Bloggers for Peace

forpeace6A while back I signed up to be involved in Bloggers for Peace.

The purpose for Bloggers for Peace is to put forth an “effort to actively do something to create more peace in the world in 2013″.  One of the requirements is to devote at least one post a month to/for/about peace. And that is my plan, to actively do something for what I believe in.

Please click on the link above to see how you too can be involved.

Peace is something we all strive for and in a perfect world we would have peace, but we do not live in a perfect world, but that should not stop us for striving to live in one.  I believe in my heart that we can achieve peace in our lifetime through our Lord Jesus who commands us to love our neighbors as we love ourselves. With the power of the Holy Spirit among us, each of us in our own way can achieve peace. 

And by being a part of Bloggers for Peace, I can do my small part.  It was put upon my heart to join this cause from two people who mean the most to me, my father and my mother. Two people who suffered all their lives because war.

My mother was born and raised in war-torn Germany.  She saw first hand what happens when  anger and hatred was allowed to run rampant.  She carried with her the horrors of wars her whole life.  She always told me that “hatred begins from fear and ignorance and it is that fear and ignorance that causes wars”. 

My father survived the depression by helping his mother by dropping out of school at a very young age to get a job to support his family, only to be thrown into the horrors of World War II from the air field of Hickam Field on Dec 7, 1941 to the beaches of France, the forests of Belgium to the unspeakable horrors of a concentration camp.  My father was a man of peace and I will never fully understand the scars he brought home with him.

Will we ever learn that war is not the answer but the problem? Through this project I hope to do my part no  matter how small to make peace the answer.

It is a commitment to join this cause and I would appreciate your prayers that the Holy Spirit guide my fingers on the computer key board to use my words to inspire peace.

When we feel alone and if it seems as if we are not making a difference ~ remember that beautiful song, “Peace, Let It Begin With Me”.

peace-banner-bloggers4peace

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bloggers for Peace, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Bloggers for Peace

  1. terry1954 says:

    you wonder why war is the first place we head to when both sides don’t agree. War has never brought a true peace. many lives are lost and if the war goes on long enough we often forget what the war was started over

  2. Sheryl says:

    I graduated from high school at the end of the Viet Nam War. I think that our class sang “Peace, Let It Begin with Me” at our graduation. It might have been our class song, but I can’t remember for sure.

  3. Lori Lara says:

    Your mom and dad’s stories really touched me. They’ve obviously passed along their depth to you. I’m so glad you’ll be taking part in the bloggers for peace. I pray for inspiration and guidance as you listen to the Lord’s promptings. You’ve already begun by posting this very touching post about your parents. Love to you, Lori

  4. Thank you Patty. I pray for His guidance for you and your desire to help us all. I agree with you that peace can be achieved. And I believe it has to start on a small scale and grow large.

  5. bobcomeans says:

    Thank you for sharing about your parents as well. It was difficult to read of thier sufferings. I don’t feel capable to imagining what they experienced. I’m headed to the Peace link now.

  6. Karen says:

    Bless you Patty on this journey of peace in 2013. It’s, ironically enough, a huge battle to fight! May God strengthen your arms and fingers to do so!! 🙂

  7. Your experiences here and those of your parents bring tears to my eyes. Such terrible things people have had to live through. Such unspeakable horrors. . . such waste of life. Ah, but God knows, He knows all about it. And one day will make it right. Oh yes, He will Shalom

  8. Kozo says:

    Thank you for all you are doing for peace, Patty. Your parents sound like amazing people who have been through some of the darkest times. I am grateful for all they did for peace. We owe it to them to do all we can to make peace a reality. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  9. And let it begin with me…indeed ♥

  10. The horrors of WW2 are remembered by some of us who had family that were in the middle of it, And there were films of it when I was growing up. Today there are other wars .. maybe we’re not in the middle of them but our troops are… Something that kind of bothers me is all the Xbox and other virtual games that seem to make war somehow seem like that…a game ….instead of what it is…Diane

  11. Thank you for sharing your parents’ stories with us, Patty. No one who has seen it or lived through it can possibly understand the horror of war. But people need to understand and hear those stories, so we don’t keep playing ‘cowboy’ or ‘soldier’ and keep sending other parents’ children off to fight and die.

    • Patty B says:

      As a mom to a solider I agree. I was raised in the Army, we come from a long line of soldiers. I think that cycle will end with my son. He is a firm believer the way to peace is through education not arms. Now to get the rest of the world believing that!

  12. asha says:

    Very inspiring words Patty. I agree, violence is never a solution to any problem and each one of us has a role to play, starting from our own inner self, to family and neighborhood…As it is rightly said, every drop in the ocean counts.

  13. Hi! Yours is one of the selected blogs I enjoy reading, though I follow ten thousand other blogs :). And so, I am nominating you for the Inner Peace Award and the Sunshine Award. If you accept it, it will give me great joy and if you don’t, then I am gonna haunt you in your dreams :D.
    Cheers!
    http://refreshinglyrandom.wordpress.com/2013/12/03/red-carpet/

    • Patty B says:

      I would want you to haunt me in my dreams so I accept!! LOL Seriously thank you very much. I will formally accept your award soon with others I have put on the back burner. My life is getting sorted out and I want to thank all of you for thinking of me. It truly means alot – so thank you again and God bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

