Daily Prompt: My Hero!

The daily prompt yesterday from WordPress was to tell you about our hero.  So, I thought of the people who I thought were my heroes and found that I admired them, but would not classify them as  a hero or heroine.

So who then is my hero?

The new saying that many heroes today do not wear capes but combat boots is true in my case.  My hero is my husband and yes he did wear combat boots, although his military career has nothing to do with why he is my hero. 

He took a shy young woman – me – and taught me to independent.   He is a silent man of few words but he expresses his care for me in many ways.  He doesn’t shower me with poems or romantic words, he showers me with attention. Even after 33 yrs of marriage we still hold hands. He is supportive of my dreams and goals and is always uplifting me.   When I was diagnosed with breast cancer, he loved and cared for me in his own special way, whether it was emotional support or doing something as simple as cooking dinner and cleaning up afterward.

He is the father of my children, our protector and our provider.  He has given us a stable home and food on the table.  We are just an ordinary family getting through the ups and downs of life.  He has not done anything out of the ordinary, he did not become a millionaire, nor did he set the world on fire.  But he created a loving home for me and our children.  He also is not perfect {although we let him think he is!} but he is Godly, a true man of God who has taught me about God not by words but by living his faith.

Some days I may not show appreciation for him.  I take him for granted for he is someone I can always depend upon.  As I wrote this article I have decided to tell him more often how thankful I am that God joined our lives together. That today, tomorrow and forever he is “the one who my soul searched for…and who my heart loves”… {adapted from Solomon 3:1-4}

He is a special man – a man of few words but a man with a heart of God.

Patty Tom 1979 (2)

Newlyweds Tom and Patty along with our first dog.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Daily Prompt: My Hero!

  1. terry1954 says:

    loved your daily prompt!!!! great work!

    Like

  2. What a beautiful tribute to your husband! Bless you both.

    Like

  3. This is sweet and very touching.

    Like

  4. Mustang.Koji says:

    Au contraire, mon amie. Perhaps he didn’t set the world afire but he sure set yours. 🙂

    Like

  5. There is nothing ordinary about love that lasts, and is real through good and bad. Here’s to 33 more! Than we’ll wish for more! 🙂 Wonderful post.

    Like

  6. Auntie Em says:

    Very sweet : ) Old love is great, isn’t it??

    Like

  7. margaret21 says:

    Lovely tribute to your relationship.

    Like

  8. lifeartnotes says:

    You are very blessed to have him. God willing, I hope to find someone like that someday!

    Like

  9. We are of like mind… and very blessed…Diane

    Like

  10. jiltaroo says:

    It’s so lovely to meet you! I think I know who he is. If I am right, you both give me back my faith in love. Jen

    Like

  11. Sheryl says:

    What a lovely tribute! Your husband sounds like a wonderful person.

    Like

  12. Denise Hisey says:

    Awwww! That is so sweet!
    PS: love his sideburns! 😉

    Like

  13. Really sweet! You definitely got a keeper! Warm wishes for another 33 years together!

    Like

  14. lifeofaministermom says:

    LOVE! Your marriage inspires me!

    Like

  15. That is a beautiful post indeed about a man whom you clearly treasure as he does you. I send you both love. May your loving happiness long continue. 🙂

    Like

  16. Robyn Lee says:

    Sooo special Patty! This warmed my heart ~ blessings and love everlasting to you and your hero XXOO R

    Like

  17. Happy I scrolled back when I noted I’d missed this post. Yes, the man at our side often is our hero and we are blessed over and over when that happens. I love the picture. Pure delight.

    Like

  18. The True Light! says:

    It can be fun to look back on days past. I don’t do it often, as I don’t want to get into the habit of thinking about the past too often. But it’s fun at times…

    Steve

    Like

Leave a Reply

