The Real Jane Austin

I have recently finished Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin and was ready to write a review when Karen from All The Worlds A Stage wrote a nice review on the book “The Real Jane Austin”. Last year my goal to was to start to read the classics and so far my favorite has been Jane Austin. I have not read this book yet, but from other Jane Austen fans I know it is a must read. If you are not familiar with Jane, this sounds like a nice introduction into who Jane Austin was. So if you have never read Jane Austin and would like to read something new I would highly recommend any of her books or “The Real Jane Austin”. My favorite titles are Pride and Prejudice & Sense and Sensibility. Happy Reading!

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Real Jane Austin

  1. Denise Hisey says:

    Eh…I must admit I’ve never read either one! I know, I know! I’ll add them to my ever expanding list of “to-read”. I’ve got so many books to read now, I’ll never run out even if I live to be 100!

  2. Thanks for some suggestions of books to read as I just got an ereader for Christmas …and am looking for books…Diane

  3. margaret21 says:

    Yes, I’m a real Jane Austen fan, and have been since I was about 15. I think this year will provide lots of reminders to re-visit old favourites. I hope so.

  4. I’m a dufus! I read “your” blog forgetting I clicked on the ‘read more’ which took me to the other blog and I signed it “JAN” and “Dont tell Greg!” and “I crack me up” after my comment about Jane Austen thinking I was still on your blog. Criminy. She probably wonders whats wrong with me!!!!

  5. Yes, this is an amazing literature read….but then if it has pages…I am hookedβ™₯

  6. The conversation above is great fun! I love my ipad reader for journeys but I love my real books with paper pages too. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my all time favourites. πŸ™‚

  7. Faithrises says:

    Thanks for posting this! I love Jane Austen! πŸ™‚

  8. Two of my favorite books πŸ™‚

  9. sf says:

    I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been recently reading children’s classics with pictures, but once I had opened up Jane Austin’s Emma (my first book to read by her), I was clueless. I couldn’t understand the language and was lost in its scenes. With Sherlock Holmes being my ultimate favorite British type ‘o talk I enjoy. So I was a bit disappointed with it. I think the other Jane Austin book that I had gotten at my library’s books sale was Sense & Sensibility. I’ll see if it flows a bit better for me or not. But yep, I hear Pride & Prejudice is a huge fav for many. It’s the most read eBook on the Gutenberg Project Web site, in fact. If Sense & Sensibility is a readable one for me, then I’ll check out P&P also. But if not, then argh. I’ve been trying to get myself to reading classics, cuz I haven’t read many of ’em, such as Treasure Island, Anne of Green Gables, and the like.

    • Patty B says:

      Truth be told, I read Sense and Sensibility first and although I liked the story line I too had trouble following the language so I bought the movie and after watching it, I was able to be put in the right mindset to understand it. I did read Pride and Prejudice too, but Sense and Sensibility is still my favorite. I think you will really enjoy Anne of Green Gables, that is still one of my all time favorite books and movies.

Leave a Reply

