Carnival Glory Day 4 ~ Maine

As we awoke that morning we were sailing towards Maine.  As the sun came up we ventured out on the balcony to see if we could get a glimpse of the Maine coast line.  Instead, what greeted us was a spectacular sunrise.  The day only got better from there.

This is only one of many shots of the sunrise as we were heading into Maine

I have never seen such a brilliant sunrise until that day…the next few days I would see God’s artistic touch greet me each morning.

Our first glimpse of Maine

The first stop on our lighthouse tour ~ The Portland Breakwater Lighthouse – also called a Bug Light.

A view of our ship from the Breakwater Lighthouse

The memorial for the Victory Ships that were built in South Portland. Interesting display inside of the WWII years.

The Rocky Coast of Maine – notice the whale fin of our ship in the background.

The Portland Head Light – it was awesome and the view of the harbor and bay was unbelievable. For this girl who lives in the mountains in Pennsylvania it was a sight to behold.

Another shot of the Portland Head Light

After a lovely day visiting these two Lighthouses and the Spring Point Ledge Light along with a scenic drive through Portland and its beautiful old buildings we enjoyed a leisurely afternoon on our balcony.  We read and relaxed while watching the sailboat traffic coming and going into the harbor.  Then all too soon we were on our way once again. 

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 2012, Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Carnival Glory Day 4 ~ Maine

  1. Beautiful and looks much like the Canadian maritimes just north of there. 🙂

  2. Andrea Kelly says:

    What a fun day trip! I’ve always wanted to go to Maine. Beautiful pictures 🙂

  3. optimisticgladness says:

    Beautiful pictures! Do you cruise a lot?

  4. Thank you for sharing your cruise with us…I love the sea and can almost smell the sea air as I look at these lovely photos!

  5. Mustang.Koji says:

    Did you count the number of lighthouses you saw on your trip? I think of all the souls that manned these lighthouses through the years… and the lives they possibly saved.

    • There are so many thoughts that go in my mind when I see a lighthouse and I think of this one song that was an Irish ballad about a lost ship and at the end they all came in safely. This was the first large lighthouse I have seen in person and I was impressed! We saw stopped at 3 lighthouses and drove by 2 and sailed past 2 in Portland, in Halifax our ship was docked in front of a small lighthouse. If I could ever talk my husband into it I would retire to Maine in a heartbeat. 🙂

      • Mustang.Koji says:

        I would retire there, too, in addition to possibly Washington state or Oregon but with my children here, I cannot… but those lighthouses are indeed impressive, aren’t they? I am glad you enjoyed your “honeymoon”…although your hubby was cornered by “eligible” women at one time! 🙂

      • I could picture me living in Washington State or Oregon, I would love the weather..I love rain – all day drizzly rain not the storms we get here. Everywhere he goes women of all ages find my hubby!! 🙂

  6. I love pictures of lighthouses. For some reason they always remind me of the joy of having God in my life.

  7. Hope you are remaining in that relaxed mode. Beautiful pictures. Reading on the balcony sounds absolutely heavenly.

  8. Sheryl says:

    The sunrise photos remind me of the old saying, “Red in the evening, sailors delight; red in the morning sailors take warning.”

  9. Bernice says:

    I love pictures of lighthouses – you can just imagine sailors using them to find their way home.

    • I have never been one to before so this trip was a delight. I saw plenty but would like to back to the ones we did not have to see.

      • Bernice says:

        Yes, I can imagine. There is never enough time on vacation. We have a lighthouse here in Buffalo. Unfortunately I have never been inside as I always missed the rare tours.

      • We are almost neighbors, we live in north central PA and for a while I lived in Watertown. Howdy neighbor!

      • Bernice says:

        My parents are from PA. Near Pittsburg and close to Indiana. They are from small coal mining towns in Kent and Aultman. Yes, we are not far from Watertown! I am not looking forward to winter. But the blogging will help and connecting with people!

      • We usually do not get a lot of snow, we are nestled safely in a valley but at times the blizzards some through. Most storms seem to travel farther north to your area. 😦 My husband is from the Pittsburgh area and his family is from the Confluence area originally. He also lived in Johnstown for a while, the western part of the start is a nice area.

Leave a Reply

