Pennsylvania Grand Canyon

Since I mentioned the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon in my last article I thought I would post some pictures of this fascinating place.  We first went to the Canyon 30 years ago and we hiked to the bottom and hiked back up enjoying the trails and the beauty of Northern Pennsylvania.  When we went a few years ago, we drove to the scenic spots and took a Conestoga Wagon to the bottom.  The only thing that changed in 30 years was us! 

The Pennsylvania Grand Canyon is located near Wellsboro, PA and is in the area we call “God’s Country”, which is basically all of the Northern Tier of Pennsylvania.  We stayed at a hotel near the Canyon in Pennsylvania but had to drive into NY State and turn around to go back into Pennsylvania to access the hotel. 

We are blessed to live where we do, we are centrally located to some of the beautiful spots of Pennsylvania.  Close to home yet far enough to escape the daily grind and enjoy nature in all its glory no matter what the season.  Autumn is our favorite time of year and in the fall the PA Grand Canyon is a spectacular with its show of autumn colors.

Sit back and enjoy a touch of God’s creation.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Special Moments and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Pennsylvania Grand Canyon

  1. Wow it really does look like the Grand Canyon with trees! How beautiful!

    Like

  2. Gorgeous pictures. Thanks for sharing them. I miss the autumn colours in Eastern Canada.

    Like

  3. Beautiful! When I was at my nephew’s house in New Jersey the thing that is so different between here and there is how many trees you all have. Big difference between here, the grand canyon, and your grand canyon. Trees! Your is no less beautiful though. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Both Grand Canyons show off God’s creation in a special unique way. We still plan on visiting the “big hole in ground” – I can’ wait to see a sunset over the Grand Canyon. I would say sunrise but at this age I know I will never get up that early!! 😉

      Like

  4. Beautiful. Makes me want autum to hurry up in our corner of the world.

    Like

  5. Beautiful….my nephew and his wife who are currently living in N Jersey went there last year in the autumn and had a wonderful time.

    Like

    • Glad to hear they had a good time, autumn is the best time to go – the mountains spring forth is autumn splendor. We lived in NJ for a while and a few years ago I went back and got lost, and lets just say I know why NJ is called the Garden State. We enjoyed our little “adventure” when we got lost.

      Like

  6. God did good didn’t he/she?

    Like

  7. How awesome! Who knew there were places like this so close to home? Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • When we travel we also try and find the not so “common” tourist attractions. We like the out of the way places they usually have so much more to offer. We explored Mass a few years ago and had a great time. Just got in the car and drove – found a cute little town – don’t ask me where though, I should have wrote it down! 😉

      Like

  8. I was just telling Husband about this last night! Hopefully we will get to go there one day soon. You are a great ambassador for Pennsylvania. 🙂

    Like

    • I fell in love with PA when we moved here over 35 yrs ago. I had left a few times but always came “home”. I hope you can visit. They also have a train ride that takes you around the area and if you are lucky may see an Eagle. We saw one on a branch but sadly the picture did not turn out.

      Like

  9. margaret21 says:

    Do you know, those photos could have been taken here in the Ariege? Amazing. So you needn’t fret about not having visited here….. you’ve been already!

    Like

  10. Auntie Em says:

    Oh my… I need to visit!

    Like

  11. Auntie Em says:

    Patty, I’ve nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging award because of your super sweet blog and spirit! You can read about it here: http://auntieemsguide.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/super-sweet/

    Like

  12. Congratulations! I’ve nominated you for the Super Sweet Bloggers Award! Please see simplyjuliana.com for more info!

    Like

  13. Sheryl says:

    What a great series of posts on the PA Grand Canyon and Watkins Glen. I haven’t been to either place in more than 20 years–but I have awesome memories of both from when I visited them years ago.

    I can even remember going to the PA Grand Canyon for a picnic with my family on a Sunday afternoon when Grandma was very elderly, and we thought that that she might enjoy the drive and the view.

    Like

    • I am glad that Helena enjoyed it! It has not changed any that is for sure, still as beautiful as ever. The last time we went was about 5 yrs ago, that is when the pictures were taken. Roseann just returned from Watkins Glen, although I am sure that has not changed much either. I was hoping to get into McEwensville this weekend, but our car needs a new water pump and we are waiting on the garage to call saying that the part is in, I am basically driving to work and that is it.

      Like

  14. Denise Hisey says:

    Lovely! Simply lovely!
    What a treat!

    Like

  15. LubbyGirl says:

    I’ve never been to PA, but I grew up near the Great Smoky Mountains, and they will always be “home” to me. These photos remind me so much of them. Homesick!!!

    Like

  16. Wow. those are beautiful pictures!

    Like

  17. optimisticgladness says:

    Georgeous.

    Like

  18. dilipnaidu says:

    Beautiful and serene pictures. Thanks for the share.

    Like

Leave a Reply

