Christmas Reflections

nativity-w-blue-backgroundLast year I started a new tradition as I celebrated the Advent season.  On the first day of Advent I started a journal listing all the things I have learned through my Advent devotional.  They were things that I already knew but needed reminded of and some things that God put upon my heart which shaped my life for the upcoming year.  And there were a few gentle words that spoke directly to my soul – just between God and myself.

So this year I continued with the tradition and through my Advent devotional God has indeed blessed me with His wisdom again.  My Christmas wish for you is to take at least one and lay it upon your heart to reinforce the hope found in the baby Jesus and to bless your life in the New Year:

*   As I have lost my way this past year and allowed the busyness of life get in the way of my relationship with Christ, He gently reminded me I needed to go back to the beginning so that I will be able to move forward.  I needed to return to the manger on my knees – to reflect once again on Jesus, on His life and ministry and to prepare my heart to welcome His return.

*   Developing a faithful prayer practice.  “Prayer is the path that unites our hearts with God’s heart.” {unknown}

*   Thanking Jesus for allowing me to try to do things myself and making the wrong the choices. Praising Him for picking me up when I fall and gently guiding me in the way I should go.

*   “Now what I am commanding you today is not too difficult for you or beyond your reach” Deuteronomy 30:11  No challenge is too big when Jesus is beside me.

*   Finding Jesus in my everyday tasks.

*  Enjoy the quiet moments.

*  Keeping the joy of the Christ Child in my heart all year long.

*  Letting go of those things that are keeping me separated from God and from having a relationship with Jesus, my Lord.

As I go forward into the New Year Jesus is preparing me to make some changes; I am going to stop procrastinating.  I have started to organize my life by setting up blocks of time to handle the big tasks and not allowing distractions to overwhelm me.  I am reminded again to remain focused on where Jesus is leading me and to what needs done not only in my life but in serving others.

These 24 days of the Christmas season has brought me closer to God through the gentle words of His Son, Jesus.  It is His birth we celebrate but it was I who received the gift of His love, His forgiveness and His promise of eternal life. May you all experience all the richness of these gifts.

I have also learned from Jesus, that when He went off on His own, to reflect, pray, and rest, He was preparing Himself for the task set before Him.  That is what I will be doing, I am taking the next week off to spend time with God and His Son, Jesus and to be with  my family.  I will be resting and preparing for those changes in my life and for the task God will set before me. 

I look forward to another year of writing, reading your blogs and meeting new friends. 

So until next year ~ 😀

Merry Christmas and may your New Years be full of God’s blessings, lots of laughter, joy and love.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Christmas Reflections

  1. terry1954 says:

    Have a wonderful Christmas

    Like

  2. tbnranch says:

    Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Like

  3. It’s some beautiful thoughts and reminders in your post. Have a blessed day and ‘see’ you in the New Year…Diane

    Like

  4. Auntie Em says:

    Thanks for this– I too need refocusing.

    Like

  5. Cathy G says:

    Hi Patty. What an incredible and precious post! Have a blessed Christmas Christmas and New Year.

    Like

  6. Enjoy your rest, and thank you for letting God use you and your blog to keep us focused on Him.

    Like

  7. jennyelaine says:

    Thank you too, Patty! Blessings and I look forward to the same…..
    Jenny @ http://www.aroundeverycornerat.blogspot.com

    Like

  8. Sheryl says:

    The thoughts and reminders are wonderful. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you via our blogs over the past year. Happy New Year!

    Like

  9. Beautiful and reverent, P. Thank you for the ongoing support. Means a lot.

    Wishing you a joyful Christmas,
    Diana

    Like

  10. Thank you for your post. You might like my post, “Christmas In The 50s.” Please have a blessed day.

    Like

  11. The True Light! says:

    I will “LIKE” this with a comment if I may. Many people believe Christ was born on Christmas day. The fact is, we have no idea exactly when He was born. Some say it could have been during the winter while others say the Spring of the year.

    But the important thing is that He WAS born, came into this world, lived and died for us, and arose to defeat spiritual death for all who believe! That is a joyous celebration we can have all year long!

    Steve

    Like

Leave a Reply

