The Sun

Sun in winter slumber

Fills each day with gentle melancholy,

Soon awakens to Springs call

Bringing new life to freshen weary souls.

Where have you been hiding?

We have been waiting and watching

for your bright glow to cast out

the shadows of winter.

Welcome Back!

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to The Sun

  1. That’s a very peaceful post – and I love the tulip background πŸ™‚

  2. Amen! Welcome Spring and Summer; bye bye Winter. πŸ™‚

  3. We’re on the cusp of winter here, I’ll miss the sun that is so dear, although in fact we need the rain, I’ll be pining for the warmth again! πŸ™‚

    • Patty B says:

      But you get to enjoy the beauty of autumn! When our temperatures are 100 degrees and humid I will be pining for the colder weather of winter! lol

  4. I. Am. So. Ready. For. Spring.

  5. Patty B says:

    I told Tom to put the salt and shovels away – I am being optimistic! When does spring usually arrive for you?

  6. Mustang.Koji says:

    I still marvel at the extremes of your four seasons… πŸ™‚

    • Patty B says:

      I hope you can visit the east coast some time. Although I love PA I think the New England states have the best seasons, even after all my complaining of the snow and cold here!

  7. utesmile says:

    I love your background wiht the tulips, also lovely pictures!

  8. lifeofaministermom says:

    Yaaay for spring!! πŸ™‚

  9. Sheryl says:

    The words and pictures are lovely. As a native central Pennsylvanian–who no longer lives in the area–they really help me remember the beauty of April in PA.

    • Patty B says:

      One reason I adopted PA as my home state, it is my favorite. But then we are blessed here in America aren’t we, each state is beautiful in their own way.

  10. Seeing your pictures, the following lines cam to my mind.

    “What is this life if, full of care,
    We have no time to stand and stare.”

    From Leisure by William Henry Davies

    We need to be mindful of the present to notice the myriad and fascinating nuances of Nature on display around us, come winter, come spring.

    Shakti

  11. Dilip says:

    Lovely words and beautiful photos! Very Calming.
    Thank you.

  12. Hello, Patty. I decided I must be missing your beautiful posts so I changed your blogs over from my reader to e-mail this evening. I’ve been missing you and my dose of devotions I often find on your blog. I love the photos you’ve posted above and the ever so thoughtful words you’ve selected to go with them.

  13. The only time I’ve been back east since we moved to California (1961) was back in late February 2003. The worst snow storm in 100 years was coming to an end when we landed for our U.S. History tour. I’ll never forget the beauty of snow on leafless trees, the white blanket on the White House lawn, and what it really means to be cold! I want to get back there to experience autumn. One of these days …

  14. Beautiful! We need to bring Spring into our hearts and lives. Happiness is within reach.

Leave a Reply

