Giving Tuesday

Giving-Tuesday-BannerWhat is “Giving Tuesday“?  A few weeks ago my denomination, the Presbyterian USA issued a challenge to all of its Synods, Presbyteries and Churches to participate in Giving Tuesday. I had no idea what this was, but the more I read the more excited I became.  It is one day set aside from the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping to donate money for worthy causes.  One day to take the focus off of ourselves and to focus on the needs of our churches and communities.  Isn’t this what the Christmas season is all about?  

Although it is a very worthy day, wouldn’t it be wonderful if we do this all year long?  Imagine how many families, homeless people, abused women and children that we can help not to mention the many people we can feed when the food bank donations around the country go down after the holiday season. 

My challenge to you is to participate in Giving Tuesday on December 2 and then to continue that giving all year long.

The following two quotes are from the #GivingTuesday and the PCUSA Giving Tuesday webpages.  Click on the links for more information.

“We have a day for giving thanks. We have two for getting deals. Now, we have #GivingTuesday, a global day dedicated to giving back. On Tuesday, December 2, 2014, charities, families, businesses, community centers, and students around the world will come together for one common purpose: to celebrate generosity and to give.

It’s a simple idea. Just find a way for your family, your community, your company or your organization to come together to give something more. Then tell everyone you can about how you are giving. Join us and be a part of a global celebration of a new tradition of generosity.” {quote from Giving Tuesday.org}


“How refreshing to start the Advent season with a focus on the blessings we have been
given by God. Your gratitude for God’s blessings can be reflected as a
gift to support our mission.

GIVINGTUESDAY is a global initiative devoting one special day to Giving.
We invite you to make a donation on this special day and don’t stop
there…encourage your family and friends to also make a donation.
Here’s the challenge – On Tuesday, December 2, join us online anytime
during the 24 hours to support your church or the Presbyterian Church by going to PresbyterianMissionExchange/GivingTuesday”  {quote from PCUSA Mission Exchange}

giving tuesday

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home, In The News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Giving Tuesday

  1. It’s a lovely thing to do Patty. While I’d like to participate my husband and I usually give once a year to all of our charities that we support. And then we sponsor two children overseas each month, as well as the church .. so for us it’s not really something that we could do. I know that it is a wonderful endeavour though and it will be exciting to see the results of this… Diane

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      It is wonderful to hear different ways people are giving either on Tuesday or all year long. This is not a Presbyterian Offering, they just signed on to participate. I can’t give much because like you I have certain things I already give to, but I have it narrowed down to two things to give to, now I have to decide. Since our Presbytery and Synod are participating I wanted to do my part.

      Like

    • Patty B says:

      I just noticed that you sponsor two children, I sponsor one too. I am so blessed by it, especially when I get a letter from her. 🙂

      Like

      • we have sponsored the one girl for several years.. from World Vision where I used to work.. she has grown so much.. and another little boy through SOS which is a organization specifically to do with orphaned children but who live in a home with about 10 children each and a ‘mother’ in each home… Two different ways but each effective… Diane

        Like

      • Patty B says:

        Isn’t it awesome to sponsor children – I go through Compassion and my son has one with Compassion and one with World Vision. What did you do for World Vision?

        Like

      • For 11 years I worked in the Donor Accounts area and supervised the ‘problems and procedures’ area and for the last two Managed the Telephone Operations area…. It was very rewarding to feel I had a small part in helping those in so much need. God sent me there for sure.. If you ever want or have time to read how I started there I’ll give you a link… not to worry only sometime if you have the time… Diane https://hometogo232.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/dreams-can-be-real/

        Like

      • Patty B says:

        Thanks I will

        Like

  2. Sheryl says:

    There was a “Give to the Max” day here a few weeks ago. It sounds similar to Giving Tuesday, but I think that it is a local or perhaps statewide effort.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      I think it is wonderful how different communities think of ways to give to others. This is the first time I heard of Giving Tuesday but it seems as if it has been going on for sometime. I am glad that the PCUSA is picking up on it.

      Like

  3. gpcox says:

    Patty, have the best Thanksgiving you can. I’ll be thinking of you.

    Like

  4. A great idea Patty thanks for sharing, we do much the same all year in Aussie Land, many Charities work with Supermarkets and large Retail Shops and we give through them at different times of the year and also we have others Charities that collect all year outside the Shops, others do Sausage sizzles and Garage Sales and the Churches also support some of these Charities and have their own as well.

    It’s good do give willingly and with Joy however we decide to give.

    Christian Love Always – Anne

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      How wonderful to hear of businesses who do their part all year long. We need to hear more of this and not just the bad things that go on. There are many many good people serving God and others – thank you for sharing that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

