Season of Rest

Season of Rest

When I took my break I did not know what to expect. There were plenty of things that have been neglected and needed done. In my mind I became June Cleaver and Mrs. Brady (forgetting Mrs. Brady had a maid). Not only would my life be all figured out but my home would be organized and clean.

It did not take me long to recognize how busy my life had become. My life was filled with many empty activities to keep me busy and to quiet the many thoughts going through my mind. I found out that it only silenced the voice of God.

The busier I became the more I organized my to-do list, my calendar and my time. It did not take long to discover that it was more time-consuming than it was helpful.

What was causing chaos in my life had to be removed. I had to de-clutter my life along with de-cluttering my never-ending lists.

There you have it, I am a list writer. I have a list for everything. I love buying new calendars because I can create new lists. I download free apps of lists and organization tools. But with all the writing of lists to structure my life I found out I was actually creating disorder. I was being over organized so much so, that my lists were the only things that were organized.

During this season of rest I became still, longing to feel my Lord’s presence and to hear His voice.

God was already there waiting for me let go of the busyness and the never-ending lists to return to Him. He displayed His presence in glorious sunrises and sunsets, and in the winter birds’ songs of joy at the start of the day. His voice was heard in the stillness of the morning and in the solitude of the evenings.

I am once again aware of God’s Presence.

I have finally become a Mary in a Martha world – sitting at the feet of Jesus.

Through each season of my life Jesus was there, is there and will always be there. This season of rest Jesus cleared a path for me to see clearly that God, our Father will always bring organization out of our chaos.

I rediscovered:

God is always with us regardless if our lives are chaotic or well-ordered.

Jesus points the way for us when we have lost our way to free us so we can worship God in every season of our lives.

Each season will bring us closer to an everlasting life with God the Father, Jesus His Son and His Holy Spirit.

There will be times when a season takes us to a place of rest – to our mountain. A place where we will worship God, offering Him our praises, and glorifying His Name in everything we do.

We do not need a to-do list for worship.

 

“LORD, you are my God; I will exalt you and praise your name, for in perfect faithfulness you have done wonderful things” Isaiah 25:1

“LORD, you are my God; I will exalt you and praise your name, for in perfect faithfulness you have done wonderful things”        Isaiah 25:1

Mount-Zion

“Exalt the LORD our God and worship at His holy mountain, for the LORD our God is holy” (Psalm 99:9)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

{Sunrise picture by Patty Beggs}
{Praise picture and Mt Zion compliments of Google search}
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Season of Rest

  1. margaret21 says:

    It’s good to see you back. I’ve always had such respect and admiration for the way in which you have dealt with upheaval and unwanted change. If it meant being super-busy, so be it. It helped you cope, and now you can pause and appreciate the stillness once more. Brilliant.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you for your encouragement. You have such a compassionate and understanding heart. It was what I needed and it was productive – on to the next season! 🙂

  2. He really has been working in your life Patty and His direction for is so evident. What a great realization! Diane xx

  3. Welcome back friend. Thank you for sharing these insights and important reminders. God is faithful.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you for the nice welcome back! God is indeed faithful and since Tom passed away I never realized just how faithful and loving He is! Your daughters are so precious and every time I see their pictures they brighten my day. 🙂

  4. Sheryl says:

    It’s wonderful to have you back. I enjoyed reading this lovely insightful post.

  5. Love this! You are inspiring!

    Teresa Byington 🌹 Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. Hello,

    As you probably know, I am co-host on the Rose Chat Podcast. One of our series have been Voices from the Garden. Here is one I did… http://rosechat.podbean.com/mobile/e/good-company-voices-from-the-garden-teresa-byington/

    I would love for you to record this post and send it to me to use as a part of this series.

    All you need to do is record it on your iPhone or Droid and email the recording to me!

    Would you be interested?

    Teresa Byington TheGardenDiary.com RoseChatPodcast.com 🌹 Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Patty B says:

      I did not know about Rose Chat Podcast, I love it – very encouraging and inspiring! How do I subscribe, I did not see a place to sign up. And I am so honored you asked me. I do not have a droid or iPhone, just a regular “old person” phone, although I can text!! 🙂 Thank you for asking me, at a time when I was unsure to return to the blog God sent you to encourage me to continue. Teresa you always encourage, building others us up. It is a special gift – 🙂 Please use the article – and may God use both of us to Glorify Him!

  7. Debbie M. says:

    “Welcome Home!” to that place of rest in God’s presence. Your post is a timely reminder for all of us. It is so easy to get caught up in organizing and accomplishing that we don’t fully enjoy living life moment to moment with God’s abundance!

  8. Beautiful. And a great reminder to us all.

  9. mommermom says:

    Welcome back, Patty. I too have been discovering my world much to busy and quiet times wasted with such trivia that God was falling to the wayside. Aren’t we blessed that He is always there awaiting us? I have begun to declutter my life to allow more time for Him……more time in prayer. ….more time in scripture. I am in the process of deciding where to cut out other unnecessary activities. It is hard to hear Him speak when we are always so connected to the world. Congratulations on your journey of rest.

