My Families Grief

I want to thank everyone for their kind words on my last post regarding our family emergency. The prayers and love have touched me and lifted me and my family in comfort.

 It was a relaxing evening when my husband went to lie down and never woke up.  He passed away suddenly and so unexpectedly. We are all still in shock and disbelief.  My heart has not caught up with the reality of what happened. 

I will be taking more time off until I can get a grasp on my grief.  I feel as if I am walking in a fog and as I go through the motions it is as if I am on the outside peering in someone else’s life. 

It has been hard to write or even think for that matter.  My DH was my soul mate and was always by my side and holding my hand everywhere we went.   

A dear friend quoted verses from this hymn that is giving me strength and courage with each new day. My children and I are truly under God’s care as we begin the struggle in putting our lives back together, living each day moment by moment

Moment by Moment

Dying with Jesus, by death reckoned mine;
Living with Jesus, a new life divine;
Looking to Jesus till glory doth shine,
Moment by moment, O Lord, I am Thine.

Refrain

Moment by moment I’m kept in His love;
Moment by moment I’ve life from above;
Looking to Jesus till glory doth shine;
Moment by moment, O Lord, I am Thine.

Never a trial that He is not there,
Never a burden that He doth not bear,
Never a sorrow that He doth not share,
Moment by moment, I’m under His care.

Refrain

Never a heartache, and never a groan,
Never a teardrop and never a moan;
Never a danger but there on the throne,
Moment by moment He thinks of His own.

Refrain

Never a weakness that He doth not feel,
Never a sickness that He cannot heal;
Moment by moment, in woe or in weal,
Jesus my Savior, abides with me still.

Refrain

 

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

124 Responses to My Families Grief

  1. Terry says:

    my heart is with you always Patty

  2. I am so sorry for your loss. Sending prayers and hugs your way!

  3. I am so sorry for your loss Patty. Please accept my condolences. I pray that God and His Angels surround you and carry you through your grief. God bless you all.

  4. Special prayers for a special lady. Lots of hugs, sorrowing hearts and angels to comfort you, Patty. Shalom

  5. Oh, Patty, I’ve been out of town, and behind in everything, so I hadn’t gotten to your last post. I am so so sorry for your loss. My heart goes out to you and your whole family. Sending hugs and wishing you comfort and peace.

  6. I am so very sorry Patty. I will continue to keep you and your family in my prayers.

  7. I feel like I am in shock also…..There were many things that crossed my mind but never imagined what has happened. My heart goes out to you and your family. Take care and may the peace of God surround and permeate your very being….Diane

  8. I am so sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family Patty. (((HUGS)))

  9. Isaiah 41:10 fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

  10. LubbyGirl says:

    I know the feeling well, of walking in a fog, going through the motions. I do pray for you (been praying a lot for you lately!) as you go through this valley. I pray the Lord’s comfort will totally encompass you!

  11. Judy Guion says:

    Dear Patty and D’s loving family:
    Ten years ago I was sleeping next to my husband when the same thing happened. He just didn’t wake up. A friend sent me a card with these following words and I can only hope and pray that they help you as they helped me.

    May Memories Comfort You
    “We can only
    feel great sorrow
    At the loss of a great joy…
    But we keep
    Our precious memories
    even time cannot destroy.
    Though now
    They may be bittersweet
    or even cause us pain,
    Our loved ones are still with us…
    Those memories remain.”

    May all your precious memories of D warm your heart, and may our Lord keep each of you in his hands, comforting you and giving you strength.
    Yours in Christ,
    Judy

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you that is lovely, actually I am saving it. I am sorry that you also had to endure this. I sometimes wonder how we are going through this time, but then I feel the presence of our Lord. It is through Him that we gain our strength and from everyone’s prayers.

  12. imconfident says:

    Patty, I am so sorry for your loss. I pray that God will bring comfort to you and your loved ones.

  13. russtowne says:

    May your good memories soon overwhelm your grief for ever-longer periods of time. My thoughts and condolences are with you, Patty.

