God’s Light

"Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path"  Psalm 119:105

“Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path” Psalm 119:105

I had chosen a bible study for Lent and as I was preparing to begin, I got sick for a second time with the virus that is going around like wildfire.   All the best thought out plans are made with the best intentions ~ fate indeed had other plans for me.

Thankfully God also had other plans for me.  Never doubt the power of God.  Illness is a part of being human and is one of our weaknesses.  God used that most human weakness of illness to bring me closer to Him.

“God said, My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.”  {2 Corinthians 12:9, NIV}

This past month I was dealt with illnesses that reminded me not only of my weakness but of my limitations. But it did not keep me down; what it did was lift me up and allowed me to fix my eyes on Jesus Christ, His Grace was all I needed.  The weaker I became physically, the stronger I found myself spiritually.

I did not have God’s written Word in front of me, I was too weary to read.  I had something better.  I found out I had God’s Word stamped on my heart.  I would have never thought that I would have had to give up God’s written Word during Lent to experience the presence of Jesus.

Most of my life I have read or studied the bible.  I have tried to memorize scripture but never succeeded.  I did not realize that through all these years, I had been busy planting the seeds of  God’s Word upon my heart and in the process becoming spiritually strong.

While I needed rest to give my body time to heal from the assault I took from the virus, the verse  “Be still, and know that I am God” Psalm 46:10 
reminded me that there is a time for everything and this was the time to be still and to rest.

When I had no strength left in me to even sit up, I remembered, “…but those who hope in the Lord, will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah  40:31  and I found a renewed strength in hope.

And when I started this post I thought how God’s Word was like a lamp that lit my way through many trials and illnesses, now and in years past. “Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.” Psalm 119:105  The Light of God’s Word is found in Jesus Christ that brings a physical healing and a spiritual healing as Jesus leads us into a new life with God our Heavenly Father.

During this season of renewal, my plan was to meet God in the solitude of the morning instead God met me where I was, in bed, worn out and so exhausted, reminding me yet again that Jesus will not only bring healing to our ailing bodies but He will deliver us from our sins and lead us into the gates of heaven.

Keeping the Word of God in my heart offered me strength, hope and healing during one of my weaker moments.  Without my weakness I would have never known how strong my faith in God’s written Word grew from the seeds that were planted daily in my heart for 50 years.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to God’s Light

  1. your faith is inspiring…hope you feel better soon. ❤

  2. Kerri says:

    Sending good wishes your way. Thank you for sharing, you’re an inspiration.

  3. Beautiful post, Patty, and I agree with the other commenters…you are an inspiration!

  4. terry1954 says:

    I am so guilty of memorizing scriptures. I just don’t seem to be able to do it except for the very usual and common ones such as John 3-16 etc. I would rather live my life showing others how God works through me then memorize. Great post Patty!

    • Patty B says:

      I never looked at that way…that is a good point. Not all of us are good at memorizing. Thank you for reminding all of us there are many ways different to show God’s love. Blessings!

  5. Times of weakness bring forth the “tried and true” lessons from the heart. Thanking the Lord for your sharing some of yours with us, as we all need to see the real things. Hugs, Patty. 🙂

  6. Beautiful thoughts and all so true. Hiding God’s Word in our hearts. I do have a Scripture memory goal this year: the first 18 verses of the Book of John. It’s a powerful passage, and my pastor is preaching through the book for the rest of the year. But the majority of the verses I can recite come from the way you’ve described it here — through regular reading and studying of the Bible.

  7. Sheryl says:

    You have such a wonderful attitude and perspective. I hope you are feeling better soon.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – I appreciate your comment and yes I thank God I am finally on the mend! Beautiful sunny day today and it felt like spring, I even saw some crocus’s.

  8. optimisticgladness says:

    This is so encouraging. I love that you tried your very best, and God met you where you were. Love that.

  9. I love how you brought us back to this beautiful verse in Isaiah!

  10. I’m so sorry that you’ve had such a bout… I find also that even though I haven’t specifically memorized a lot of scripture, I guess I’ve read it enough that it does go into my heart and mind.

    I haven’t been sick like you but very tired for lack of proper sleep which I’m trying to do something about…but only saying that because I too was conscious of the fact it was Lent..a time maybe to reflect and acknowledge God more….and it crossed my mind that there have been other ‘Lenten’ times where this has happened to me also.. I almost feel for myself that ‘the enemy that seeks to search and destroy’ (not sure if I have the words right) ….but it made me wonder if this happens to other Christians as well…Just a random thought …It doesn’t work anyway because His words are in our heart always ….Diane

    • Patty B says:

      I am sure it does, since I started volunteering as a class administrator at my bible study I have been hit by the enemy as well. Now I have a headache that has lasted two days so far…but with the Lord on my side I can do anything! It is amazing how His Word strengthens us. I will be praying for you to get some proper sleep. Blessings –

  11. mithriluna says:

    Beautiful post! God speaks to us all the time. We just have to be listening. Praying that God heals you completely.

  12. Thank you for bringing His word to me today, through you.

  13. I hope you are mending well, Patty. ‘God met me where I was’ is so comforting and true.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  14. So sorry for all you have been going thru but so grateful for God’s light shining through you. Blessings to you!

  15. Denise Hisey says:

    That’s so encouraging Patty! I’ve been dealing with a herniated disk in my neck for several weeks and I am terrible about ‘being still’ which is exactly what I’m supposed to do.
    I will keep this post close to my heart as I struggle to make myself rest -and remember I can use this time to study His word.

    • Patty B says:

      Bless your heart – I will keep you in my prayers. Being still is not as easy as it sounds. God will turn even this circumstance into molding you into the image of Christ. Hugs…

  16. Thank you for the bit of inspiration and reminding me that I don’t need to be in the wilderness (my favorite place for meeting with him) to be with God, he will find me wherever I am. Hope you feel better soon.

  17. Pingback: Best Moment Award | Jubilee Journey

  18. I am nominating this post for the Best Moment Award. Here is the link: http://jubileejourney.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/best-moment-award/

Leave a Reply

