You Are My Sunshine

My dad used to sing this to me and my sister.Β  It always brings a tear but it also brings many happy memories of a dad that loved us.

Today I would like to share this song with all of you – my Sunshine friends!

“You are my sunshine, my only sunshine.Β  You make me happy when skies are gray….”

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Sunny Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to You Are My Sunshine

  1. This was “my” song to my youngest daughter. Well, it still is. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. My mom sang it to me. Back then I thought she had the most beautiful voice in the world. I sang it to my daughter. I wonder if she will sing it to her kids when she has some one day…

    Like

  3. We sing this at my choir and I love it! Thank you for this delightful version πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Thanks for making my Friday full of Sunshine! Hugs to you!

    Like

  5. It’s been so long since I heard that wonderful song that was part of my growing up years also…thanks for the memories…Diane

    Like

  6. I sing this every night to my children. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I did when they were babies, not sure why I stopped. My dad passed away when I was 14 and I can still hear him singing that and many other songs. His legacy to me was appreciation of music. I am glad to see the tradition still going strong with other families.

      Like

  7. Bill Jones says:

    Great to read what it means to so many. But, remember to just stick with the chorus and not include the verses. We sang it at a Ladies Valentines Dinner and as we got into the verses we figured out quickly we just needed to sing the chorus two or three times and quit.

    Like

  8. Kerri says:

    This was my father-in-law’s signature song. He’s been gone now for 22 years and this happy tune brought him into clear focus in my memory. Thank you for that. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. JanBeek says:

    Your post was so inspiring, it let the Son shine in this morning – and so I posted it on my FB page, hoping I can keep on spreading the Good News to as many other as possible. What a delightful way to do so. Thank you!! And thank you for visiting JanBeek – and reminding me to come and see what you’ve been up to. Happy Blogging!! Smilers never LOSE!

    Like

  10. Pingback: You Are My Sunshine « janbeek

  11. JanBeek says:

    Today is another sunshine day – and I still can’t get this wonderful song out of my mind – a week later! I decided to repost it on MY wordpress.com blog and reach a few more friends. Thank you again… and again… for the gift that keeps on giving!

    Like

  12. Rad change says:

    Memories of childhood and Sunday School. Love this!

    Like

  13. Yes, it’s chorus that my mother used to sing… I never heard it again for years, and when I did , it nearly broke my heart, as she had left by the time I was six… can’t get over how you can hear every word in this, lovely clear diction that you never hear these days, interesting how this song has come back… I used to hear it in the early forties.

    Like

    • thoughtsfromanamericanwoman says:

      I am finding out it is bringing back many happy memories for a lot of people. Good – nothing comforts us than our memories!

      Like

  14. dilipnaidu says:

    A song with a beautiful meaning! Thanks.

    Like

  15. Lori Lipsky says:

    Beautiful. Thanks for cheering my day.

    Like

    • thoughtsfromanamericanwoman says:

      Since I posted that when my days are a bit humdrum or down I just think of that song… it is a lasting gift from my dad of joy!

      Like

  16. I’ve always loved that song. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  17. JennyO says:

    It’s a song my husbands Aunts all sing at each family occasion, I think it takes them back to when they were children as well, they will love this post.

    Like

  18. Denise Hisey says:

    What a wonderful response you got from others who hold that song dear. πŸ™‚

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard Anne Murray sing it…did John Denver also sing it?
    It is a sweet song!

    Like

  19. russtowne says:

    (Big smile!) Thank you!
    Russ

    Like

  20. Always loved that song–my aunts sang it to us each time we drove to see their sister in Louisiana, and I sang it to my kids. Thanks for the memories.

    Like

  21. gpcox says:

    Both my parents liked this song, I heard it quite often.

    Like

  22. 1annecasey says:

    Just beautiful. I sing this to my kids too. : )))

    Like

  23. Patty, it’s amazing how powerful songs can be! I sang part of this song to my firstborn son when he was a baby. It always made me cry, because I was so appreciative of having a child after 12 yrs of infertility. My son, now 17, knows without a doubt that he is loved. Thank you for reminding me…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  24. This is also the song that my daughter used to sing to her son when he was little.
    It is such a happy, loving song.

    Like

  25. kyrian777 says:

    Thanks for sharing and followship. Kind regards.

    Like

  26. truthofgods says:

    Thank you for the visit..May God bless you.

    Minister Roderick Fowler

    Like

Leave a Reply

