Choosing Love

 

When something happens like in the Emanuel AME Church in Charleston where people were gathered together in love – sharing that love by welcoming a newcomer into their church and then to have violence erupting, we ask why? The answer is painful, it happened because someone hated the color of their skin.

After all we think if we just love our neighbors, do what is right and accept each other than we will be loved in return, except it doesn’t work out that way. Wednesday night June 17 proved that. I read where the shooter said he almost did not go through with it because they were so nice, yet he did. He did not show their love in return because he had evil in his soul.

Countless number of men, women, children are being killed every day, around the world because of their faith in Christ or their ethnicity. Sadly it is not only in Charleston and it is not always black and white, it is everywhere.

Let us put aside our nationality, others accents (lets face it we all have accents) and put blinders on so we do not see color of skin or hair, or if someone is rich or poor. Instead let us focus on the person. Who are the people we see every day; the person standing in line with us at the store, the person who is sitting next to us at the lunch counter, the person walking down the street or the person who we pass to get where we are going?

How can you beyond what you see on the outside and instead see the heart that is beating inside of him or her?

What can you do to change your heart to truly see people instead of their differences, again lets face it we are all different.

What can we learn from this young mans life? What happened to him to make him so full of hatred? How can we heal from this horrific act especially those who were affected in Charleston, in the Middle East, in Africa and our own cities who face this every day?

There has to be an answer. Money is spent on programs, ministries and awareness yet nothing seems to be working. Each day the hatred in someone’s heart grows and does the unthinkable.

No matter what we do we cannot force people to “love” each other. We can do our part, show God’s love in practical ways, be a light of hope in this troubled world, but ultimately we all have free will to choose who to follow; God or satan. God = Love; satan = hatred

I have always liked this verse to me it represents the image of God.  “Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude.  It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.  Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things” (I Corinthians 13:4-7 ESV). God’s love is not fickle like our earthly love, here one moment and gone the next. God’s love is blind to the outward appearance but sees the heart of a person and goes into the depths of our souls.

Just like what Paul was telling the Corinthians and us today, Gods love goes far beyond what we think love is. God’s love is the image of God.

Loving someone who walked into their church doors, almost worked. The image of God was in the hearts of those people. But a young person choose hate. He turned his back on God and choose instead to kill.

Gods love spoke on Friday and again on Sunday. God’s image shone brightly through the families, the pastors and the citizens of Charleston. The families showed us Gods love by forgiving that young man and asked God to have mercy on him. In that act they presented to the world the image of God – His love that went beyond their grief and suffering.

Should we stop trying to “love one another”, putting money into programs, volunteering in ministries or being advocates by making people aware of the problem. No, because maybe the next time someone will choose Love.

What about you which do you choose? How will you love your neighbor?

God’s Love can break down the barriers of hatred but we all must live it not just say it. Start by looking beyond the race, religion or accent – look into the heart and see God’s love beating there – it is the same love that is beating in your own heart. It is the image of God

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, In The News, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Choosing Love

  1. I will never understand the thought that somehow the colour of one’s skin or the way they look, causes such hatred and disregard for life. Somehow we tend to think that the way they were raised is what makes this happen, but I don’t think we should automatically blame the parents or caregivers, because some people are just drawn to actions that don’t make any sense I think. Something that we just can’t understand; something with horrible implications…’hate’ ! Diane

    • Patty B says:

      Like the earlier comment stated, it comes from everywhere. Parents can do a good job raising their children and then somewhere along the way they get in with the wrong people and they turn away from God. It is appalling on what is on tv anymore. I barely watch it and of coarse the news, all they do is report on this stuff instead of the good that goes on. I thought the older I got I would understand more, yea right – it seems the older I get the less I understand.

  2. imconfident says:

    People are taught to hate, they don’t just get up one day and decide to kill or hurt other people. Babies aren’t born with hatred in their hearts. They can learn this from any adult who is in a position to influence them. They can learn it from the media which promotes violence. We also have to remember that satan is roaming the earth trying to find a way to destroy us and he does this through other people. We need to be constantly on guard and be watchful of our families and friends, making sure that we are loving them enough and paying attention to any danger signals. God commands us to love one another but He also warns us of the evils in the world and to put on our armour daily, pray continually and study the Word.

