Christmas & New Years Blessings

GE DIGITAL CAMERAAll my best laid plans to do a weekly advent devotion for Christmas were dashed when I came down with a sinus infection and eventually a bad case of the flu.

After starting antibiotics for my sinus infection I was elated when I felt normal and energetic. That lasted for 3 days. When wham – I was hit – bulls-eye, with the flu. So for the past two weeks minus a few days I have been sick. But as I say, “tis the season to be jolly, to be merry and to be sick”!

Alas, we must all take the good with the bad. Yes, I have been sick for nearly 2 weeks and in bed for 4 days, that is the bad, but the good is I have a great family doctor, a job that I can take adequate time off to recuperate, family and friends that care for me and brought me not chicken soup but Christmas cookies – now those are friends! My daughter was even in the kitchen doing most of the Christmas meal preparation while I rested and enjoyed the sounds of Christmas music playing or watching the Hallmark Christmas movies.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAI even had time to put together a puzzle – anyone recognize it?  Yep, I admit it I am a “A Christmas Story” watcher.  We watch it every year on Christmas Eve after church and then again Christmas morning as we open our presents. 

So, at this time I would like to wish all of you and your families, a joyous and wonder-filled Christmas season of the birth of our Savior and a healthy and God inspired New Year.

 

 

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Christmas & New Years Blessings

  1. Merry Christmas to you, Patty

  2. Michele says:

    so glad u r feeling better ! If u r like me – sickness takes over and everything else sits on the back burner :(. I wanted so bad to have more of my BSF study done , before now …. also do a Christmas advent devotion …. spend more time in His word – but – I am sad to say , all that fell through the cracks . We won’t even go there with the traveling ( one reason I do not look forward to this time of year )… both kids , and I had .. thankfully just head colds – but , we unfortunately were around people infected w belly bug during not just one , but 2 of our family gatherings . Praying that is not in Gods plans for us now . But – still – the blessings! I did not have to cook for a few days , my girls have me grinning ear to ear with their laughter , the reason for the season ! I have thanked God for a few things this break , but not nearly enough . anyway … blabbering here – husband hunting , girls sleeping , dog looking out window !
    I am so glad u r feeling better and got ur cookies ! You have an awesome daughter ! you did good with her ! Have a wonderful new year and see u soon !

    • Patty B says:

      Thanks Michele – glad you did not come down with the flu. I just started BSF lessons too – the time went quickly that is for sure. Glad you stopped by and read my blog. Here is to a healthy New Year for both of us.

  3. Merry Christmas to you and may 2015 bring you a year filled with health, love, joy and blessings. xoxo Hope you are feeling better Patty. ♥

  4. margaret21 says:

    Oh dear, so you’ve done Festive Flu too? It’s quite simply no fun at all, is it? I think only time will heal it, and meanwhile, Christmas is cancelled. Get better soon!

  5. Mustang.Koji says:

    Oh, no!! That was a big time sucky! 😦 Did you pass on a flu shot?

    • Patty B says:

      I did have the flu shot and was told it was a bad strain of flu and the flu shot actually helped me not get it worse. Hard to imagine it could have been worse but from what I am hearing people have been sick for 2 week or more. I am a good girl and get my flu shot every year. My doctor never asks he always tells me when I am due – I don’t have a choice. 🙂

  6. Happy holidays to you as well, Patty.

  7. I hope you are on the road to recovery… and the new year brings you to full health…. Thank you Patty for your friendship… You are ‘one special lady’…. Happy New Year!!! Diane xo

  8. I hope you are feeling much better. I almost always get sick at Christmastime, but this year managed to get sick at Thanksgiving instead. 🙂 Here’s wishing you a full recovery and a happy new year!

    • Patty B says:

      Always make it more difficult to get sick around the holidays. I get sick at least once a winter, so this should be it! Here is to a healthy New Year for both of us!

  9. UH!!! I hope you are MUCH better now. Thank you for the kind wishes. Blessings and healing thoughts for you!

  10. I saw my doctor in early December and she strongly encouraged me to get a flu shot this year. I felt like she wasn’t going to let me out of the exam room unless I did, so I gave in and got one after skipping a few years. Hope you get completely well soon so you can have a good start to the new year.

  11. So now I know were I got my cold from Patty but perhaps not as bad as yours, it’s good your feeling better but I do know how you felt. After also taking some antibiotics which lower my immune system, I was full on with a cold but I increased my Probotics and took some natural cold tablets and also prayed thankfully I recovered quickly.

    I Posted your Power point Patty (see link below,) I hope you enjoy it, thanks again for your Blogging Friendship.

    Blossoming Hope in Love – https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/hope-blossoming-in-love/

    Christian Love – Anne

    • Patty B says:

      Glad you are feeling better. I have heard from a few friends from around the world and it sounds like this flu is hitting everywhere. Anne, I am speechless! You have such a kind and caring heart. There really are no words for this beautiful powerpoint and the bible verses were from God Himself. Thank you and HUGS for being the loving caring person God created you to be.

      • Thank you Patty, I’m so thankful you liked your Power point, I loved creating with the Tulips and Hope fitted in well with them. I have used the Scriptures before and they were very reassuring at the time and the others just flowed like my Poetry which is still a Mystery.

        ((( HUGS))) dear friend for being just as you are, wonderful.

        Blessings – Anne

  12. Deb says:

    So sorry you have been ill, but i hope you had a nice christmas despite feeling icky! Blessings to you for a happy new year!! Take care, my friend! xx

  13. I hope you go into the New Year as healthy, and happy as can be! Blessings to you!!

  14. HI Patty,
    So sorry you were under the weather, especially at Christmas, but it sounds like you had lots of love and support and cookies. Wishing you all the best for the New Year!

Leave a Reply

