My Brief Interval Of Rest

Rickets Glen

After a nice break from work, only working 3 days from December 24 until January 2 I find it difficult to get back into a normal routine.

I wish I could tell you that I did something worthwhile such as write the great American novel or had a revelation from God.  I was not even productive.  The goal to clean my house from top to bottom and create the perfect home that would even make Martha Stewart jealous was quickly forgotten.

What I did do was rest.  I experienced a respite in body and soul.

When Jesus rested, He took time away from the crowds and His disciples to pray, relax and I am sure to recover from His strenuous ministry. He also took time to prepare Himself for what He was called to do. Resting or taking a break or enjoying a respite from our busy lives is essential so that we will also be prepared to do what God calls us.

There were no special revelations, no light bulbs going off with great ideas nor were there any earth shattering moments that would change the world.  My respite was just that – a brief interval of rest .  I found that every now and then I need to step back, take a deep breath, pray and relax. 

What I did do was to begin to remove the distractions and clutter that was stealing away my time with God.  I stepped down from two prior commitments that was beginning to overwhelm me.  I packed up sewing projects that I knew I would never finish and donated them to our local thrift shop and by spring my goal is to have more to donate to our church rummage sale. I am also learning to say no.

A dear friend once told me that the desires of my heart are God’s desires for me.  So I made a list of the things that are important to me, the desires of my heart.  I felt God lift all those other burdens off of my shoulders and a sense of His peace filled my heart confirming that I was listening to God’s voice and obeying His Word.  A strange thing then happened, I no longer felt overwhelmed at what lay before me. I am confident that I am serving God in everything I do from going to work in the morning, stopping at the store on the way home and even doing housework, to watching a silly program with my husband in the evening.  I have a sense of direction as I write my blog, in my journal or even a note to a friend or a word of encouragement.  Sewing brings tranquil moments instead of a hurried attempt to fit in my sewing time in-between all the busy activities that was slowly taking away my inner joy.  God has now filled my life with meaningful activities.  My bible studies and devotional time have more meaning as I spend more quiet time in prayer and reflection, as I develop a stronger relationship with God our Father and His Son, Jesus Christ.

I have learned the secret of life – resting in Gods embrace.

Have you taken time to enjoy a respite in your life? What can you do to enjoy the blessings that God has given you?  What are the desires of your heart? As you take time away from your busy schedules ponder these things and listen to what God is telling you.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to My Brief Interval Of Rest

  1. Doing the same thing, Patty! What a wise Father we have. . . 🙂

    Like

  2. jennyelaine says:

    Thank you for the reminders…..:)

    Like

  3. Lovely post Patti, so true….

    Like

  4. “A dear friend once told me that the desires of my heart are God’s desires for me.” This spoke clearly to me…now to clear out my own clutter to focus on what my true desires of the heart are.

    Like

  5. terry1954 says:

    this is so important what you have accomplished. We need to slow down and listen to God. this is what I have been doing for a few weeks now as I try to figure out what kind of work I am to be doing. My problem is I haven’t heard God speaking to me. I have placed now three ads in our local newspaper wanting caregiver work and no responses. I am thinking God doesn’t want me to go this route, and yet I can see or hear nothing else. I just ordered a web program that hopefully I will be able to sell my antiques and collectibles on to the world. Antiques are one of the biggest loves in my life and the thought of being able to buy and resale gets me very excited, but I do not look at this as a job. I don’t know what is going to happen to me, as I need an income coming in now that Al is no longer here

    Like

    • I just read this morning that sometimes God answers in a different way than we ever thought, stay focused you will hear Him – it might come way of a bible verse, a friend or even a stranger. But answer He will. I will also keep you in my prayers for your direction. God bless you.

