Italian Garden Soup

Italian Garden Soup

I have had a few people ask me for this recipe and I am happy to share it with you.  It is actually a recipe taken from a cookbook, a friend and my own touches.

This soup is easy to make and very filling.  I usually serve it with homemade biscuits.

I hope you enjoy it during the cold winter months.

1 pound sausage (ground or sweet cut up-we prefer the ground sausage), or ground beef (I am going to try meatballs next time)
 extra-virgin olive oil
app 1 cup chopped or frozen onion
1 can (14 1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano, un-drained
1 can (15 1/2 ounces cannelloni beans, un-drained (you can also use navy or kidney beans if you prefer)
1 can zucchini in tomato sauce (or 1 med zucchini-chopped)
1 cup frozen cut green beans, thawed
1/2 to a 1 pkg of frozen spinach, thawed (basically use as much or as little as you like)
2 cans (14 ounces of chicken broth), I have used beef when I did not have chicken on hand and it turned out just as good)
1/4 tsp garlic powder
3 TBL fresh chopped fresh basil
1 pkg (9 ounces) refrigerated sausage or cheese filled tortellini pasta OR gnocchi (we have used both and both are delicious)
Grated Asiago or Parmesan cheese or a combination of the two.
 
1. Cook and drain onion and the ground meat.
2. Add meat, tomatoes with juice, beans with juice, zucchini – with sauce, green beans, spinach, broth, dash or two of olive oil and garlic powder to 5 qt crock pot.  Cover; cook on LOW for 7 hours or on HIGH for 3 1/2 hours.
3. Turn crock pot to HIGH.  Add tortellini or gnocchi and cook 20-25 minutes longer or until pasta is tender.  Stir in basil.  Garnish each serving with cheese.
 
NOTE: you do not have to add meat, that was one of my additions, my husband likes meat in his soups. I have had it without the meat and it is just as delicious.  Also you can substitute vegetables if you do not prefer to use what I do, or add more – whatever your taste.
 
ENJOY! ENJOY!
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Italian Garden Soup

  1. This looks yummy! My husband and kids are all vegetarians, but as you say, it would taste very good as a vegetarian dish.

  2. Sheryl says:

    It looks delicious. I’ll have to try to sometime soon.

    • Let me know how you like it. I finally found a good recipe for Three Sisters Soup – seems to have been big in the Watsontown area. (Three autumn root vegetables are the main ingredient along with ham) I wonder if Helena ever had it.

      • Sheryl says:

        I don’t remember Three Sisters soup –but the name is really intriguing. I must have missed some of the local cuisine when I was a child.

      • I will dig out the recipe and post it. If I remember correctly it is a Native American soup, which ever nation was here at the time, I forget the name now. Anyway I never heard of it either and it seems not too many people do.

  3. mikeakin1 says:

    Oh this got to be good! 🙂

  4. Oh my. This looks absolutely yummy!

  5. Mustang.Koji says:

    Mamma mia! That REALLY looks and sounds yummy-spectacular!

  6. sounds delicious and healthy

  7. Auntie Em says:

    Sounds delicious, and something to try on our next cold snap! The tortellini is a great idea!

  8. Bernice says:

    Looks like a great recipe for a cold fall or winter day!

  9. Teresa says:

    Soup looks delicious! Hey, thanks for following my blog. I hope you enjoy looking through the recipes and try a few of them sometime. Please let me know if you try anything and what you think of the results!

  10. terry1954 says:

    absolutely yummy!!!!!!

  11. Thank you for contacting me, but I will not be interested. Good luck in your endeavor.

  12. I love this kind of soup and yours sounds wonderful.

  13. Mmm, That looks delicious. This is one of my favorite soup but I don’t know how to make one. I’m going to ask my wife if she can follow this recipe. Can’t wait. Thanks for sharing this….have a great week.

  14. Lori Lipsky says:

    Looks like just the thing for a cold, autumn evening.

  15. The True Light! says:

    This looks and sounds great! I’m sure it’s good with all the veggies and the meat…hope you are enjoying your break Patty.

    Steve

    • Patty B says:

      Actually the weather is cooling off and my daughter is asking for me to make it. So I just might put on a pot this weekend. 🙂

      • The True Light! says:

        Sounds like a treat. My wife gets requests for East Coast “pot pie” about this time of year. It’s a chicken/noodle dish with veggies and such…

        Enjoy your special dish with your daughter!

        Steve

      • Patty B says:

        We call it PA Dutch Pot Pie (or Amish) – and although I enjoy it I still prefer the pie crust pot pie. When we moved here to PA most people had not heard of pot pie the way mom would fix it. Mom being a stubborn German refused to make the “American” way she would say. lol But on a cold winter night it is the perfect meal. And we just had our Italian Garden soup – always the first of the season. Now I am thinking of split pea soup…creamy, hot and delicious!

      • The True Light! says:

        I always loved the crust pie, so when I was first served the PA style, I was disappointed. It’s still not my favorite, but it is good and hot on a cold day!

        🙂

Leave a Reply

