Hope

    Sunrise as we entered Boston Harbor 2012     "Sunrise ~Hope for a new day"

Sunrise as we entered Boston Harbor 2012
“Sunrise ~Hope for a new day”

When I posted my last article “Finding God In The Midst Of Our Storms”, little did I know that the city of Boston, Massachusetts and West, Texas would have endured such horrific events.  My heart ached and my hand was silent when I heard about the bombing in Boston. Shortly we heard about the two explosions in West, Texas. I felt so helpless and my heart ached as once again tragedy has rocked our world.

The technology of today allows us to see events as they happen, it makes us aware of the evil that is all around us; I do not want to know such evil exists in the hearts of men and how they can nonchalantly kill with no remorse.

Accidents will happen, but when you read of city blocks flattened it causes us to ask why? Although we do not yet know the cause of this tragedy, but chances are it was a senseless accident that caused the suffering, pain and death of innocent people.

Some days I just don’t understand and I wish I could run away and pretend bad things don’t happen and that evil is not lurking at every street corner or around every bush. But everywhere I went this week it was there, there was no hiding the awful truth that bad things do happen and evil is out there. Shutting these events and others out of my life won’t make them go away. 

Colleen from The Chatter Blog wrote on the day of the Boston Marathon, “Can we pull together our compassion for the injured? Can we pull together our shock and dismay? Can we mourn our world and what we have come to? Can we come together and repair?”

I commented on her article, “Every time I read about an attack no matter where I wonder why? Not why is God doing this but why would we do this to each other? I am at a loss for words – a young lady I know wrote this on her facebook page that helps to remember that good will overcome ~ ‘During this time we need to remember that no matter how much bad there is in this world there is always more good. Even the smallest bit of light will always overcome the darkness.’ {Brittany Wheeland.}”  Brittany reminded me that we have hope in Jesus – our Light.

It is that hope that allowed me to pray for the victims in Boston as each one will grieve and process the events in the days and weeks to come. When the news came of the explosions in Texas, it was hope again that brought me to my knees in prayer for this disaster and all those whose lives will be forever altered.  Jesus Christ is our light when our world turns dark and He offers us  hope that will deliver us from our fears as He becomes our stronghold in times of trouble (Psalm 9:9-10)

Colleen reminded me We have to cry, be angry, and rebuild for all of them. I think part of ‘our’ sadness, is feeling so helpless and uncertain of how to help.”  I was then able to cry for them, I was able to get angry at the hatred that is in men’s souls that could cause such sorrow and I was able to ask  God how could He allow the attack in Boston and the disaster in Texas to happen.  As Jesus held me I cried out, “Lord, I am so tired of all the hatred, the killing, and the sorrow”. He did not answer me in words; He answered me with His Presence and the silent word of “Hope”. Hope will pull us together as the world mourns and as we come together to restore the innocence that was lost. 

Let us put aside our differences and walk together in the love of Jesus that restores hope and unites us in peace.  We may not be able to stop man-made disasters but we can rebuild; we cannot change a person’s heart but we can put a stop to hate as we become the beacon of the light of Jesus and reach out to others in love.

Now is the time to cling to Jesus, hold on tightly and never let go as we move forward and help rebuild the lives of those whose lives have been shattered. 

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Hope

  1. It is hard to think of the light that will overcome when young men we have sheltered and given our hearts and homeland to could walk up behind a child and detonate a bomb. But perhaps that is what the world needs to see in order to stop the madness. Whatever their cause was, has been belittled in the face of such murder. The light will come, it just may take us a while to see it. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Some days it is difficult to see the Light, but He is always there even when we don’t see Him. Thank you for your comment – I pray that soon we all see the light and this “madness” ends. I will never understand.

      Like

  2. Beautiful Patty. Hate may try to tear us apart and tear us down. Love is always going to rebuild. Thank you.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      So true – we can do all things in love. your post today was very thought provoking. After I posted a comment I got to thinking that no matter what the state department decides, this young mans ultimate fate rests with God.

