The Writing Challenge

 As you know this month I signed up for the NaNoWriMo, I knew it would be a challenge to keep it up along with all my other responsibilities I thought if I did not do it now I may never attempt this challenge. The hardest part are the distractions, some days I sit down to write and I feel like a dog who is so focused on his master until he sees a squirrel and his mind changes directions and stays focused on the squirrel until he sees a rabbit and so on.  I sit to write, then I answer emails, then I notice a spot on the wall, then as I go into the kitchen to get a Lysol wipe I notice dust on my furniture and well, you can guess where it goes from there ~ two hours later and I am still on my first paragraph!

How do you keep the distractions from interfering with your writing? I would like your help to free myself of the pitfalls of life’s many distractions.

So although I am far behind the desired goal I am learning many new things:

1. Don’t start writing until I do the research – I am spending more time researching historical fact instead of writing.

2.  I do not need to sit at my lap top waiting to inspired, rather I am finding inspiration in all sorts of interesting places.

3.  Carry a notebook with me everywhere I go to jot down thoughts and ideas until I can sit and write, unless I am in the shower then this is not such a good idea!

4. Not to write in the morning before I go into work, I lose track of time and face it I still need my day job.

5.  It is not important at how many words I write per day, it has been more important for me to take this first step into writing, learn a few things and enjoy the process.

I accepted this challenge not knowing what to expect.  So although I am way short in the amount of words I have written, I have found success in what I am learning.

There were two book ideas I have had for a while so after some prayer and thought, I decided to choose to do a historical fiction book based on my mother’s life during WWII in Germany and I titled it “The German Rose”.

The title comes from her love of Roses and from her first home, Germany.  America of coarse being her second home when she became an American citizen in 1972.

To date this is where I am ~  I have created my characters, wrote out a few outlines of where I would like to see this story go, wrote down some of the stories of my mothers childhood, and I have written over 2,000 words and getting ready to finish the first chapter.

Now to get back to my writing….oh wait, I remembered I have clothes to fold, dishes to finish and meeting minutes to type up, etc. etc. etc…. {sigh}

Writer

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The Writing Challenge

  1. Write Patty Write! (That’s the best cheer I could come up this late at night!:)

    Like

  2. imconfident says:

    You are so right, there are so many distractions in life. I’m writing for the challenge too and I’m finding it difficult to stay motivated. Keep going! All we can do is our best and that’s something to be proud of.

    Like

  3. At least you have your ‘goal’ and that is the biggest hurdle…. and now you have a title, some outlines, stories….. You are on your way my friend…. Those darn distractions can waylay us so often during the day….. they are inevitable but irritating to say the least… I’m glad for you and the progress that you’re making….will wait for further updates…take care Diane

    Like

  4. Sheryl says:

    I like your list. #5 particularly resonated with me. If I get the first sentence written, the rest will come.

    Like

  5. LubbyGirl says:

    you go girl!! you can do it. I never tried the nanowrimo, just the blowbyblow -er- the nablopomo.

    Like

  6. You are off to a great start! 🌟🌹🌟 enjoy the process!

    Like

  7. gpcox says:

    I did a NANOWRIMO a couple of years back, don’t be concerned with mistakes – charge forward till the end, sometimes you will need to change more than a single fact because your characters will take you where you did not plan on. Keep writing – the rewriting and editing are for later. You’re doing great!

    Like

  8. Patty we share a German history! I am a first generation Canadian. My parents immigrated from Germany in 1960! Good luck with the German Rose!

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      It is a wonderful history to share. I may have to ask you on some detail I am unsure of!! 😉

      Like

      • haha well I don’t know too much about German history. Hey, do you speak German? It was first language, I learned English in school.

        Like

      • Patty B says:

        No, my mother never taught me. My brother and sister like you spoke German before my parents moved back to the states so they had to learn English, but never spoke it again. Mom was adamant that we speak English in the house because it helped her. Although when her friends were over it was music to my ears to hear her speak German, I wish I learned.

        Like

  9. margaret21 says:

    I think you’ve already worked out what you need to do. It’s all new and difficult, and if you feel as if you’re failing in allowing yourself to be distracted, remember what a new skill you are practising. Although you have been writing successfully for quite a while, the discipline and skills required for a sustained piece of work are quite a different thing. In addition, you still have work responsibilities, domestic duties and an emotional life that is still I guess far from easy. That you’re acting on this challenge at all is remarkable, and what I see is sustained success. Research accomplished, a workable idea in development, some characters established. Who could ask for more at this stage? Well done, it all sounds terrific to me. Keep going, and don’t be hard on yourself if there are hiccups along the way

    Like

  10. Patty,
    Blessings on your efforts! I use a pad and pencil but find my mini-recorder of more help. I can talk into it while walking on the treadmill, waking at night with fresh ideas, in the car while thoughts arrive, etc. Try it; you might like it.

    Hugs,
    Jeanne

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Good idea about using a mini recorder, I am finding writing down the basics using pen and paper helps me create the story line when I sit down to type. Thanks for your suggestion.

      Like

  11. I’m right there with you Patty! Thanks for sharing the tips you use and the book idea sounds amazing!!

    Like

  12. Patty – You have incredible courage to jump into the writing storm of November. November and December seem to be the hardest time of the year for Tom and requires a great deal of hands on time for me. One of these days I’ll take the writing challenge, but for now, I’ll be available for Tom and for whatever it is that he needs.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Tom is more important that is for sure. I will say extra prayers for him during this time. Taking part in NaNoWriMo has been terrific therapy for me and will help get me through the holidays.

      Like

  13. Patty, I haven’t visited your blog in a while, so I was delighted to find these new entries. Wow! You’re not as distracted as you think. You’re moving ahead quickly. God bless you.

    Like

  14. The joke is that this evening, after nearly a week of distractions, I had finally settled to my current novel, even written a couple hundred words. First I was distracted by a bit of research into makes of pianos, then I saw your email ‘Like’ for my blog post, and succumbed to popping over to visit your blog and found myself reading about displacement activities… Back to work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

