Christmas Cookies Anyone?

386741_2668163541909_324005759_nThis is the first Christmas I will not be baking cookies. When my mother was ill my sister and I took over some of the baking and that is when I found my love of baking Christmas cookies.

The year my mother had her first heart attack dad bought the Tastykake Christmas cookies and they eventually became a part of our Christmas cookie tradition growing up, the box they came in right next to moms delicious cookies. My mothers favorite to bake were butter cut out cookies and peanut butter. We were no Martha Stewart or I guess in my day it was the Galloping Gourmet when it came to decorating. But we had fun. We never used icing, instead mom used a egg yolk mixture and then we topped it off with an assortment of sprinkles and candies. There were more types of cookies she would bake and we would always help – eating the broken ones or the ones that were burnt around the edges.

404543_2760139881260_50935956_nAs I got a home of my own I added Butter Drop Ins, Angel Pillows and Santa’s Whiskers to my cookie collection. I would store cookies for weeks until Christmas using all the provenΒ techniques to keep them fresh.

As the children grew they ate them as fast as I could bake them. We would also give away containers full of cookies. One year I took them out to the ambulance company that came and helped me after I passed out. Then there were the years I shipped them to myΒ  husband and son when they were deployed. Over the years my kitchen became a bakery filling my home with aroma of fresh baked cookies.

When our son moved out of the house and life got busy with jobs and other commitments I only baked the families favorites and started to buy German cookies and Scottish shortbread that are now easily available. What is Christmas without the traditional Lebkucken, Christmas Stollen, and Scottish Shortbread that melts in your mouth?

9693_4837674018315_186367325_nOur daughter loves to bake as much as I do, but we are both finding out bakery cookies are just as good! So now we go to Wegmans and stock up on German Lebkucken, buy our favorite cookie – Oreos with the red stuffing and choose a few Christmas cookies at our favorite bakery. We are also blessed with my sister who still loves to bake and will bring over our mothers Butter Cut Out Cookies and friends who will not have me go without cookies.

Although I have never met a cookie I did not like I am at that age where I have to watch what I eat. And with my biggest cookie fan no longer here to enjoy the delicacies I bake, I find it is time to lay aside my baking sheet and wooden spoon – for now. I am sure once grandchildren bless my home I will once again fill my home with the aroma of cookies baking.

405158_3610376136635_1392016750_nSo now what do I do since I am not baking? Glad you asked…now my life is filled with craft and sewing projects. Instead of a messy kitchen table I have a messy craft table. The aroma of baking cookies has been replaced by the aroma of my Scentsy Warmer that fills my home with Christmas Joy.

What is your favorite thing to do for Christmas, is it baking, cooking, or crafts?

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home, Reflections, Special Moments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to Christmas Cookies Anyone?

  1. Sheryl says:

    What wonderful memories! You mentioned some cookies that I haven’t thought of in years. Like you I can easily eat too many cookies; and, I like how you transitioned from a messy kitchen table to a messy craft table this year.

    Like

  2. Hmmm, I’m not sure which would be my favorite activity but I do love to bake! I look forward to trying a variety of new things especially with young children in the house. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Patty, I like to do a bit of all three. But my favorite is definitely crafts. Your lovely pictures brought back memories of all the baking my mother and her twin sister would do together. My daughter and I like to decorate homemade gingerbread people.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      You know I never did gingerbread cookies, I enjoy them but never made them…maybe I should try my hand at it. I would think decorating them would be lots of fun.

      Like

  4. Is there a 4th choice….?? I never really acquired the gift of baking…except for the odd birthday cake and of course ‘apple pies’ for those special meals which I will actually do two of this year to take to our son’s for Christmas… Yours’ sound delicious and kind of makes me wish I had ! Diane

    Like

  5. Andy Oldham says:

    They look so yummmmy!!!

    Like

  6. Mother Hen says:

    Eating! LOl! Home baked good are such a treat for those that receive..

    Like

  7. Now I’m hungry for cookies, Patty! I can’t bake worth a hoot! LOL
    One of my fave things to do is decorate for Christmas. Reminiscing about life and all the years gone by with the memories from the ornaments on the tree. Putting out the nativity. And oh how I love the twinkling lights! Makes me want to leave that my decorations up for months. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  8. Thank you for asking Patty and I loved reading about your Traditions. My Christmas tradition is cooking Shortbread using a 100 year old Recipe, I give them as gifts but I’m known as the Christmas cook all year as I give what I bake during the rest of the year as gifts to Ron’s family, friends, Doctors and their Recipients, Neighbors and the Nursing Home I visit for both the Patients and the Staff, it gives me joy to do this.

    Also at Christmas I put in Letter boxes, the Story of the Candy Cane and a Candy cane to eat but I don’t put my name on it, just Christmas wishes, I have done this for years, yes it’s a Tradition I love to do, I often wonder what they think when they find it.