      Like

  3. So true Patty. I was quite struck by this and can so relate: Some days I just don’t understand and I wish I could run away and pretend bad things don’t happen and that evil is not lurking at every street corner or around every bush.Your post reminded me of this quote: “Although the world is full of suffering, it is also full of the overcoming of it.” -Helen Keller

    Like

  4. Planting Potatoes says:

    now is the time indeed! God bless!

    Like

  5. Sheryl says:

    It is so hard to understand why things like this happen. Thank you for the very thoughtful post.

    Like

  6. Mustang.Koji says:

    Your heart’s deep concern for mankind translated into beautiful words shows us the compassionate and sensible person you are. I do doubt we will fully and truly find out what happened at either US tragedy but your overall thrust is pure and good. Thank you.

    Like

  7. Your words express so much of what so many I think are feeling right now. Helpless to stop senseless acts of violence and yet knowing that we have God to go to and cry out to and realize that His heart is breaking too. We must share His love in the hope it does and will make a difference….Diane

    Like

  8. Beautiful, beautiful words of encouragement. Let us start today by walking in love…Amen.

    Like

  9. marcusampe says:

    God has nothing to do with the problems in the world. It are human beings who bring forth many terrible things and are also mostly themselves responsible for nature disasters like mudslides. Those who teach that catastrophes are a penalty of God are giving false witness and terrifying people.
    God is a God of love, whom we may fear but whom we must trust.

    In your writing you give the impression to have mixed up two persons, on the one hand the Spirit and only One God Jehovah, and on the other hand His son Jeshua (Jesus Christ) who is the son of Adam and son of Abraham, a real man of flesh and blood who offered himself as a Lamb of God, as a ransom for all our sins.

    God allows things to happen because it was man himself who doubted the position of God. This happened in the Garden of Eden. There the first humans questioned the right of God to rule the world and to be Master of everything, though God had given them mastership over nature (plants and animals) around them. for them it was not sufficient so they became adverse against God (= sinned).

    Now man can rule the world and proof if they can make something of it, which they can not.

    Because Jesus is now the mediator between God and man, you can cling on to him, but it is even better to go straight ahead to his Father, who is also our Father in heaven. In God we should trust and put our hope.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      But doesn’t Jesus tell us in John 14 “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me…..” and to know Him we will know His Father. By uniting our lives with Jesus we are uniting our lives to God, our Father who we also put our trust and our hope.

      Like

      • marcusampe says:

        Jesus is thé Way to get to know God the Father, but that does not mean the way to get to know a son who would be at the same time Father. Jesus being born in a special way, because implanted in the womb of the virgin Miriam (Mary/Maria), who later married Joseph, who together brought up Jesus and his brothers and sisters according to the Torah. Jesus having part of the DNA of the God Creator got to know his Father very well, through the teachings of the Torah. Being lower than the angels at first (remember that god is the Most High of them all), in the lineage of king David, he knew not only the Scriptures of the prophets, he himself was been chosen by his heavenly Father to be a prophet and master teacher. Being inspired by the Holy Spirit (the Force of God) he taught people about the Creator and explained the previous teachings of the Men of God. Jesus offered himself up for all sinners and by doing that he is the person who gives everybody the possibility to have life, but that does not make him the God.

        Like you rightly say, by uniting our lives with Jesus we are uniting our lives to God, our Father who we also put our trust and our hope. But Jesus stays the son of God about whom is written:

        “so, the lord himself shall give you a sign. behold, the virgin will conceive and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Immanuel.” (Isaiah 7:14 MKJV)

        “but when the fullness of the time came, god sent forth his son, coming into being out of a woman, having come under law,” (Galatians 4:4 MKJV)

        “30 and the angel said to her, do not fear, Mary, for you have found favor with god. 31 and behold! you shall conceive in [your] womb and bear a son, and you shall call his name JESUS. 32 he shall be great and shall be called the son of [the] highest. and the lord god shall give him the throne of his father David. 33 and he shall reign over the house of Jacob forever, and of his kingdom there shall be no end. 34 then Mary said to the angel, how shall this be, since I do not know a man? 35 and the angel answered and said to her, the holy spirit shall come on you, and [the] power of [the] highest shall overshadow you. therefore also that holy [one] which will be born of you shall be called son of god.” (Luke 1:30-35 MKJV)