    Rus

  14. Patty, I am so sorry for your loss. I pray for the repose of the soul. I also pray that you will be comforted by God’s grace.

  15. Truly truly saddened by your sad news. We’ve never met but I feel so much for you although I can only imagine what the shock must be like. I’m thankful for your marriage, testimony and for that cruise you took together recently. I pray that all the happiness you shared, the strength and comfort if God and the fellowship of friends and family will sustain you in the days to come. With love Karen x

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Karen, we are indeed blessed with the love shown to us by our friends and family and especially from those I have never officially met…

  16. 1annecasey says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. I have no doubt he will stay by your side, holding your hand and watching over you until you meet again. Take care and I hope you find some peace with this terrible shock.

  17. God bless you Patty ~ may your faith and love for DH carry you through these days. Sending you heartfelt sympathy, lots of prayers and big hugs. xoxo ♥♥♥

  18. Lori Lipsky says:

    My deepest condolences, Patty, to you and your entire family. I’m so sorry for your loss. ~Lori

  19. hopesquires says:

    Patty — I lift you and your family up in prayer and ask God to surround you with His love and healing during this very difficult time.

  20. margaret21 says:

    So very sorry about your great loss.

  21. Patty, I am so sorry. My deepest condolences. God bless.

  22. Oh, Patty, I am so sorry. I send you love and strength from across the world. xx

  23. lexiesnana says:

    Patty know that we here in Michigan’s thumb are praying for you and your family. I was so sorry to read this.

  24. Patty – I haven’t words to lift you or your son and daughter up. There’s nothing I can say that will make you feel better. My thoughts and prayers have been with you since we last communicated and often I’ll see or hear something and I’ll stop and turn and see my Tom and send up a silent prayer of thanksgiving that he’s still with me. We each walk through the stages of grief differently and we’ll be waiting for you when you want to return. In the meantime, know I’m available.

  25. There are no words to speak that are enough. Help Patty and her family Lord, surround her with your love Jesus.

  26. Denise Hisey says:

    Oh, Patty…I’m so sorry. Your faith and family will sustain you, I know. But please allow yourself all the time you need to grieve the loss of your wonderful husband.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Denise, solitude is just what I need right now but I also know that there will come a time when I am ready to face to world again.

  27. optimisticgladness says:

    This is beautiful Patty. In BSF today, I was thinking about you. I pray that God would comfort you, meet all your needs, bring people into your path to assist you and cry with you. He is a very present help in the time of need. I’m sad with you. I will continue to pray for you.

  28. SingleFocus says:

    “Earth has no sorrow that heaven cannot heal.” Praying that the God of all comfort holds you in His arms and gives you peace as He wipes away your tears…

  29. Kerri says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I know your faith will carry you through this difficult time. Bless you in your time of need.

  30. Thinking about you every day and sending you and your family love. I hope your strong beliefs will help you through these difficult times and help you through to the time of good memories…..
    With much love, Sally

  31. Lori Lara says:

    Dear Patty, I just got off the phone with a mutual blogging friend and she told me about your husband. I’m so very sorry…my heart is with you and my prayers are filled with requests of comfort for you and your family.

    This life can be so surprising and brutal. As believers, we know that God has made a way for us to be reunited with our loved ones, and we have tremendous joy over that. But, in spite of this eternal hope and truth, our hearts still break and our grief can feel overwhelming…God will walk each and every step with you. Take one day at a time.

    I don’t have your email address or phone number, but if you’d like to contact me, I’d be honored to share this journey with you more deeply. lori@lorilaraphotography.com. Of course, no obligation. I’m just here if you want to talk.

    Love and hugs to you…

    Lori

  32. Patty, I am so very sorry that your time with your husband, on this side of heaven, has been suddenly cut short. Gentle hugs and prayers, dear one, as you and your family grieve.

    xo Wendy

    • Patty B says:

      thank you – I like how you said this side of heaven, it brings us such comfort in knowing that one day we will all be reunited again – forever.