    • Patty B says:

      I could not have said that better – thank you for your comment. Satan is lurking everywhere – last week was proof enough of that.

      • I agree with you all. And I love to see some of my fav Christian lady writers conversing together. Brings about more love Diane, Brenda, and Patty. ❤️❤️

  3. Dear Patty,
    I was touched by your post, and still grieve for the victims of Charleston. And I too hope with all my heart that one day everyone can look beyond race, religion, country of origin, and also gender and sexual orientation, because LGBT people are also God’s creations. I too pray for a world that chooses tolerance, acceptance and kindness, a world where love conquers hate and violence.

  4. Cynthia says:

    Beautiful words.. Eloquent, poignant and hopeful. Very glad to have read this. Thank you

  5. I have had friends over the years from many Nationalities Patty including with Blogging, time and distance separates me from most of them now but they will always be in my heart including you Patty, you are a beautiful caring Christian Woman with a great focus.

    Some of my friends are not Christians although they are not opposed to what I believe and others have become Christians since I have known them and yes I’m closer to my Christian friends because we have the same heart focus but I do not choose to value anyone by their Race or Culture or skin color, although this does not mean I accept what they do wrong but this is the same with everyone I know and they are free to rebuke and correct me too if they feel I am sinning but not for my weaknesses and shortcomings and not by their own agenda but by God’s Truth and in Love and for Love.

    I have not watched T.V for about 6 years Patty and do not miss it, I found that they mostly focus on what increases their ratings, which for many is bad events, God tells us to do the opposite ( see below) and so I do and if some think this is burying my head in the sand, so be it, I know what I need to know and when I need to know it.

    Philippians 4 ( 8- 9 ) Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

  6. So powerful Patty. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Even in the darkness, when nothing seems to make sense, we must remember that God is love, and that love will never fail. ❤

  7. PASTOR DAVIS/MASTER TEACHER says:

    My friend, what a powerful word you have spoken here, I need not add anything to it other than to say thank you for speaking truth to power, and may God bless you as He continue to increase in you the power to stand up for truth always. I also love all the comments that adds extra weight to your powerful message. God is love, His Word is truth and it will never fail us, and all we need to do as His children is to be on one accord and never deviating from the path that God has set for us to follow. Again, thank you, I love you and appreciate all that you do as a faithful servant to the Kingdom building process.

    • Patty B says:

      Pastor I love you too – You are a man of God an speak His word to us, leading and guiding us to a deeper relationship with our Father. Thank you for being His instrument in todays world.

  8. Hi Patty, I have had friends over the years from many Nationalities including with Blogging, time and distance separates me from most of them now but they will always be in my heart including you Patty, you are a beautiful caring Christian Woman with a great focus.

    Some of my friends are not Christians although they are not opposed to what I believe and others have become Christians since I have known them and yes I’m closer to my Christian friends because we have the same heart focus but I do not choose to value anyone by their Race or Culture or skin color, although this does not mean I accept what they do wrong but this is the same with everyone I know and they are free to rebuke and correct me too if they feel I am sinning but not for my weaknesses and shortcomings and not by their own agenda but by God’s Truth and in Love and for Love.

    I have not watched T.V for about 6 years Patty and do not miss it, I found that they mostly focus on what increases their ratings, which for many is bad events, God tells us to do the opposite ( see below) and so I do and if some think this is burying my head in the sand, so be it, I know what I need to know and when I need to know it.

    Philippians 4 ( 8- 9 ) Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    • Patty B says:

      Found your message! I also do not watch much tv and when I do I stick with wholesome shows and anything Christian based. It is so important especially today to only put only things of God into our minds. And yes, to love others and let them see God in our lives so that they can see what Godly living can do to ones life.
      I always your comments and I am sorry there was this mishap. I am on the ipad now but tomorrow I will check out the website on the computer and see if I can fix this problem – you should be an automatic comment needing no approval.
      Blessings to you and Ron!

Leave a Reply