      Like

  6. My goodness, Patty. It seems like you had a tremendous amount of revelation during your rest. I’m inspired by your experience…I think having an interruption in my daily to do’s would result in a welcomed shift in my spirit. Good for you! Thanks for sharing this…

    Like

  7. I am so pleased for you Patty!

    Like

  8. scase says:

    This has been on my heart as well this new year, finding what GOD wants me to go after and letting the rest go. This is hugely important I think for believers to get a hold of, otherwise we are operating in our own strength and not His. Well said!

    Like

  9. My life is not so busy now..but I remember when it was and I too learned that a key word that I had difficulty with saying was ‘No’…and I actually at the time read a book called ‘when I say no I feel guilty’ and it was so me…and when I did feel like saying ‘no’ I felt I had to have a reason to do so that was worth saying it… This book was really good for me because it explained that you don’t need to say why ….just say no….I’m sorry I can’t….And it was an eye opener for me….

    You sound as though you have it settled in your mind now and have a peace about your decision and that is good….Enjoy your continued respite as you prioritize…Diane.

    Like

  10. Sheryl says:

    A respite for body and soul sounds like the perfect way to spend a break from work.

    Like

  11. Mustang.Koji says:

    I will say this: it sounded wonderful!

    Like

  12. Bernice says:

    A great post! Once I learned to say “no” and not feel guilty nor that I need to do everything my life became much easier and peaceful. Many people do not understand why I have walked away from certain activities and they always assume the worst. It can be hard for them to understand that we go through seasons in our life and what was right at one time is not necessarily right for us now. And yes…. resting is important!

    Like

  13. What a timely post. I have been obsessing a bit about spring cleaning while on a break since 21 December, although I have taken a day or two for fun stuff. With 3 (2 1/2) days left before returning to work, thanks for this reminding that I’m due for some quiet time to take stock and meditate on what’s important and that I don’t have to feel guilty about it!

    Like

  14. hopesquires says:

    I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one without a clean-as-Martha-Stewart’s house! What a lovely reminder about the necessity and the rewards of rest. Thanks, and happy new year!

    Like

  15. Victoria says:

    A wonderful post. I am glad that you had some time for you…time to feel the Lord’s blessings for your life. We do all need this from time to time. I used to feel guilty and I have learned to hear the whisper of the blessings and enjoy it.

    Like

  16. Lori Lipsky says:

    Sometimes the greatest need is rest. Thanks, Patty.

    Like

    • It sure is, I used to fight napping now I like to lie down and “try” to silent my thoughts and eventually falling asleep in God’s arms. I also used to feel guilty when I fell asleep while praying until someone told me that it meant I was secure and falling asleep in His heavenly arms. Isn’t that a nice picture?!

      Like

  17. You have alot of great insights that I can take away from this. And yes it is so important to rest in Jesus. I’m reminded with your post that I need to be less busy and more resting in Jesus. Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

  18. Wonderful post — I had so much fun doing nothing over that same period!

    Like

  19. Yahobahne says:

    My desire is to get more close, intimate, and personal with the Father. I desire His peace and presence in every aspect of my life, even amidst the nosiness of the world. Thank you for this lovely reminder. And I thank God for you sharing your gift. 🙂

    Like

  20. optimisticgladness says:

    How encouraging. So glad you feel rejuvenated and have a revived sense of purpose. You go girl! 🙂

    Like

  21. Thank you for this very inspirational post! I too have been thinking about those things that have been “stealing away my time with God” as I ponder, What Brings Me Joy? I truly enjoy how you have come to peace and no longer feel overwhelmed or burdened with distractions, but that you observe God in everything, right down to sharing some TV time with hubby. I love that! This inspires me to continue to trust in God’s embrace, and find solace in all of it. A wonderfully uplifting post! Thank you again 🙂 Hugs, Gina

    Like

    • Thank you – although I have found peace it is still a struggle not to feel overwhelmed, but it is through this weakness that I am strong…finding strength in God. I have to thank Jeanne Webster – she mentioned this earlier and it reflects perfectly our struggles as we find peace in our lives.

      Like

Leave a Reply