  33. utesmile says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss, my heart is with you and you are in my prayers at this difficult time! I hope we can comfort you a little and I send you hugs. xx Ute

  34. Sheryl says:

    Patty–I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. I can’t even begin to imagine what you must be feeling. I didn’t know your husband–but based on what you’ve written about him–my sense is that he was an incredible person. My thoughts and prayers are with you. Sheryl

  35. Sorry to hear about your loss. Please read my blog ‘Through The Valley of The Shadow of Death’ about how God drew close when my Mam died. I pray he will comfort you.

    • Patty B says:

      I did read the article, and like you we are finding God meeting us where we need Him the most. As you know it doesn’t take the pain away, but it gives us comfort and courage in knowing God is watching over us has kept His promise to never leave us when we need Him the most –

  36. tbnranch says:

    I’m stunned to hear of this, I’m so sorry.

  37. timr6 says:

    So sorry for your great loss.

  38. My dear Patty,

    I apologize for the late response. My account is set up to receive notifications of your posts, but for some reason I missed this one. At any rate, I am so very sorry for your loss and send you my deepest condolences. The love for your family and your DH have been evident in all that you share, and I pray that the relationship I have with my husband evolves into one that was as loving and touching as yours. A dear friend at my church recently passed, and it took us all by surprise. We rest in the hope that is in Christ, and am reminded that “to live is Christ and to die is gain.” Phil. 1:21

    You are in my heart during this time, and always, and I’m praying for the peace that only God can provide to comfort each and everyone of you at this time.

    Love and God Bless,

    Patricia

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Patricia – at this our darkest time we have indeed experienced the peace and strength of God. I just read about your friend and would also like to express my sympathy to you. We are both blessed that in Christ we will all be reunited again.
      You and your husband have a strong relationship built on the foundation of God and like my marriage you will have plenty of happy years ahead of you. I may add you are a cute couple too! 😉 Thank you again for your lovely words and for the keeping me centered on the promise of Hope.

  39. Mustang.Koji says:

    Patty… My sincere apologies for missing this momentous yet uplifting post on your sudden change on your good family’s life. I hope there will yet be a positive shift as you remember your good times… Like when he was the target of a couple of elderly ladies on your recent cruise! Please cherish your fun times with him to help carry you through this transition… I am sure he is.

    My sincere condolences, Patty…

    • Patty B says:

      thank you for the smile, actually those two feisty ladies sent me comforting cards of encouragement. Our tears are slowly turning to smiles as we remember.

  40. Espirational says:

    Oh Patty, I am so sorry!

  41. Oh Patty, How I wish I could put my arms around you and simply be there for you. I see from the above posts that you are very loved! We share so many similarities that I am devastated for you and can’t imagine the heartache you are going through. Please know that I am with you also in prayer. I hope this doesn’t sound frivolous but I am so glad your husband was a man of God, for then it wasn’t death, it was a graduation ceremony. I look forward to meeting him! Blessings and strength to you as you go through this pain.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – everyone’s prayers mean so much to us. Knowing my DH (dear husband) is a man of God has brought us much comfort in knowing where He is. I found some of his old bible study notes and it reaffirmed what I know to be true that He is with our Lord I like what you wrote his “graduation ceremony” – we would have liked that description. We thank God for good friends like you that are holding us up in prayer. Blessings

  42. a true love story never dies — he is with you Patty (((hugs))))

  43. Patty,
    My heart aches for you. I’m so sorry…

    May the thoughts and prayers of others be a comfort as you and yours manage the grief you’re facing.

    Many blessings and prayers for sustainment,
    Tammy

  44. Patty…there just isn’t words to comfort someone who has went what you are going through. Only the Lord has the power to do this…I can’t imagine the pain or shock of losing your best friend and soul mate! I pray the Lord gives you the grace and strength to see you through this trial. Blessings to you my friend….

