A New Road To Travel

 The past few months I have found out just what I am made of.  I am made from the same strength and determination as that of my mother. Through my mother, God taught me how to take that step of faith into the unknown as I move ahead into a new life.

This past summer I decided to take time off from my busy schedule and let go of some of my commitments.  It gave me enough time to reflect in solitude as I learn to find my way in this new world I find myself in. It was a time spent remembering and thanking God for my life with Tom.  It was also a time for me to sit back and take inventory of my life and figure out the future. God has set me down a new road, and I will admit it is a road I never wanted to travel, nor is it a road any of us want to travel.  But travel it I will as I choose to follow God down this unfamiliar, rocky road.

My mother traveled down rocky roads most of her life.  Raised in Germany at a time when all she knew was war and destruction. It was through her strength and that of her parents that they would rebuild their lives.  It was my mother’s strength that saw her through my father’s alcoholism and through the death of my brother who died in an accident only 2 months after my father died suddenly of a heart attack.

The old saying “life goes on” is so true.  Life does go on along with our responsibilities. I feel as if I am ready to step out in faith in what the next chapter of my life holds.  And as I move forward I will always have God walking with me on this rocky road offering me hope for a future, the support of Tom to encourage me and a long line of courageous women to give me strength.
 
This next week I will gather the strength I inherited from my mother and step out in faith as I move ahead to what God has planned for me.  Last spring I was nominated to serve on the Presbyterian Women of the Synod of the Trinity board as their historian.  Tom as always was supportive and encouraged me to pray for God’s direction when I was first elected last spring.  It is with mixed feelings that I begin my term next week.  Honored to serve with such Godly and caring women but sad that I will start a new adventure in serving God without Tom.
 
Now that my path is set I will be spending the next few weeks getting organized and setting my priorities  as I find my way. I will face my new challenge with the grace of God as I put one foot in of the other and begin again.  Until I set my feet firmly on solid ground I may not be blogging much but I will be reading your articles which have become nightly visits from friends as I enjoy my evening cup of tea.
 
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to A New Road To Travel

  1. Patty, I am so sorry!! Was Tom ill? I didn’t know anything had happened to him! Praying for you, precious heart!!!

    Like

  2. Bernice says:

    Best wishes on your new journey!!!

    Like

  3. I can only imagine having to build a new life without my husband … It’ is daunting to even think about… I so hope you find your new endeavor to be what you need to help you …. It sounds ‘like you’ if that makes any sense… like it will be good! Take care and do try and keep in touch at least once in awhile even a short note… Diane

    Like

  4. Patty, I hear both strength and wisdom in your words. Tom would be so proud of you. Thank you for your honesty that will encourage others along and through their rocky road journeys. Blessings upon your historian position and your walk with the Lord.

    Hugs ~ Wendy

    Like

  5. Mustang.Koji says:

    What a wonderful, wonderful and bright story, Patty… Truly, someone is grinning at you…and with you.

    Like

  6. I could feel your courage and strong resolve. That’s what God can do to and for a faithful person despite difficult circumstances. God give you wisdom and strength in your new journey.

    Like

  7. jaggh53163 says:

    Patty – Draw strength from the poem “Footprints” and know that he will carry you through the worst of times. Sometimes it’s very hard to see, but know that He is beside you, in front of you and behind you. With Him, you will manage just fine. I speak from experience.

    Like

  8. Lori Lara says:

    Behind you all the way, Patty. Blessings and continued strength to you on your journey. We never know when The Lord may return. Tom will find you ready and serving – what a blessing to witness your resolve.

    Big hugs to you!

    Like

  9. Terry says:

    I know you can do this with God being the lighted lamp. Try to relax and enjoy the new moments God will show you

    Like

  10. LubbyGirl says:

    The Lord be with you, as He has through this whole thing. I’m sure Tom would be so proud of you for taking this step. I’ll be waiting to hear how it’s all going.

    Like

  11. You strengthen me. It feels like Tom and God were working hand in hand to help you along this path. Blessings as you continue on your beautiful way.

    Like

  12. margaret21 says:

    I’m in awe of your courage, determination and optimism. All best wishes for this next challenging chapter.

    Like

  13. Blessings to you dear Patty. May God reward you exceedingly abundantly as you take each step. I will continue to pray for you as you journey this new path. I am so thankful that you know God and have him to lean on.
    Debra

    Like

  14. Kerri says:

    Thank you for sharing your journey. It is an inspiration to me. May God bless you as you go.

