Hope In Bloom ~ Roots of Hope

 

Hope In Bloom Flower arrangement of the Creation

Hope In Bloom
Flower arrangement of the Creation

In June I had a wonderful opportunity to help in the worship service for the Presbyterian Women of the Synod of Trinity Women’s Gathering.  Women from 16 Presbyteries from Ohio, West Virginia and Pennsylvania joined together to worship, praise and serve our God.

The theme was “Hope In Bloom”.  There were 5 separate worship services; “Seeds of Hope”, “Roots of Hope”, “Sprouts of Hope”, “Nourishing Hope” and “Blossoms of Hope”

I did not realize all the preparations that went into creating such a program.  The Coordinating Team  met in September of 2013 and again in January 2014 to plan and organize the event for June.  In between those months I along with many women were working behind the scenes using our talents and gifts to bring this event together. 

One of my duties was to write a worship service for “Roots of Hope”. I have never accomplished anything like this before.  This was the first step out of my comfort zone, to write something that I would have to read in front of many women I did not know.  Forget what I said about the first step, because I did not step out of my comfort zone I jumped!

Here is part of my worship service.  The song “Sowing Seeds of Hope” was written by our Worship Coordinator, Mary McElroy – regrettably I do not have the words to it to share with you.

This morning we sang “Sowing Seeds of Hope”. Through those seeds God plants:

A Living Hope that takes root in the reality of the hardships of life and holds us close to God our Father.

An Honest Hope whose roots grow deep in our souls and keep us firmly planted in God’s unfailing promises.

A Patient Hope grown out of those little seeds that help us not to soar but to walk gently and without fainting.

A Sustaining Hope that brings God’s rest in our struggles and His peace in our storms.

And finally, an Eternal Hope that is only found in Jesus Christ, Son of God and Keeper of our Souls.

Hebrews 10:23 states: “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for He who promised is faithful” Let us sow the seeds of hope and allow our roots to grow deep so that we can remain firmly planted in God’s promise of His eternal hope for tomorrow, and the grace and peace of His presence today.

The closing song (A Firm Foundation) ~ along with the evening prayer with extinguishing the Christ Candle, wrote by our Worship Coordinator that I worked into the evening vespers.

Colossians 2:6-7 “Just as you received Christ Jesus as LORD, continue to live in Him, rooted and built up in Him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

Rooted in Christ! Now that is a firm foundation! As we extinguish the Christ candle, a symbol of Christ among us, may we stand firm in Christ as we take this light in our hearts to guard us through the night. Let the light shine through us and shower glimmers of HOPE along the way.

Let us pray;
Ever present God, walk with us into the night and hold us steady. Help us to visualize your nourishment coming to us through your strong roots. When we start to waver hold us close and show us new and fresh horizons. Guard our ways and keep us through the darkness that we may awake with the dawn ready to witness to your glory. Be with those we have left behind and hold them in the safety of your hands. Bring us peace as we go to rest that we may awake refreshed and enthusiastic about another day to serve you. Through Christ, our roots of hope we pray.
AMEN

I would also like to thank my spiritual director, Rev.Christine Woods-Henderson for helping me with wording and grammar for the opening and the devotion.  Tomorrow I will post the devotion.

May the roots of our faith that is found in Jesus Christ nourish you each and every day.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hope In Bloom ~ Roots of Hope

  1. LubbyGirl says:

    My first reading of the morning – thanks so much for the uplifting! You sure did minister to my heart, and no doubt to all the women at the gathering.

    Like

  2. That was really beautiful, and I think ‘hope’ is so important in our lives… Without it some things would be so hard to deal with…. Along with faith to believe… Diane

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      I almost lost “hope” a few times in my life and I am thankful to God that through the years He nourished my roots with faith to keep mt standing and upright when the storm raged last year. It was those roots of faith that kept Hope alive and strong.

      Like

  3. Hi Patty, I have not been receiving your Posts but I noticed last night you had Posted again, I’m seeking to catch up now.

    The seeds, Living Hope, Honest Hope, Patient Hope, Sustaining Hope, Eternal Hope are wonderful assurance regardless of the Storms we go through in Life thank you for sharing them I’m looking forward to reading your latest Post.

    I created a few Power points about Hope, one I Posted is called Hope in the Darkness, it’s adapted from one I received, it is very detailed but interesting, the other one is called Blossoming Hope but I haven’t Posted it yet but was thinking I might Post it and link it to your Posts about Hope, if that is Ok with you. I created it in August years ago, it’s also about the Hope that we have in The Lord, I used uplifting quotes in it from different Christian Authors, at the time I needed Hope and found it, just as you shared God provides what we need and when we need it.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      I would be honored – and I will post a reblog of your post. We all need to be reminded of the Hope found in the promises of Jesus. It is that hope that living Hope that has sustained me through the most difficult trials. In Gods love and hope!

      Like

  4. Wonderful post, Patty. These are some of my favorite scriptures of hope.

    Like

  5. Patty – Wow, I’ve watched you grow in so many different ways since I’ve known you. You are an amazing woman and a wonderful friend. Keep on going my friend.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      thank you Sheri, it means a lot – you have been a wonderful encouragement to me and without strong women like you I am not sure where I would be today. Thank you for being a friend!

      Like

  6. Pingback: Blossoming Hope….. | Freedomborn … Aussie Christian Focus

  7. Cathy G says:

    So lovely, Patty! Thank-you for this! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

