Rainbows and Clouds

Courtesy of digital-photography-school.com titled: Photograph a Rainbow

I enjoy everyone’s challenges, especially the photo challenges.  I am impressed by everyone’s creativity.  So I decided to begin daily challenges with the Daily Prompter by word press.

Yesterday the daily prompt was to “Pick a random word and do a Google image search on it. Check out the eleventh picture it brings up. Write about whatever that image brings to mind.”  I know it said daily prompt, but as my dad always told me, “I am always a day late and a dollar short!”.

My word was actually two; rainbows and clouds.  I picked rainbows because with all the natural disasters and devastation of the past few years, obviously most recently with Super Storm Sandy, I am reminded of God’s promise from Genesis 9:16, “Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.” And clouds because not only does the rainbow appear in the clouds displaying God’s visual covenant with us , but because His Son, Jesus Christ will also appear in the clouds when He calls us home. {Matthew 26:64 ;Mark 13:26;1 Thessalonians 4:17; and Revelation 1:7}

The image brought to mind our pastor’s sermon last Sunday as Hurricane Sandy was making her way up the coast. Our Pastor is doing a sermon series in Genesis and last Sunday just happened to be about the flood.  Along with the sermon series our Monday night bible class (a community bible study) is doing a study on Genesis this year as well and yes, we are at the story of the flood.  Some may say it was a mere coincidence but I believe that God was preparing our hearts more than preparing us for the effects of the storm.

The title of the sermon was “The rain came down and the flood came up”, little did we know just how much water would come up and cause so much destruction on the NYC and NY coast line.   The sermon Sunday morning became a God moment, bringing a message of hope and a reminder of God’s promise to His people. 

As we were preparing for the storm I saw God already using this storm to remind of us of  the covenant He made with Noah. Although it was hard to comprehend the full force of Hurricane Sandy we were reminded of God’s promise that He would never destroy the world by a flood again and that God will always be with us through our joys and through our adversity and struggles.  God was with His people as the storm came up from the south and He was with us when the storm hit that night. Today He is with those who were in the storm’s path – a beacon of hope to those whose lives were changed in a blink of an eye.

In the midst of the suffering my prayer for those who lost everything, is that they will look up and see the rainbow, and remember the covenant that was sealed by that first rainbow.  A covenant that offers them hope during this time of sorrow and comfort in knowing they are not alone.

Unlike the flood in Noah’s time God did not cause this catastrophic storm, but His glory will be revealed in how we react to this crises.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Rainbows and Clouds

  1. terry1954 says:

    beautiful and beautifully written my friend………..

    Like

  2. optimisticgladness says:

    We, too are studying Genesis in BSF. We are in Gen. 5. Timely. Thank you for posting.

    Like

  3. lifeofaministermom says:

    Wow. I was in a meeting with my Pastor on Tues., also studying Genesis, and he reminded us of this very verse! A rainbow is a sign/reminder of God’s mercy and for that I’m eternally grateful! Wonderful post!

    Patty

    Like

  4. southernheart1 says:

    Beautiful and encouraging post, Patty. It’s such a comfort in these trying times to know that we serve a faithful God-one who will always keep His word to us. ~ Marsha

    Like

  5. When I see a rainbow, I too am reminded that God is there and his blessings overflowing. Gives me hope. This is beautiful, “Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.” Thanks and God bless.

    Like

  6. LubbyGirl says:

    Wow – how did I miss this!! I am so far behind in my reading. I’m glad I did find it, even though I’m about 3 weeks late. We used to say that too (still do, actually) about being a day late and a dollar short. 🙂

    Like

  7. Pingback: Monday Motivation: God Has Smiled on Me « Life of a Minister Mom

  8. The True Light! says:

    I love the picture! Boy I wish I had talent in this area of photography…

    Steve

    Like

Leave a Reply