  10. RobbyeFaye says:

    Welcome back, Patty! I’m glad you were able to rest and draw closer to God! What a beautiful, heartfelt and inspiring blog.
    I try to organize and am never able to do it very effectively. There are just too many things that interrupt any schedule or anything else I try to do so, a long time ago I decided to just go with the flow, as it were. Drives me crazy!
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    God’s Blessings and I am so happy to see you back!

  11. Welcome back Patty, I missed your Posts, they are full of honesty and Love both for God and others.

    I agree with you about lists, also budgets can pull us down, they can lead to focusing on Materialism. I remember that God’s work done in His way never lacks His supply.

    It was not ling after I met you Patty that you shared with me about your Daughter and I could tell you Loved her greatly, did someone tell you to share about her or your husband when he was alive, were you forced to Love them, did you find it hard to share about how special they were, did you make a list so you would remember, I’m sure you didn’t.

    When we Love our Abba Father as you shared Patty, we want to talk about Him and Praise Him, nobody has to Preach to us demanding that we do so, the Bible is our Brag Book, we are God’s Children and we Love our Daddy and we need no reminders or lists, it’s written in our hearts.

    “Christ”ian Love dear Friend – Anne.

  12. I missed your Posts Patty , they are full of honesty and Love both for God and others.

    I agree with you about lists, also budgets can pull us down, they can lead to focusing on Materialism. I remember that God’s work done in His way never lacks His supply.

    It was not ling after I met you Patty that you shared with me about your Daughter and I could tell you Loved her greatly, did someone tell you to share about her or your husband when he was alive, were you forced to Love them, did you find it hard to share about how special they were, did you make a list so you would remember, I’m sure you didn’t.

    When we Love our Abba Father as you shared Patty, we want to talk about Him and Praise Him, nobody has to Preach to us demanding that we do so, the Bible is our Brag Book, we are God’s Children and we Love our Daddy and we need no reminders or lists, it’s written in our hearts.

    “Christ”ian Love dear Friend – Anne.

  13. It is lovely to have you back. I too am a list maker but also find peace in the glories of nature and in the peace of the sea. I so admire your strength and fortitude over the time I have known you. Here comes the next season – let’s go forward with love. 🙂

  14. Laura says:

    I recently thought of you while on wordpress, and checked your blog. Glad to see your post and update! My book is finally in print.

  15. Mustang.Koji says:

    While I believe I am of an Asiatic faith, I can surely sense your wanderings during the day. I am glad to see you are overcoming the small hurdles that have popped up in front of you while remembering the two loves in your life.

  16. Hi Patty just to let you know I appreciate you and your Ministry in sharing God’s Truth in a heartfelt way.

    Special Award for a Special Person – https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2016/03/05/blogger-appreciation-award/

    Blessings – Anne.

  17. Hi Patty. Since my mom passed away December 8, I’m going through a period of rest like you. I’m lonely without her but spending more time in the presence of the Lord. You are a courageous woman. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. May the Lord fill your heart and home with His love and His presence, and may He guide us as we wait for His instructions.

    • Patty B says:

      Sheryl, my prayer for you is the same – that our Lord fill your heart as well and may your sweet memories bring you much comfort. God gives us the time to heal as He gently guides us for His purpose. May His Name always be glorified in our lives.

  18. Patty – A beautiful blog post. I can totally relate as I used to be a person of lists also. I took great satisfaction in marking off each item until everything was crossed off for the day and I could then rest. What a crazy way for me to think. I too finally realized the lists were keeping me for facing what I needed to face the most. I had to turn Tom’s health over to God once and for all. I could not pretend to give Tom to God and always hold back a piece for me. That wasn’t going to work. It wasn’t until I said, “I surrender,” that Tom started making the progress he needed to make in returning to this world.

    • Patty B says:

      I also need to say those words, “I surrender” – God is patient and teaches me all the time…thanking God for the progress Tom has been making – you are both in my prayers.

  19. GodGirl says:

    ‘A to-do list for worship’ – I love that. Those of us who are good at scheduling can definitely benefit from making time with God our highest priority.

  20. Yes I missed your Posts Patty and I’m sure so did others, they are full of honesty and Love both for God and others.

    I agree with you about lists, also budgets can pull us down, they can lead to focusing on Materialism. I remember that God’s work done in His way never lacks His supply.

    It was not ling after I met you Patty that you shared with me about your Daughter and I could tell you Loved her greatly, did someone tell you to share about her or your husband when he was alive, were you forced to Love them, did you find it hard to share about how special they were, did you make a list so you would remember, I’m sure you didn’t.

    When we Love our Abba Father as you shared Patty, we want to talk about Him and Praise Him, nobody has to Preach to us demanding that we do so, the Bible is our Brag Book, we are God’s Children and we Love our Daddy and we need no reminders or lists, it’s written in our hearts.

    “Christ”ian Love dear Friend – Anne.

Leave a Reply

