Favorite Children’s Song

Mannheim school 1For some reason this week – it is probably with school starting, that I was reminded of when I was in the First Grade and the first two songs I learned.  You can say they are my favorite because whenever I hear it I am transported back to the DOD (Dept of Defense) Mannheim Elementary School in Mannheim Germany where my father was stationed.

The two most things I enjoyed was learning to read and singing songs.

I can hear my mother as she sang with me.  To me she had the most beautiful voice in the world as I think of her singing German folk songs and the songs from the hit parade.

What is your favorite song from childhood? 

Frere Jacques

Frère Jacques, frère Jacques
Dormez-vous, dormez-vous?
Sonnez les matines, sonnez les matines
Ding-dang-dong, ding-dang-dong

Are you sleeping, are you sleeping
Brother John, brother John
Morning bells are ringing, morning bells are ringing
Ding-dang-dong, ding-dang-dong

Author: Unknown

London Bridge Is Falling Down

 

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Favorite Children’s Song

  1. Patty, for your listening pleasure: Bruder Jakob! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FITXgUaitWE

    I grew up in Quebec and my parents are from Germany, so in our family we sang this song in rounds in all 3 languages!
    Diana xo

    • Patty B says:

      I loved listening to that one. I also found the one about colors…starts with grun, grun, grun…(I know I spelled it wrong!) that is how we learned colors. I forgot all about it.

  2. I was singing Frere Jacques with my little grandson just this weekend!

  3. I remember both those of course also…. and ‘Jesus Bids Us Shine’.. Diane..

  4. margaret21 says:

    How interesting that your two chosen songs are French and English. Here’s another: ‘Oranges and lemons’ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oranges_and_Lemons. What’s your favourite American children’s song?

    • Patty B says:

      Thanks for that link, I never heard that one but I did find another one…about colors I remember singing also. It was a way to teach us German. I should have wrote the title down.

  5. I don’t know what my favorite was….but I remember a lot of them. 🙂

  6. Hi Patty, I have heard both those songs before and yes they bring back memories, I think most songs do, thank you for sharing them with us and for giving us the opportunity to share our favorites too.

    As a child I mostly use to make up words when I sang borrowing the tune from other songs but when I heard the song at Sunday School … Jesus Loves me this I know because the Bible tells me so, it soon became my faviourite and for many years I have taught Children to sing it too, sometimes I hear the young Children in my street singing Jesus Loves me when they are playing and it brings me Joy to hear them.

    Today I still make up words to familiar tunes and sing them to The Lord as I ride my Mobility Scooter down to the shops, I often sing to Him … I Love you for a hundred thousand reasons but most of all dear Lord, I Love you because your You! ………………..

    Thanks again -Christian Love -Anne

    • Patty B says:

      You are very creative. I admire the talent God gave you. You should post some of your songs. Love is another precious gift from God – so thankful we have that for each other! 😉

      • To be honest Patty, I’m tone deaf, at Church people appreciate that I sit at the front of the Church because they can than sit at the back, a long way from my noise but I love to sing, anytime day or night but especially on my Mobility Scooter.

        I do have some of my Poetry Posted though and I also shared how they were Anointed by God, perhaps you would like some links, I give thanks too for the creativity He has given me in creating Power points and for the Heart Whisperings that I share.

        What about you Patty, I can see your creativity with your Posting but do you give thanks to God for other ways that He has gifted you, I give thanks for your kindness and Loving heart.

        Blessings – Anne

      • Patty B says:

        I give thanks to God every morning and night. God has been so good to me – by the world standards I don’t have much, but by God’s standards I am rich in blessings! You are one of the blessings I thank God for – you are so rich in knowledge that I know I will grow in faith. 🙂

  7. utesmile says:

    I remember these songs….. lovely to remember.!

  8. crystal sponenberg says:

    another christine song beside jesus loves me, is jesus love the little children all the children of the world
    red & yellow, black& white they are precious in his site, jesus lloves the children of the world

    • Patty B says:

      🙂 I did not learn that song until the kids were in Sunday School – the Catholic church I went to as a child did not sing too many songs other than hymns on Sunday. Most definitely a timeless children’s song!

  9. wow, I have absolutely no idea, lol! I love your post – so tender, such sweet memories. Thanks beautiful! Diana

  10. Denise Hisey says:

    I never learned this song until I had kids of my own and they taught me!
    Music wasn’t much a part of my childhood, but when I was a teenager I began getting interested and buying records. I was in love with the BeeJees and most of their songs 🙂

  11. What a lovely post! It reminded me of when we we had just retired and went to volunteer in South Adrica to help build a classroom and to work with the children. These little people had learned songs from various volunteers and knew them in French and Dutch, English and German! Their own language was Khosa but they sang Frere Jacques and London Bridge and I’m a little teapot in several languages. Thank you for stirring that memory! All the best to you.

  12. Tiny says:

    The same song was one of my first too…in Finnish, Jaakko kulta.

  13. gpcox says:

    I can’t recall a favorite song, but I find it funny – your school in Germany looks just like the elementary school I had on Long Island – architecture of the times I suppose.

  14. I loved signing Frere Jacques in 1st-3rd grade but before that my favorite was I’m a little tea pot.

  15. “The Parade of the Wooden Soldiers,” “Little Drummer Boy,” and “Marching to Pretoria” are two that always take me back to my childhood school days. I’m just now noticing that these are similar in their musical theme. Perhaps that’s why they were chosen by teachers!

    • Patty B says:

      I can still hear my mom singing Little Drummer Boy in German! That was her favorite and she could do the drums that sounded as if she was herself playing the little drum. I never appreciated the Parade of the Wooden Soldiers until I was older, now it is indeed one of my favorite – and thanks because it keeps going around in my head!! LOL

  16. Espirational says:

    While I remember many songs from my own childhood including the two you mentioned it is a children’s song from my days as a volunteer in a kindergarten classroom that is stuck in my head. The “wheels on the bus” still go “round and round”… and round and round and round…

  17. Patty – What fun reading through all the comments and listening to everyone’s favorites. My mother wasn’t much for music but dad loved country and western. I don’t remember the names of songs from back then, but I rode with dad in his pick up truck whenever he was going anywhere and I loved watching his face as he sang along with the radio.

    • Patty B says:

      Music is a wonderful gift from God whether we are blessed with a voice of an angel or like me that take the bible verse that goes something about making a joyful noise, well I take it to heart and sing a joyful noise!! LOL I always tell people God blessed me with hearing so I can enjoy good music.

  18. Mustang.Koji says:

    Your life is filled with wonderful simple moments, Patty. For that, my day ends well. I hope yours did, too.

  19. Wow, I remember those songs too. 🙂 Lovely memories

  20. Sartenada says:

    My children passed in French school in Helsinki and I remember the song: Frere Jacques very well yet today. This was great post!

  21. Sartenada says:

    Well, I and my children learned this Finnish song when we were very small:

Leave a Reply