    During the rest of the year I also create Power points or adapt them for friends, I really enjoy doing these, I’m pleased you liked the Friendship one I sent you Patty , I have sent it to all my friends over the past few years and have also now Posted it on my Blog for those who want to do the same. I would Love to create a Personal one for you Patty, let me know your favorite flower, animal or Landscape etc and a theme, like Love, Joy , Hope etc

    Christian Love and Christmas Blessings – Anne.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      I love that tradition of the letter boxes, that is so sweet. I have never made shortbread from scratch just started making them from a pre made mix. Do you have a recipe for shortbread and is it hard to make? You are indeed talented when it comes to the power points – than you for the one sent. My favorite flower is the Tulip, I love my dachshunds (any dog really) and mountains or beaches and since my cancer Hope has always been my theme. I am excited to see what you come up with! I am a bit behind – finally on medication for this sinus infection – will email later tomorrow. Hugs for you and Ron!

      Like

      • Do you have a favorite colored Tulip Patty, or do you like them in all colors? Hope is a good theme.

        Below is my Shortbread recipe but it must be over 100 years old because Mum was 93 when she died and she got it off her Mother, it’s an old English recipe.

        Anne’s Shortbread

        Ingredients
        225g plain flour
        225g butter
        115g castor sugar
        115g rice flour
        pinch of salt

        Directions
        Sieve flour, rice flour, sugar, salt into bowl then continue sieving all together up to 7 times this is what makes them smooth and light, rub in butter and knead until smooth paste forms.

        Using 20g of mixture shape as desired into 33 shortbread, prick with fork 3 times. place on greased tray, cook in slow oven (130) 3/4 hour until pale brown.

        (((HUGS))) Anne.

        Like

  9. Wow, so many cookies! And I love your new banner image!

    Like

  10. “I never met a cookie I didn’t like” — ha! I had a few cookie exchange parties where a group of us baked six dozen cookies each and then traded them with each other. We had plenty to share with others as well as keep for our own families. Great fun!

    Like

  11. My German parents celebrated Christmas on Christmas Eve. Presents were opened after dinner under the light of the tree with Christmas music playing in the background. Christmas Eve is still the day I celebrate Christmas and I sleep in on Christmas Day!
    Diana xo

    Like

  12. What a wonderful array of cookies! Is the joy piece in cross stitch? I love baking but bake much less than I used to for the same waistline reasons! I love it when I can find someone to bake for and you are right about Grandchildren. They love to help too which is great fun.
    All the very best to you Patty . This was a lovely post to read.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      You seem like you are indeed a great cook with all your recipes on your post. There just is not enough time in the day or energy is there?! The Joy piece is quilted, well sort of, I pieced it together and instead of quilting it I decorated it with Christmas buttons, although I do cross stitch too, do y ou?

      Like

  13. devynstella says:

    mine would definitely be eating many will argue that its not an activity but it sure does get me going and hella excited. when you decide to bake in the future, please send some cookies my way. thank you in advance πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. gpcox says:

    Good for you, Patty, we ALL need a hobby, something we can really get into. Enjoy the Season!!

    Like

  15. Cattie says:

    Can you give us one recipe ? I would like to try one American recipe here in Finland. For example those cookies that have red cherries on them.

    Like

  16. utesmile says:

    My mum always baked and I do sometimes too. Haven’t started this year yet….need to get on with it…. really. 😊

    Like

  17. Ana Perry says:

    I quit baking & candy making years ago, I still feel a sense of loss. I sure miss it.

    Like

  18. I’m really in to crafts, with wood. I LOVE LOVE LOVE cookies. But am not finding I have patience to bake. Which makes me sad because I love the idea of tradition with it!

    Like

  19. margaret21 says:

    I love Christmas baking too. Your German background gives you access to so many yummy things. Enjoy!

    Like

  20. The Nativity Scene on the header of your blog looks elegant and appropriate for the season.

    Like

  21. mithriluna says:

    The cookies look wonderful. I am glad you have found pleasure in sewing beautiful crafts.

    Like

  22. Mustang.Koji says:

    What an endearing and “feeling-full” (can be read two ways!) story, Patty… and I think of Tom, too, and you. It must be quite a change to not be baking this year after decades of doing so! Perhaps you can just bake ONE batch. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thanks for your lovely comment – Tom is very much here in some of our silly traditions we are keeping – like watching Christmas Story on Christmas Eve, that is our silly tradition.
      I was tempted to bake just one batch, until my sister said she was bringing some over. So I got over that baking feeling real quick!! lol
      Truthfully it was nice taking a break from baking this year and focusing on my crafts. I thought it would be more difficult but this change was welcomed.

      Liked by 1 person

  23. I love sitting with family and watching the old christmas movies. Enjoy the holiday. Blessings to you my friend.

    Like

  24. Pingback: Hope Blossoming in Love….. | Freedomborn … Aussie Christian Focus

  25. Stories and memories that truly makes our Christmas merry and bright. During Christmas time, I would take my family to Moody Garden’s Festival of lights, where my son enjoys walking under the Christmas lights after which we would go to the fire pit area to cook S’mores which he looks forward in eating. We then spend spend a fun time relaxing by the beach the next day, take our family Christmas picture and eat at Gaido’s or Jimmy’s on the Pier after. This year, we added a trip to Austin and it was unforgettable. We hope to do it again next year. God bless and Happy New Year to you and your family.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      What a lovely time – it is so magical to walk under all of those lights. Our blessed we are to have our memories deep in our hearts. thank you for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

