Service

050709cleanLord of all pots and pans and things
Since I’ve no time to be
A saint by doing lovely things,
Or watching late with You,
Or dreaming in the dawnlight,
Or storming heaven’s gates,
Make me  a saint by getting meals,
And washing up the plates.
 
Although I must have Martha’s hand,
I have a Mary mind;
And when I black the boots and shoes,
Your sandals, Lord, I find,
I think of how they trod the earth,
Each time I scrub the floor;
Accept this meditation, Lord,
I haven’t time for more.
 
Warm all the kitchen with Your Love,
And light it with Your peace,
Forgive me all my worrying,
And make all grumbling cease.
You who love to give me food,
In room or by sea,
Accept this service that I do ~
I do it unto Thee.”   
                    Author Unknown
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Service

  1. russtowne says:

    As I read your post I thought of all those who work behind the scenes doing such work in homes, hotels, businesses, restaurants, etc. They are truly in service.

    Russ

    Like

  2. Sheryl says:

    The poem is lovely–and I also enjoyed the illustration. It brings back memories of illustrations in magazines when I was a child.

    Like

  3. Alice says:

    Martha’s hand and Mary’s mind–yep.

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. Lovely. And I bet He loves it too. 😉

    Like

  6. It’s a wonderful example of having to be so busy..but still acknowledging God all the while…Diane

    Like

  7. Faithrises says:

    Congratulations!!! I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award. You can read more about it @ hhtp://faithrises.com

    Like

  8. southernheart1 says:

    A good reminder that in all we do, do it ‘as unto the Lord’. Blessings! ~ Marsha

    Like

  9. This is a wonderful poem. In my mother’s notebook of Sunday School Lessons, she has this poem, but hers, like yours, doesn’t list a specific author. My mother always said that some of the truest services for others came in the form of a delicious meal, a comfortable place to rest, and listening ears so they knew they were being heard.

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      There are many opportunities to serve others with God’s goodness. We had a pastor who was always saying that we should serve the Lord by showing His love in practical ways.

      Like

Leave a Reply

