Finding Hope In Cancer

Hope 115 years ago I heard the words none of us want to hear, “you have cancer”.

On July 9, 2000 I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer. I was 38 yrs old, a non smoker with no family history of breast cancer. I was more concerned with developing heart disease from both of my parents and never gave cancer a thought.

During my physical I casually mentioned a lump I found a few weeks earlier to my doctor and he suggested I get a second opinion since it looked suspicious. My doctor came out as the nurse confirmed with me the appointment in Oct with one of our local surgeons, he then quickly interrupted and told his secretary to get me in that week with someone else, he did not want me waiting that long. At that point I knew it was serious, and it was.

I not only had a cancerous lump, I had cluster cells and cancer cells close to my chest wall. Three different types of cancer in three separate areas in one breast. In 2 weeks time my life turned upside down from a healthy 38 yr old to being diagnosed with breast cancer.

The next 8 months I will go through a mastectomy, chemo treatments and radiation; fears and doubts. I will also discover a deepening of my faith and trust in God.

God through His Word in the book of Psalms gave me hope and through His Son, Jesus, I discovered the God of Abraham, Jacob and David and the God of our hearts today. During the next year I will experience a healing, not physically but spiritually. Although physical healing did come in time.

Through my turbulent childhood and rebellious youth and subsequent marriage to a godly man, God prepared me for this cancer journey. My childhood taught me to persevere and Tom taught me about God’s love and mercy.

It was also through this journey that Tom and I both developed a deeper relationship with God and each other that would see both of us through dealing with cancer and other life events.

The important thing to remember is God never gave up on me even when I choose to go my own way. I am thankful He did not give up instead kept calling me to Him. Troubles still came but I never had to go through them alone, all I needed to do was to turn toward God.

God did not cause the breast cancer, but He used breast cancer and many other circumstances to draw me to Him and for me to discover who He created me to be. Truthfully, I would have chosen for God to intervene and not have cancer enter my body choosing a different, easier path to draw me to Him. But cancer did come and what someone told me I found to be true, God never wastes an opportunity whether it be a trial or a joy. God will use it to bring us hope, develop our character, teach us perseverance and to accomplish His purpose that will bring Him Glory and that it will always be for the good of His people.

Difficult times come for many reasons but it never means God is punishing you or turning away from you. I feel that is through these times that often bring us nearer and dearer to God.

If you are going through a difficult time right now, remember God did not cause your situation but He will use it to call you to Him and to develop you into the person He designed you to be.

I understand when things get so bad it is all you can do to get up in the morning, but take a deep breath, get up, and find the hope you need to overcome your obstacle. Look for God’s presence in all the situations in your life. Sometimes the hope you need is right in front of you. It has been my experience that big things come in small packages, the biggest blessings God gives us are often the littlest every day things in our lives .

I found God’s hope in cancer and recently in grief.  God’s hope is knowing that we have a secure and certain future.  It is a hope that we know deep in our hearts that God is our anchor during the storms of life and knowing He is in our present and in our future.  

My prayer for you is to find God’s hope whatever you are going through; the hope that will give you strength to prepare you for whatever you are facing and the hope that will encourage you and bring you spiritual healing.

Psalm 25: 4-5 “Show me Your ways, Lord, teach me Your paths. Guide me in Your truth and teach me, for You are God my Savior, and my hope is in You all day long.”

Psalm 34:17-18 “the righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them; He delivers them from all their troubles. The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”

Psalm 46: 1-2, 10 “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, …..Be still, and know that I am God.

Psalm 119:74 “I have put my hope in Your word” 

These are but a few hopeful words from Psalms. I encourage you to read Psalms and about those who cried out to God in their need and to keep this truth in your heart; God answered them and He will answer you.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Finding Hope In Cancer

  1. LubbyGirl says:

    I was just reading in Psalms this morning! But I was in 81-83. This was a very good post this morning, Patty. I have a good friend going through a loss right now, and we were just talking about this very thing yesterday.

  2. Bless you, Patty. My prayers continue for your restored health and grief comfort. I’ve found many blessings from “praying” the Psalms. His peace always.

  3. Deb says:

    Patty, you have blessed me beyond words with your post. I am having a particularly hard day today and frankly am so angry with God for all he is making me go through since Mike died. Will this ever stop?! Today I just feel like I can’t “do” this any more, and then I read your post. Thank you!! Hugs and love to you!

  4. What a wonderful encouragement. Thank God for your healing and for the way you pour into so many of our lives!

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – sometimes what I write I need to be reminded of too. I thank God for the lessons He often gives me – always full of His love and His grace.

  5. Encouraging words Patty…. for many! Diane xx

  6. Thank you for this post and these words of encouragement. The past year or so has been very difficult, losing several family members and having our little grandson undergo 3 brain surgeries. I don’t know what I would do without the love and grace of God to give me strength.

  7. Thank you Patty. Thank you.

  8. May your faith always be your blessing, your strength, and your guidance.

  9. A timely word for me. Thank you.

  10. The True Light! says:

    The wake-up call can come as a tap on the shoulder, or a frying pan over the head! This is not to make light of any of the pain you suffered, I’d never do that. But God designed a plan for you, and your attention was necessary to get with that plan. Now deeper blessing flow for you.
    That’s the ideal outcome He wants for us all!

