sit with them on occasion – the only time they lay at our feet is when we are eating as they wait patiently for their treat.

We do not know what our future holds but we can face each new day with all the joys along with the uncertainties and trials knowing God is already there, preparing us for the unexpected and for helping us through our daily routines.

If your life’s journey is taking you on an unexpected path remember God is with you.  God may be walking along side you or most likely carrying you but be encouraged – all of your needs are already set before God.

Our life may be full of uncertainties – but – God is always certain and sure.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Unexpected Path

  1. Patty,
    It’s no fun to be a human pin cushion, but I am glad that you are finding peace in the waiting. You are so right, that in all of our uncertainties, God remains certain. I hope you will soon find some answers and look forward to reading more blogs from you.
    Blessings,
    Anne

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Anne, yes it is finally good news – I will be posting soon. God does indeed fill our lives with peace that surpasses all understanding and fill our hearts with His Joy.

      Like

  2. russtowne says:

    It is good to hear from you, Patty. May you soon get relief and answers regarding your medical mysteries and challenges!

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thanks – I always said I like a good mystery!! lol As the one doc said, I have always been his challenge. But good news – I’ll be posting soon, thank you for your kind words.

      Like

  3. margaret21 says:

    .. and through all your pain and uncertainties you had time to think of our family and our troubles, and pray for us. Thank you so much. I hope that the diagnosis comes soon and is relatively benign. Enough is enough!

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Margaret – your family sure has been hit hard. My thoughts and prayers are with your daughter and their children – she needs time to grieve in her own way for as long as it takes. My heart is with her. Diagnosis is no cancer – I will be posting soon.

      Like

  4. A wonderful word of encouragement for the rest of us Patty – thanks for sharing what’s going on with you. ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  5. Sheryl says:

    You’re sure been dealing with a lot these past few months. It’s got to be incredibly difficult to have to undergo all of these tests and inconclusiveness. Hopefully it will end up being something very minor. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Like

  6. I hope those tune-ups and repairs bring to light whatever is going on with your health. You’ve listed so many great reminders here about God that I now feel a lightness to a burden that I’ve been carrying. Thank you!

    Like

  7. Deb says:

    I’m very sorry you have been going through such an ordeal. I have missed your blogs, but I must admit I haven’t been that active in writing or reading. Shame on me! As you said.. Life happens. I hope you get some answers soon! Prayers and hugs.

    Like

  8. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. I have been going through my own medical emergency and recovery and at times have been gripped with fear. I’m so glad that you can feel and know the presence of the Lord with you. I had a missionary friend who used to speak of people “standing in the gap” for others with prayers, and I know many have been standing the gap for me when I have been unable to feel the presence of God with me.

    Like

  9. I guess we’re on the same page Patty.. time just seems to be made up with more questions than answers… Thinking and praying for you…. Diane xx

    Like

  10. I find such peace in your words Patty. Peace and faith and love. Thank you. Your wellness comes through your faith. ❤

    Like

  11. mommermom says:

    Big hugs to you, Patty. I love your positive attitude and trust in Him that all is under control. ♡

    Like

  12. Linda H. says:

    Patty, so sorry to hear of your trials. God is indeed with you, “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.” Isaiah 43: 2

    Linda

    Like

  13. RJ Dawson says:

    I’m sorry you have been going through so much Patty, but it is good that you have posted this. It lets your friends know about the Lord’s faithfulness and your faithfulness toward Him, and your good spirit and attitude. I have prayed for you and added my prayers to those of so many others. The joy of the Lord is your strength. I believe that at the end of this unexpected path is victory. Be blessed.

    Like

  14. RJ Dawson says:

    I’m sorry you have been going through so much Patty, but it is good that you have posted this. It lets your friends know about the Lord’s faithfulness and your faithfulness toward Him, and your good spirit and attitude. I have prayed for you and added my prayers to those of so many others. The joy of the Lord is your strength. I believe that at the end of this unexpected path is victory. Be blessed.

    Like

  15. Debbie M. says:

    Patty, I’m thankful that you are experiencing God’s love in new ways as you are in this season of waiting for answers. That is so worth writing about! Romans 8:38-39, “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      One of my favorite verses – during it all I surrounded by God’s peace and knew He would see me through whatever lie ahead. I am just thankful He is not done with me yet, although I am ready, I know there is still much that needs to be done. God bless you.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Hi dear Patty, it’s good to see you Posting again, your heart thoughts are always uplifting and yes our God of Love is always Faithful to give us His Spiritual Strength to endure whatever life brings including aging.

    Isaiah 40: 31 But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as Eagles; they shall run, and not be weary and they shall walk and not faint.

    Right now I’m also experiencing a Storm in my Life too Patty, a harsh one which I will Post about soon and in more detail later but as you shared God makes His presence known sometimes in an Amazing way.

    I hope you received my last e-mail, it was good to hear from you, thank you for keeping in touch, your Love and concern for others is a real blessing.

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      I did receive your email, have not had a chance to read it yet…things here are as crazy as usual – will keep you in prayer my friend. I have something for you from one of my out of town travels, hope to have it in the mail this week. 🙂 Hugs.

      Like

      • Hi Patty, Thank you so much for your gift, card and letter. they were late in reaching me but I received them today and the hand towel fitted in well with the colors in my Kitchen, I loved the card too, such wonderful uplifting words but unfortunately I couldn’t read your letter nor could a friend of mine, your writing is very different but I do appreciate your kindness in writing and will ask other friends if they can read it for me.

        Take Care dear friend Blessings – Anne

        Liked by 1 person

  17. This scripture is a reminder I needed. Praying for your continued health friend.

    Like

  18. Love that last line. Words to live by.

    Like

  19. Cats have their own chairs and sofas also. I heard Rush Limbaugh say that “dogs have a master; cats have a staff.” So true! I pray that future medical tests will declare you cancer free, in Jesus name. Bless you. You are an encouragement to all of us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