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – everyone’s prayers have been a blessing to us. God has kept His promise and never left us and it is through His Son that I am finding the comfort and strength I need.

  45. Just calling in to send some love your way today. I’m so glad you are finding some comfort in the beautiful things. It’s good to see that you have been in and visited. I think of you as I am posting each day. Stay well, stay strong xx

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – it is everyone’s prayers and kind thoughts that have gotten me through the worse of it. The photos of the children is what gives me the most hope – those little darlings who are unaware of the good they are doing for me are comforting me and your photos are a blessed reminder of the beauty in this world.

  46. Patty, how are you holding up? It must be difficult making an adjustment like this so suddenly. I’ve been so wrapped up in my own ‘mini-crisis’ that I failed to catch up after returning from Bland where we have no internet service. It pales next to your loss. I am truly sorry and wish you comfort and peace during this time. You have so many devoted followers and friends who will lift you. Thinking about you,
    Renee

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Renee, we all struggle and this blogging community of new friends have been a source of strength and comfort. Thank you seems so little to say. Like you said earlier we will keep each other lifted up in prayer and come out of our troubles stronger and more faithful.

  47. I am just now reading your post. I have been out of the blogging world for a few weeks and didn’t know. I am so very sorry for your loss. May you find strength in your memories and the family that surrounds you.

  48. May God bless you and heal your broken heart. Love & hugs,
    Sheryl

  49. brissiemaz says:

    I found your story very moving. I am so sorry for your loss…and the shocking suddenness of it.
    Time will slowly work it’s magic and dull the pain so that, eventually, with the support of your loved ones you’ll be able to focus on the wonderful times you and your husband had together and rejoice in them.

  50. gpcox says:

    No thanks required between friends. We’re all here for you.

  51. camary1996 says:

    No words will do enough from me… I send you what I do best….
    prayer….

    Heavenly Father…I can’t even imagine what this woman of God is going through….but I know what your word says what you can do for her at this time in her life. I ask you to please give her your comfort, peace mercy and grace. I know how much you love her and I know you will hug her in those special moments when her heart is hurting and lonely. I know you will keep her precious tears in a bottle and that you are full aware of her grief and have and will respond to it. Please let her know the depth of your far reaching comfort. Surround her with positive people who will be a help to her. Thank you for all you’ve done for her and her family. In Jesus name…Amen.

    Peace in the midst of my storm

    When the world that I’ve been living in collapses at my feet,
    And when my life is all tattered and torn;
    Though I’m wind-swept, I’ve been battered, I’m gonna cling unto His cross.
    I’ll find peace in the midst of the storm. (Is that alright?)

    There is peace in the midst of the storm-tossed life.
    There is an Anchor, there is a rock to build my faith upon.
    Jesus Christ is my vessel so I fear no alarm.
    He gives me peace in the midst of the storm.

    In my twenty-four short hours, years of living are brought to moments.
    When life’s final picture is taking form.
    In the dark-room of my suffering, I see a light that’s coming and it’s shining through. (You know what)
    He gives me peace in the midst of the storm.

    Now when my spirit has been broken ’til it’s masked by misery,
    When the doctor shakes his head and look forlorn, (You know what?)
    Jesus comes to make my bedside a cathedral of faith and love.
    He’ll give you peace in the midst of the storm.

    There is peace in the midst of the storm-tossed life
    There is an Anchor, there’s a rock to build my faith upon. (Hallelujah, Hallelujah)
    Jesus Christ is my vessel so I fear no alarm.
    Won’t God give you peace in the midst of the storm?
    He’ll give you peace in the midst of the storm.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you from the depths of my soul – this is beautiful both the prayer and the song. I never thought I would see any blessings through this but I have seen God through my friends ~ His Servants. God has shown me His Love through all of you.

