This was written by a dear friend of mine. Some days I too need to feel the arms of Jesus around me. It is then that I realize how blessed we are to have a friend in Jesus to carry our burdens and lift us up when we are weary. Blessings – Patty

Blessings From Gods Word

Matthew 11:28-29Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

As I was in church recently, an overwhelming weariness came over me. I felt really alone and distant from what was going on around me and my emotions seemed to rise to the surface. What had come over me? Was I feeling sorry for myself or was God trying to get my attention?

I am sure I am not alone when I say the holidays are particularly difficult for me. I have very little family left and those that are left do not share in my faith. The holidays can be a very lonely, discouraging time. 

Then, just a few days after Christmas I took my…

View original post 527 more words

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. Patty (and your dear friend),

    I’ve had the letters and other materials my blog is based on for about 10 years. I knew when I first saw them that I wanted to share the stories and lessons with the world. It wasn’t until this past September that I actually started to blog.

    Patty, you decided to re-blog a post from a dear friend, I decided to read it, and as I was leaving the site, my eyes caught the verse in the upper right corner from Jeremiah.

    Earlier this evening, a friend who is a tech wizard, called and as we talked, he offered to be my producer for all that I want to do.

    Jeremiah was the confirmation that I wanted that this is truly the direction I’m supposed to go in.

    Thank you Patty and your friend for being God’s hands for me, today.
    I’ll leave you with a blessing I read just before your post:

    May the sun
    bring you new energy by day

    May the moon
    softly restore you by night

    May the rain
    wash away your worries

    May the breeze
    blow new strength
    into your being

    May you walk
    gently through the world
    and know its beauty
    all the days of your life.
    ~Apache blessing

    Like

    • Wow! God is amazing – as Kathy Troccoli would say – you were kissed by God. I will let my friend know how that verse encouraged you. Thank you for that beautiful Apache blessing I am going to keep it handy to remind me of your faithfulness in our Lord. God bless you!

      Like

  2. Patty – I’ve passed on the ‘Reality Award’ to you. I couldn’t help myself. You face various realities on your blog with each and every post. You’ll find the link at http://sheridegrom.wordpress.com/2013/2/06 /reality-award.

    Like

  3. optimisticgladness says:

    Thank you for re-blogging this. It is just lovely.

    Like

  4. Thanks for today’s encouragement. When I was at my low, these words uplifts my spirit, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

