Preparation

bibleThe Lenten Season is coming to a close as we prepare to celebrate Palm Sunday or Passion Sunday as some call it, celebrating Jesus’ triumphant entry into Jerusalem.  Unknown to His Disciples and to the crowds that cheered Him with palms, this would be His final week on earth and the beginning of His journey to the cross and His victorious entry into the kingdom of God.

During Lent we prepare ourselves through prayer, sacrifice and self-denial for this solemn celebration. It is a time to be still and reflect on the life of Jesus and His Sacrifice.

This Lenten season was not what I had prepared for, but it was through the unexpected  that prepared me to not only be more aware of the sacrifice of Jesus, but it allowed me to grow deeper in my faith and to be filled with the peace of His Holy Spirit.  It was a time spent in God’s Presence and His Word, and it was a time spent teaching me the importance of being still and quiet.

One of the things we can do to prepare ourselves is to give up something that is important to us is that is keeping us separated from God.  It is a way for us to deepen our faith and understanding in God through our praise, prayers, and worship.  And what better way than to sacrifice something we enjoy so that we can spend time with our Lord.

Nearly 40 days ago I gave up computer games.  I know it may sound silly but my vice is solitaire games. I can sit for hours with my cup of tea and play all the solitaire games Windows has to offer especially when I am stressed or when I am sick.

When I first decided to give up solitaire I knew I would have my moments of temptations, so I had prepared my time wisely in anticipation to get me through them.  And then I got sick, not once but three times and of course the best time to play is when I am recuperating.  My fingers were itching to play and I almost succumbed to temptation, but not being able to lift my head most of the time was my cure for not giving in to temptation.

As most of you know, I inadvertently gave up my bible study due to the virus’s I had. So this year I sacrificed two things that were keeping me apart from God, to prepare my heart for Holy Week.

Jesus came to wash away our sins and our impurities and He did just that with my illness’. Jesus cleansed me of my dependence on solitaire games when I should have been going to Him in prayer and silence. He also cleansed me from being too rigid in my bible study since I was becoming more concerned with finding the right Bible study than I was on being in His Word.

Now cleansed, I am ready to prepare my heart for Holy Week and to be restored to Jesus Christ.

Are you prepared? It is not too late to prepare your heart to receive Jesus. All you need to do is welcome Him. 

“I turned to the Lord God … in prayer and petition, in fasting, and in sackcloth and ashes.” Daniel 9:3

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Preparation

  1. bobcomeans says:

    Great message thank you

    Like

  2. terry1954 says:

    this was a very beautiful post……………

    Like

  3. I’m glad that you’ve had a time of reflection Patty.. My time during Lent …while I wanted it to be ‘quiet and reflective’ turned out instead it seems to a time of turmoil …’Things….issues…and sadness came into being. In spite or because of this though it did draw me closer to God looking to Him for answers and peace. I am ever mindful of what this time is leading up to and have tried to keep the meaning foremost within me…I really did during this time feel ‘under attack’ to diminish my beliefs….but the Lord is more powerful and has been through this time with me revealing some things I need to acknowledge about myself…so I guess the ‘reflection’ still came about….Diane

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Isn’t it amazing how God meets us where we are. I am sorry that you are going through such a difficult time. My prayer is that you continue to feel God’s presence all around you. Hugs…

      Like

Leave a Reply

