I’ll Fly Away

From the golden age of the Big Bands to Rock and Roll of the 1950’s, to the Hymns I sing at church to today’s Christian Contemporary songs, music has always been a way to soothe my soul.  When I am hurting and when my world comes crashing down or when my life bubbles over with Gods joy and all is right with the world it is music that I turn too.

This past week has been a difficult one and yesterday while I was doing my errands I came across a CD that had “I’ll Fly Away” and bought it spur of the moment.  All day yesterday and today my walk has been a bit lighter and the sun is a little bit brighter as I sing along to this song that promises we will see God in all of His Glory and to a place that joy will never end.  I thank God for the gift of music that restores His Joy to our broken hearts.

I’ll Fly Away

Some glad morning when this life is o’er,
I’ll fly away;
To a home on God’s celestial shore,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away).

[Chorus]
I’ll fly away, Oh Glory
I’ll fly away; (in the morning)
When I die, Hallelujah, by and by,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away).

When the shadows of this life have gone,
I’ll fly away;
Like a bird from prison bars has flown,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away)

[Chorus]
I’ll fly away, Oh Glory
I’ll fly away; (in the morning)
When I die, Hallelujah, by and by,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away).

Just a few more weary days and then,
I’ll fly away;
To a land where joy shall never end,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away)

[Chorus]
I’ll fly away, Oh Glory
I’ll fly away; (in the morning)
When I die, Hallelujah, by and by,
I’ll fly away (I’ll fly away).

THE STATLER BROTHERS  ~ STATLER BROTHERS – I’LL FLY AWAY lyrics are property and copyright of it’s owners and are provided for your entertainment purposes only.
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to I’ll Fly Away

  1. I’m glad it helped you in your walk. It is a wonderful song.

    Like

  2. Music is amazing isn’t it? Consider yourself thought of, prayed for and hugged across the distance. ❤
    xo
    Diana

    Like

  3. I was in a meeting before church this morning, and several of us were talking about how God speaks to us directly through music. A year or so ago when I was having a difficult time, I decided to buy individual songs from itunes and burn my own CD of encouraging Christian music. So glad I did! Cheers and blessings!

    Like

  4. Terry says:

    I always enjoyed this song. It is a very uplifting song full of great words

    Like

  5. Music is therapy for the soul. Use it for any situation. Allow yourself to be happy, to grieve, to ponder, to slow down, whatever your body and soul says it needs. Healing will come, in time, Patty. God is there directing your steps. Hugs and blessings always. 🙂

    Like

  6. Sheryl says:

    The song is beautiful.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thanks – we had a singspiration today at church of old hymns and although we did not sing this particular one I did sing it in my head inbetween the hymns.

      Like

  7. lexiesnana says:

    I am singing it in my head right now. Music is something that my family holds dear and I too think it helps when you need it. It helps me feel the presence of my Father. Hugs from the tip of the thumb of Michigan.

    Like

  8. Music is one of my great loves too Patty. You’re in my thoughts and prayers, and I hope today was a better one for you!

    Like

  9. “I’ll fly away” – one way or the other, we are one day closer!

    Like

  10. I love that song! It may have been inspired by Psalm 55: 6 or Psalm 90: 10. Psalm 90 is attributed to Moses. Verse 10 reads, “The days of our years are threescore years and ten; and if by reason of strength they be fourscore years, yet is their strength labour and sorrow; for it is soon cut off, and we fly away” (NASB).

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Jill, when I am up to it I will check them out. I appreciate you thinking of me. Blessings

      Like

      • gegebearbear says:

        Hope uou feel better soon. I did not realize you were ill.Sorry I missef that, Patty. You have been so super to me, I shouldn’t have missed that. Of course my memory really stinks. Especiallynright now! Thanks for your kindness, Jill

        Like

      • Patty B says:

        memory?? what is a memory? 😉 Thanks for your well wishes, we are getting there. The days are still long but I am getting stronger.

        Like

  11. Patty – Inded, I’ll Fly Away is a wonderful song. It doesn’t matter what my mood is in when I hear it, soon all is right with my day.

    Like

  12. Cathy G says:

    God bless you, Patty.

    Like

  13. My choir sings this lovely song. I’m glad it has helped you.
    All the best to you 🙂

    Like

  14. My sweet friend, I have nominated you for the Best Moment Award! Please visit this link: transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/08/06/best-moment-award-6/

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      thank you – it encourages me that you thought of me. I do appreciate it and when I am feeling better I will thank you properly. Blessings to you and your family

      Like

  15. A wonderful and hopeful song. Probably my favorite from the old outdoor camp meetings we used to go to. But also remember “His Eye is on the Sparrow”…..http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOm2mMusqUw *hugs* paula

    Like

  16. Love this song – it’s a favorite of the women in recovery at the mission. You should hear them belt it out!

    Thanks for stopping by Lessons by Heart! Have a blessed weekend.

    \o/

    Like

  17. gpcox says:

    How have you been holding up, Patty? Sounds like the music is helping.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Music and meditation has been a few of the many wonderful gifts from God to help me through this. Yesterday, Sunday was the first day I actually spent in quiet solitude. Even better than music.

      Like

  18. camary1996 says:

    Oh my Lord!!!! I can’t wait to …fly away! Got my bags packed and I’m ready to go!! Thanks for this post!

    Like

  19. Lori Lipsky says:

    Song will often have its way in our hearts. What a lovely post and a needed reminder. Thanks, Patty! May your day be filled again today with song. I have a feeling I’ll be singing”I’ll Fly Away” a lot today. 🙂

    Like

  20. My dear friend, I have nominated you for some awards! Congratulations! Please visit this link : transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/a-bouquet-of-3-awards/

    Like

  21. optimisticgladness says:

    This was my grandpa’s favorite song. Music does, miraculously, help our brains, our intelligence, our souls, with worship, aids in healing and so much more. Thank you for sharing this meaningful song with us. Someday, I’ll fly away too. Hugs.

    Like

  22. Planting Potatoes says:

    one of my favorite songs – no matter who sings it! 🙂

    Like

  23. This is such a beautiful tribute! You are truly an amazing and strong Christian woman! Blessings my dear blogging friend,

    Like

  24. Dilip says:

    Thanks you for sharing this beautiful song. Music does liberate the soul.
    Wishing you all the cheer and happiness!

    Like

  25. russtowne says:

    I can see what you mean about this song being upbeat and uplifting, Patty. Thank you, for sharing it!
    Russ

    Like

  26. Greetings Patti… I couldn’t hear the music – but the words are comforting. Hope you are coping with your new walk. Love, Susan

    Like

Leave a Reply