  52. How are you all doing today Patty? Prayers still with you…

    • Patty B says:

      We are doing fine, getting through with strength and comfort from God and the wonderful friends He gave us that are praying for us. Each new day brings more blessings in our sorrow. Thank you for your prayers –

  53. Hening says:

    Dear Patty,
    So sorry about your lost. Been long time not open my blog then suddenly I want to visit yours and read this… You been helping me last year when I lost my husband. I pray for your comfort. I know what you feel know as I can feel what you feel. The pain still here in my heart even if Billy already left me for 1 year 😦 I wish I could give you hug to ease your pain. Your are in my prayer and thought

    • Patty B says:

      I have been thinking of you especially when my husband died. He died Apr 28 – we now have a bond that we did not want that of both losing a husband. Thank you for writing and for comforting me with your words. I noticed you change your blog, I look forward to getting reacquainted with you as we both travel this sad journey in our lives.God bless you and I also send you many hugs.

    • Patty B says:

      We also share a love of quilting. It is healing to create in such loss.

      • Hening says:

        Nice to hear back from you. My heart is heavy to read your message. We both have the same fate. My husband passed away on April 25, 2012. If you need someone to share your feeling, I am here for you. Even if we’re a world apart, we can communicate through email daily. I am on facebook too, you can find on on facebook with Hening Lawson id. Yes, I wrote new blog for promoting my quilt. I wanna write more on my new blog, please visit my page http://www.simply-the-best-quilt.com whenever you have time. Not much there, but I try my best to keep it updated. I still find my way around to play with this new page of mine 🙂
        I am getting stronger everyday, even if I still cry whenever I remember my husband. It’s just still hard and only time will heal our wound inside.
        Have a nice evening.
        Love and hugs

      • Patty B says:

        You are right only time will bring healing and time is all we have. Thank you for being here for me during your own grief.

  54. You have lived through my worst nightmare. My husband is my best friend. Thank you for taking the time to tell us what has happened. Thoughts and prayers and Christian love. 🙂

    • Patty B says:

      I had two fears – 1. getting diagnosed with cancer and 2. having my husband die. 12 yrs ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer and now my DH died before me. Nightmare doesn’t even come close. But I am thankful to God for giving me a Godly man who was compassionate and loving and my best friend and soul mate. It brings comfort when the tears come. Thank you for your prayers – Blessings

  55. Just to let you know you are in my thoughts. I send you love through the ether every day.There’s no need to reply . Love to you and all your family. 🙂

  56. I mourn with you my sister and pray the joy of the LORD is your strength for in His prescence is fullness of joy! Jesus is at the right hand of the Father interceding for you right now and His Holy Spirit is comforting you. Holy hugs and kisses my sister.

  57. Dilip says:

    May God give you and the children all the courage. And may the departed soul ‘Rest in Peace’.

  58. Oh no.. Patty! I have been away from my computer dealing with my own tragedies, but this is so heartbreaking. Oh my dear friend. My heart goes out to you. Even these six weeks later… know that new prayers from me are being said for you in earnest.
    May God continue to bring you peace, and may you find some comfort in your wonderful memories. I wish my tears could help you, but please know I feel for you and hope to share the burden that it may lighten for you.
    God bless and keep you.
    Love, Gina

    • Patty B says:

      Words cannot express the love I have felt from around the world. God bless you too…my prayers with you during your own tragedies as well. Its been a sad year for many of us.

  59. Thank you for the like on my poem –know?. I vowed never again to say I’m sorry to one who grieves. Words of condolences cannot reach the pain. This is a gift. No obligation of “like” or any response. That’s not what it’s about, what my writing is really about. My heart to yours, as deep calls to deep.

    http://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/07/04/bereft-poetry-reborn/

    • Patty B says:

      thank you – God has blessed me with surrounding me with many caring people – everyone’s words of comfort and love has given me strength and enabled me to move forward.

  60. amandalannon says:

    So sorry to hear of your loss Patty, I do hope, as time passes, the pain of grief is becoming easier to bear. May the Lord Bless you mightily and hold you close in all the days, weeks, months and years ahead.

Leave a Reply

