Carnival Cruise ~ Day 6 Nova Scotia

Day 6 had us sailing into Nova Scotia.  This was the port I was most anxious to visit.  I have always loved the books by Lucy M. Montgomery “Anne of Green Gables”, and now I will be in Anne country, the books take place at Prince Edward Island (PEI) as well as Halifax.  I was not prepared to get a glimpse of the most beautiful part of the world.

Again we were greeted by the beautiful people of Canada.  If there was an award for the friendliest people, Canada would win every year.  The New England and Canadian coast  offer the beauty of rocky beaches and breathtaking lakes and forests.  With scenery like this I could give up my mountains to live along the rocky coast of Nova Scotia.

Our visit consisted of driving by bus to Peggy’s Cove.  It was an hours drive from the port and along the way we enjoyed a scenic tour of Halifax.  Halifax is famous for making movies and as our tour guide stated, “Halifax is the Canadian Hollywood”.  Among the many stories he told us we learned that about 75% of the movie Titanic was filmed there and we saw the stage where Jack drowned in a large pool.  He took us to the park where Tom Selleck filmed one of his Jesse Stone movies and where Anne Murray got her start in singing.  We also learned that no matter who makes what or where, Nova Scotia has it bigger and better!  Sorry Texas, I think you have competition with Nova Scotia. 🙂 One story we were told took place in 1977 when the worlds largest lobster was caught off the shore in Nova Scotia at 44.4 pounds.  I wish I could remember more of the stories he told us, but towards the end of the tour, our bus driver did tell us that our guide was famous for his “fishing tales”!

There are so many interesting facts about Peggy’s Cove, so click on the link and learn all about this magical place.

Sunrise over Halifax

At Peggy’s Cove here is Tom holding Larry and Laverne & our tour guide in the back who taught us all there is to know about lobsters.

Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse

Scenic picture of Peggy’s Cove

View of Peggy’s Cove

Another view of Peggy’s Cove

A picture of me with the bagpiper at Peggy’s Cove. New Brunswick and Halifax proudly displayed their Scottish pride.  Notice my “Peggy’s Cove – hair style” I was told it is all the rage…called “windblown”! 😉

Back on board we enjoyed another afternoon on our balcony. This was our view as we enjoyed all sizes of sail boats and ships pass us. The highlight was watching a seal playing in the harbor.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 2012, Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Carnival Cruise ~ Day 6 Nova Scotia

  1. optimisticgladness says:

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. 44.4 pounds!? A monster. Wow. BTW, gorgeous pics!

  2. terry1954 says:

    what beautiful photos!!!!!

  3. (smiling) I’m glad you experienced some Canadian hospitality. I am always treated so well when I visit the States. 🙂

  4. What a great place, and you really are having a good time. 🙂

  5. LubbyGirl says:

    I’m enjoying this trip vicariously. And what did I notice right away in that photo of you with the bagpiper?? Your purse! 🙂 I make those, and cannot EVER look at them the same way I did before I started sewing. 🙂

  6. How wonderful! I love all the photos…:)

  7. Mustang.Koji says:

    Peggy’s Cove looked absolutely wonderful. What an adventure! And your hairstyle was absolutely perfect for the occasion!

  8. I haven’t been there since 1967, but I remember loving Novia Scotia, and Prince Edward’s Island. Great photos and fun facts!

  9. I love your guide! He tells it as he believes it! Canada does make one feel welcome doesn’t it? You make vacation look good. 🙂

  10. Denise Hisey says:

    I’ve always been an “Anne of Green Gables” fan, too!

    What a fantastic cruise idea…I didn’t know there was such a route. Your pictures and stories have been so fun to follow! Thanks for sharing!

  11. How nice that you are touring through that beautiful part of the world. Thanks for sharing and for the “Like”. Have a wonderful time. Jo

  12. Bernice says:

    What wonderful pictures – look like a great vacation!

Leave a Reply

