Here Comes Santa Claus

CharlieBrownChristmasUpdate.JPG-675x550It it is time to start thinking “Christmas”.  Actually I think of Christmas all year-long as I reflect the birth of Jesus.  Then as I start sing Hark the Angels, Joy to the World and other favorite Christmas classics, soon I am singing, I Want A Hippopotamus, Nestor the Christmas Donkey, Deck the Halls, I’ll Be Home For Christmas and of course Here Comes Santa Claus sung by my two favorite singers, Doris Day and Gene Autry.   I could type a list of all my favorite Christmas songs.  You name it I love it!

I know everyone is going to comment that it is not Thanksgiving yet and you are right!  Years ago I thought how sad that we get to only listen to Christmas songs for 30 days out of the year.  So  I decided to started listening to Christmas songs the first day of school to celebrate the children going back and having the house to myself!

Then the movement of the stores to have Christmas in July came and I was hooked in bringing out the Christmas songs in July. 

This year I did start a bit later than usual only recently switching my regular CD’s over to Christmas.  But I am proud to say my daughter is following in my footsteps and is also listening to Christmas music. 

And you realize that with the Christmas music comes the Christmas movies. 

So call me crazy and you would be right because I am crazy for Christmas all year-long!

Enjoy your first Christmas song of the season…now you can get back to thinking about Thanksgiving as I get back to listening Christmas songs on Pandora.

But remember Christmas is only 88 days 7 hours and 37 minutes away (as I write this).

 

 

 

 

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Music, Special Moments and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Here Comes Santa Claus

  1. Mother Hen says:

    I have been singing Oh Come All Ye Faithful for months..I will join you in the choir. I love the songs.. A part of what makes the season so special..

    Like

  2. LubbyGirl says:

    It draws ever closer as I read this. I do LOVE Christmas music!!

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      minute by minute! This week I start my shopping because I have to order some things. My goal is always to be finished with my shopping by Thanksgiving so I can enjoy the holiday season. I usually do it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a facebook friend/ previous colleague who starts counting down the days to Christmas on December 26th! So you’re rather normal in comparison haha! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. I love the Christmas season with all that is entailed… and the music. You’re right why not start playing it whenever we want. After all December is only 25 days to do so…. You’ve motivated me! I say bah humbug to those that complain that we should wait !!!! Diane

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Life is too short and I happy to see that people do what benefits them. But you are right there should be no limit on when to start listening to Christmas music or even Easter songs…

      Like

  5. Sheryl says:

    I like your idea to start listening to Christmas songs in Sept. The are so uplifting and upbeat–and worth playing for much longer than the usual short period in December.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      That is my only complaint…it is not long enough. I just enjoy all sorts of music and listen to what ever strikes my fancy…as the weather gets cooler it is the Christmas songs.

      Like

  6. margaret21 says:

    Sorry, Patty. I won’t be joining you. Christmas for me is special when kept for the Christmas season, just as seasonal fruits and veg are only special when they’re in season. But you carry right on singing!

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      I never thought of it that way! We need more seasonal songs don’t you think…there are plenty of things to sing about in autumn. I do so enjoy singing…too bad I can’t carry a tune! lol

      Like

  7. Christmas is very special for me too Patty and it is also my Birthday the Day after, one of my Traditions is I leave some small Christmas decorations around the home all year to remind me that Christmas is not just one day a year, I need to Love and do kind things all year, not because I have to but because I want to.

    So my other Tradition, is to show this in practical ways, which means I’m known as the Christmas cook because I cook goodies all year and give them to people I know or I’m in regular contact with, like friends, people at Church, Children who visit me, the Doctors and their Receptionists, Shop owners like my Greengrocer , Neighbors, Service people, etc, why because I love sharing them and they love eating what I share.

    Perhaps you would like to see my message about Christmas Symbols Patty, quiet a few are mentioned in the Bible but they can all remind us that “Jesus is the Reason for the Season!”

    Christmas Symbols – https://christmasblessings.wordpress.com/2013/12/04/share-with-the-children/

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      I love it…I will have to remember to repost it as we officially enter the Christmas season with Advent. You do share the spirit of Christmas all year long – God bless you. You said it best – you do kind things not because you have to but because you want to…Praise God for giving you the gift of hospitality and compassion.

      Like

  8. arlene says:

    The magic of Christmas. Let it be Christmas all year round.

    Like

  9. I think you should listen to Christmas music all year round! Whenever you want! 🙂

    Like

  10. Denise Hisey says:

    I’m happy for you to enjoy Christmas in Sept, Patty, but I like to cherish the December celebrations instead of spreading it out. I love each season and holiday on its own, and I like to keep them separate. Fall is my favorite season of all and I can’t imagine confusing the season with Christmas -I wouldn’t enjoy either that way.
    I’ll be thrilled to celebrate with you come Dec 1st though!

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Ok, I will expect it!! 🙂 Don’t you wish there was some song to celebrate autumn? I am with you autumn is my favorite time of year too. I love the color, crisp air and the anticipation of the holidays to name only a few of the reasons it is my favorite.

      Like

  11. Hi Patty – You made me laugh. I often listen to Christmas music throughout the year.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Good – there is a reason for my insanity!! lol I dedicated a song tonight that my son gave me on a CD – to the ones that wait until after Thanksgiving, it is adorable.

      Like

Leave a Reply