    Like

  15. Dear Patty, I’m sorry, I have not been blogging much this year and somehow missed the news that you lost your beloved husband. God will bless your courage and may you find comfort in His love. You are in my prayers. Blessings, Vivian

    Like

  16. I know you’ll do well in your position as historian. Don’t worry about your blog; we’ll be here when you return.

    Like

  17. Sheryl says:

    I can’t even imagine what it’s been like for you. I think that you were wise to take some time to reflect. When the time feels right, ‘m looking forward to hearing more about your new role as the historian. It sounds really interesting. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Like

  18. Denise Hisey says:

    Patty, it sounds like your mother modeled beautifully for you how to move on with grace.
    Now it’s your turn to teach us.
    Thank you for sharing your courage and strength with us all.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Denise for your encouraging words. I draw my strength from God and from all of you – I may not have commented much these past months but I have been reading and am thankful for the hope and encouragement through everyone’s writing.

      Like

  19. Planting Potatoes says:

    good post….I can relate as my wife, being from Germany, has the same determination that her WWII Mother had….and she has been reminding me that we need to simplify our lives here in our small town, so God can use us as he will…..may God enable you and use you for his good purposes in this position!

    Like

  20. Patty – I haven’t a doubt that you’ll be able to carry forward in your new appointment. Your strong sense of history, your moral integrity and your love of God will definitely show you each step of the way.

    Like

  21. gpcox says:

    I just wanted to check in and make sure you are holding up. I hope all your friends here are helping with their kind words – they give them to you from the heart.

    Like

  22. utesmile says:

    This sounds like a new exciting challenge for you and it is good that you found your strength to go with it. All the best and enjoy your path!

    Like

  23. I wish you every success with this new venture. You are clearly a woman of infinite resources and will make life work for you. Tom would be so proud of you.
    All the very best, Sally 🙂

    Like

  24. Patty, you have been in my heart and on my mind, and this post inspires me as you share your strong and courageous spirit with the world. I love this line: “This next week I will gather the strength I inherited from my mother and step out in faith as I move ahead to what God has planned for me.” They are lucky to have you as a historian and I believe that you have Tom’s supportive energy with you always. Bless your heart. With love, Gina

    Like

  25. Oh Patty, how I marvel at your sweet, positive attitude even with all you have been through! I am so grateful that you are now blogging again. I’ve missed you and you remain in my prayers.

    You are indeed made of tough inner fortitude as a military wife and the more I read of your background, I see we are truly sisters in Christ from strong mothers. You are a blessing to your children. Life offers no guarantees as we have both discovered and your strong characteristics are showing your children that they indeed can continue on no matter what life throws at them because God is there to cradle you all in His hands. (So many here on Earth love you too!)

    Like

  26. Patty, you are an inspiration, and this post is a tribute to the life you shared with Tom, as well as a tribute to your mother’s life and a testimony of your faith. Bless you.

    Like

  27. amandalannon says:

    How inspiring, goodness this made me sit up and take note. When the chips are down eh? Very well done in your fortitude, in recognising your strength and not last but most of all, well done in your walk in faith, He who gives us so much to be thankful for even in the dark times.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Amen – one thing I have learned through all of this is that God does indeed keep His promises. It was not the answer I wanted but He held on tight to me and I am so thankful that God did not let go.

      Like

  28. Patty, I’m thrilled to hear about your new venture. May God bless and guide you in every area of your life as you serve Him. I look forward to reading your posts. You are indeed an inspiration.

    Like

  29. Patty, you are a testament of the strength and comfort God gives to navigate life’s “new roads.” As your mom taught you and Tom encouraged you, now you’re a teacher and encourager to others. I am looking forward to being taught and encouraged by your posts.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – that is so kind of you. Every time I read your posts and see “Unshakable Hope” it encourages me to hold tightly to the Hope only found in our Lord.

      Like

  30. gpcox says:

    Just popping in again here to say I hope you are keeping your chin up. You are a strong person.

    Like

  31. Keeping good thoughts for you as you forge a new road ahead. Stay strong.

    Like

  32. I know the road has to be tough…when you have loved someone with such deep abiding love…to move on…is VERY hard. But I just know that GOD will open great new paths for you to journey on.

    Like

  33. prayers, blessings and much love ♥ paula

    Like

  34. Lori Lipsky says:

    What a marvelous, brave post. You’re setting the example for many of us as you follow in the footsteps of your mother’s courage and fortitude. Well done, Patty. I am happy to hear you’re stepping out into the next adventure…thanks for sharing. It’s good to hear from you! -Lori

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thanks for stopping by Lori, God has blessed me with so many things, and these past few weeks He has been good in getting me settled into a new routine, so much to do though and so little time! 😉 It feels good to be busy even when I feel overwhelmed, does that make any sense?

      Like

  35. Just calling in as we visit Cape Cod and I see that you are following our journey. I hope you are finding the strength you need and that your new venture is coming along well 🙂

    Like

  36. I think you’ll be just fine. God is faithful to those who are faithful to Him. 🙂

    Like

  37. “Through my mother, God taught me how to take that step of faith into the unknown as I move ahead into a new life.”…Food for thought….Hii 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