        “21 and it happened in the baptizing of all the people, jesus also being baptized, and praying, and the heaven was opened. 22 and the holy spirit came down in a bodily shape, like a dove on him. and a voice came from heaven, which said, you are my son, the beloved; I am delighted in you. 23 and jesus himself was beginning to be about thirty years of age, being (as was supposed) son of Joseph, [son of] of Heli,” (Luke 3:21-23 MKJV)

        “25 the woman said to him, I know that Messiah is coming, who is called christ. when he has come, he will tell us all things. 26 jesus said to her, I AM, the [one] speaking to you.” (John 4:25-26 MKJV)

        “but we see jesus, who [was] made a little lower than the angels for the suffering of death, crowned with glory and honor, that he by [the] grace of god should taste death for all.” (Hebrews 2:9 MKJV)

        “then jesus answered and said to them, truly, truly, I say to you, the son can do nothing of himself but what he sees the father do. for whatever things he does, these also the son does likewise.” (John 5:19 MKJV)

        “you have heard how I said to you, I go away and I am coming to you [again]. if you loved me, you would rejoice because I said, I go to the father, for my father is greater than I.” (John 14:28 MKJV)

        “but I would have you know that the head of every man is christ; and the head of the woman [is] the man; and the head of christ [is] god.” (1 Corinthians 11:3 MKJV)

        “but when all things are subjected to him, then the son himself also will be subject to him who has subjected all things to him, so that god may be all things in all.” (1 Corinthians 15:28 MKJV)

        “Pilate then said to him, are you a king then? jesus answered, you say [it] that I am a king. to this [end] I was born, and for this cause I came into the world, that I should bear witness to the truth. everyone who is of the truth hears my voice.” (John 18:37 MKJV)

        “1 then the scribes and Pharisees who were from Jerusalem came to jesus, saying, 2 why do your disciples transgress the tradition of the elders? for they do not wash their hands when they eat bread. 3 but he answered and said to them, why do you also transgress the commandment of god by your tradition? 4 for god commanded, saying, “honor your father and mother”; and, “he who speaks evil of father or mother, let him die by death. 5 but you say, whoever says to [his] father or mother, whatever you would gain from me, [it is] a gift to god; 6 and in no way he honors his father or his mother. and you voided the commandment of god by your tradition. 7 hypocrites! well did Isaiah prophesy of you, saying, 8 this people draws near to me with their mouth, and honors me with [their] lips, but their heart is far from me. 9 but in vain they worship me, teaching [for] doctrines [the] commandments of men.” (Matthew 15:1-9 MKJV)

        “and there is salvation in no other one; for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.” (Acts 4:12 MKJV)

        “all the prophets give witness to him, [that] through his name whoever believes in him [shall] receive remission of sins.” (Acts 10:43 MKJV)

        “how god anointed jesus of Nazareth with [the] holy spirit and with power, and he went about doing good, and healing all those who were oppressed by the devil, for god was with him.” (Acts 10:38 MKJV)

        “40 but god raised him up the third day and showed him openly, 41 not to all the people, but to witnesses hand-picked before by god, [even] to us who ate and drank with him after he rose from [the] dead.” (Acts 10:40-41 MKJV)

        “who is at [the] right [hand] of god, having gone into heaven, where [the] angels and authorities and powers are being subjected to him.” (1 Peter 3:22 MKJV)

        “20 which he worked [in] christ in raising him from [the] dead, and he seated [him] at his right hand in the heavenlies, 21 far above all principality and authority and power and dominion, and every name being named, not only in this world, but also in the coming age. 22 and he has put all [things] under his feet and gave him [to be] head over all [things] to the church,” (Ephesians 1:20-22 MKJV)

        “therefore god has highly exalted him, and has given him a name [which is] above every name,” (Philippians 2:9 MKJV)

        Jesus is now the mediator between God and man, which means that he can come up for us and defend us. He is also allowed to judge the living and the dead, as such he shall also decide if a person shall be able to live in the Kingdom of God (his Father) or not. On one side there is the Only One God, and on the other hand is the other person, who is the son of God, the son of Adam and at the same time the 2° Adam, the beginning of the new humanity, the people for the Kingdom of God.