    Steve

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Steve, yes God has a perfect plan for all of us. Sometimes or I should say often times I do need the frying pan, although I am usually saying God sends me lightening bolts! the important thing to me is that God never gives up on us and I welcome the “frying pan’ every now and then.

      • The True Light! says:

        I talk about the frying pan, (aka ‘lightening bolt’) because I need them often as well! Most of the time, subtle doesn’t work with me. I need to have something a bit stronger…

        God is full of love and compassion, and I believe He may even chuckle a bit when He gets our attention and have one of those “ah-ha” moments!

        He will never leave nor forsake us…that I know. I thanks Him for that…

        Steve

      • Patty B says:

        Amen – we all need those “fying pan” moments and isn’t it wonderful that God loves us so much that He is willing to get our attention when we need it. 🙂

      • The True Light! says:

        So true. He wants all of us to succeed in this life and in the next one too! The problem here is that we live in a predominately “sin zone” of lusts and downfall.

        James says we must keep ourselves from being “polluted by the world!” Words to the wise, and only with dedication to God’s word…

        Steve

  11. Debbie M. says:

    Wonderful verses to encourage, inspire and reassure us. I have always loved the Psalms for their raw emotion that inevitably turns into praise for God. Through the Psalms, we learn that God’s shoulders are big enough for us to cry on or to beat on with our fists. Either way, we are close to His heart. Thanks for sharing your story!

  12. Thank you for sharing your story Patty. You sound like a very strong and insightful woman.
    Peace,
    James.

  13. Beautiful words Patty and a wonderful True Picture of our Awesome God of Love. My story of Breast Cancer is a bit different than yours Patty but the outcome is the same, yes we are greatly Loved.

    I had suspected Breast Cancer, and went to the Doctor on the Tuesday after finding it on the Monday, I had received an e-mail which I’m sure God sent about checking our Breasts for Cancer and how to do it, The Doctor felt it was very advanced and she booked me into have the Mammogram and Ultra Sound but Friday was the earliest appointment she could get for me. It was almost a week to wait and having just lost my Sister Julie because of Bowel Cancer, I was a mess but on the Thursday I said to God; if this is how my life is going to end on earth than I’m ready to come to be with You and I than experienced the most wonderful Peace, I no longer felt frightened.

    When the woman was doing the tests the next day, she was taking so long I asked what was wrong, she had a diagram from my Doctor showing where the lump was but she said she couldn’t find it.

    That was over 6 years ago and all my Mammograms have been clear since and I have had no more lumps and just like the other life threatening conditions I have been healed from, it has never returned but if it did, I know who to go to for Peace and yes when we have God’s Peace we have His Hope too.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    • Patty B says:

      What an amazing story. I once knew a lady who had ovarian cancer, she had two small children. The doctor said it had spread so they were going to do more surgery. The doctor went in and they could not find the mass – he said up till then he was not a believer in God who heals, after that he was. Sadly she did pass away from another cancer, but the years God gave her she did not waste and she saw her daughters grow up. I heard she ministered to the nurses praising God during her last days here on earth. God does bring healing in many ways.

  14. Patty – This post is definitely written from your heart. It flows beautifully and warms my weary soul with each carefully placed word. Thank you for writing.

  15. Ron says:

    Thank you Patty B very,encouraging to all inspite of everything, your faith and hope in God never wavered, you said God doesn’t cause the cancer but uses every opportunity to show how He cares and goes through it with us. So true it is, you have a great testimony to share .

    Blessings
    Ron

  16. Lori Lara says:

    I love your heart, Patty. You’re an amazing woman, and I appreciate you sharing with such vulnerability. Big hugs to you.

  17. Glad you are still here. Hope all is well. I have missed your comments – but I have not been blogging (oops) Finished The Light of Truth… which was hard without my husband’s encouragement. That took most of my energy – and setting up my website.

    Hope all is well with you
    Susan

    • Patty B says:

      I find that the weekend is my best to write comments – so when I read things over the week I hit the like button to know I was there and enjoyed your writing. But it does feel good to sit at my desk and write again. Anyway….it is always a joy to read your articles and to see how you are doing. Keeping you in my prayers as always! God bless you!

    • Patty B says:

      Sorry hit the wrong key, also that I am thankful to see you are moving along. Send me your new link to the website…writing has helped me along and each day I can see God’s goodness in my life. Missed you too….

  18. God bless you. Having awesome trust in the Lord is real grace.

  19. Mon Ange says:

    Praying and believing with you! God is faithful in good and bad times.

  20. A good friend of mine had a mastectomy last week, and I’m so glad I found your post. Somehow I missed it. Thank you for the encouragement and the list of Psalms, which I will share with her.

  21. As always Patty, your post touches my heart and the hearts of so many others who have endured breast cancer and subsequent sadness. Keep on your inspiring path for you touch so many lives with your presence. God Bless You! ♥

Leave a Reply