        God can not be seen by man or they would die. Many saw Jesus and did not die because he is not the eternal God who never can be tempted nor die. Jesus was many times tempted and really died. We should recognise what he really did and have respect for the works he has done in the name of his Father, who is the only One God to whom Jesus himself also prayed and believed in. Jesus also asked his followers not to adore him but to praise his Father to whom we also should pray like Jesus did and taught us to pray. We never may forget the first commandment to love only the One God.

        “37 jesus said to him, you shall love the lord your god with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind. 38 this is the first and great commandment. 39 and the second [is] like it, you shall love your neighbor as yourself. 40 on these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.” (Matthew 22:37-40 MKJV)

        “for god did not send his son into the world to condemn the world, but so that the world might be saved through him.” (John 3:17 MKJV)

        “he who believes on the son has everlasting life, and he who does not believe the son shall not see life, but the wrath of god abides upon him.” (John 3:36 MKJV)

        “I [am] Jehovah; that [is] my name; and my glory I will not give to another, nor my praise to graven images.” (Isaiah 42:8 MKJV)

        “2 and god spoke to Moses, and said to him, I am Jehovah. 3 and I appeared to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob [as] god Almighty. but I was not known to them [by] the name JEHOVAH.” (Exodus 6:2-3 MKJV)

        “so that [men] may know that your name is JEHOVAH, that you alone [are] the most high over all the earth.” (Psalms 83:18 MKJV)

        “no one has seen god at any time; the only-begotten son, who is in the bosom of the father, he has declared [him].” (John 1:18 MKJV)

        “and he said, you cannot see my face. for there no man can see me and live.” (Exodus 33:20 MKJV)

        “now to the king eternal, immortal, invisible, [the] only wise god, [be] honor and glory forever and ever. amen.” (1 Timothy 1:17 MKJV)

        “for christ has not entered into the [holy of] Holies made with hands, [which are] the figures of the true, but into heaven itself, now to appear in the presence of god for us.” (Hebrews 9:24 MKJV)

        “and call no one your father on the earth, for one is your father in heaven.” (Matthew 23:9 MKJV)

        “and he who shall swear by heaven swears by the throne of god, and by him who sits on it.” (Matthew 23:22 MKJV)

        “jesus said to her, do not touch me, for I have not yet ascended to my father. but go to my brothers and say to them, I ascend to my father and your father, and [to] my god and your god.” (John 20:17 MKJV)

        “for I have not spoken of myself, but [the] father who sent me gave me a command, what I should say, and what I should speak.” (John 12:49 MKJV)

        “and [that] every tongue should confess that jesus christ [is] lord, to [the] glory of god [the] father.” (Philippians 2:11 MKJV)

        “for as in Adam all die, even so in christ all will be made alive.” (1 Corinthians 15:22 MKJV)

        “for god [is] one, and [there is] one mediator of god and of men, [the] man christ jesus,” (1 Timothy 2:5 MKJV)

        “but now he has obtained a more excellent ministry, by so much he is also the mediator of a better covenant, which was built upon better promises.” (Hebrews 8:6 MKJV)

        “and to jesus the mediator of the new covenant, and to blood of sprinkling that speaks better things than [that of] Abel.” (Hebrews 12:24 MKJV)

        Like

      • Patty B says:

        Your comment really got me thinking last night – and meditation on His Word. I have so much to learn, God is creating in me a changed heart indeed one that is growing and maturing in Faith and understanding. Thank you!

        Like

  10. marcusampe says:

    At the right hand side you yourself quote: Isaiah 40:31: “”Those that hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” and write “Put God in the center and everything will come together.” Therefore respect what Jesus has done for you and follow his teachings by keeping to only One God, the Father of Jesus: Jehovah.

    Like

  11. optimisticgladness says:

    So true! One person told me , “There are good people, no matter where you are.” I guess the same is true for the evil people. But……God always has a remnant and, just like you said, good will over come evil. Thanks Patty for making a difference! Hugs

    Like

  12. Jonan says:

    “Arise, Jerusalem! Let your light shine for all to see. For the glory of the LORD rises to shine on you. Isaiah 60:1

    Like

Leave a Reply

