The Beach

As summer is coming to a close I can’t help but remember of the summers we spent at the beach.  I must admit I love the mountains and will always call the mountains home. But what is it about the beach that makes me want to return?  It is the call of the seagulls, the sounds of the ocean, the strength of the waves, the warm sand in-between my toes and the sunny beaches that call out to me, and I am blessed with not only the splendor of the mountains but the magnificence of the ocean.

Wildwood NJ

Ocean City Maryland

Feeding the seagulls at Ocean City Maryland

Hungry seagulls

Waikiki Beach Hawaii

Beach at Kauai Hawaii

One of the beaches Hilo Hawaii

Kona Hawaii

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Special Moments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Beach

  1. Chatter Master says:

    I did not see the ocean in person until I was 40. Not sure why I was so amazed at the infinity of it, but I was!

    Like

  2. Ah! Another lover of the mountains and the sea! I have always loved the ocean, while at the same time being greatly in awe of it – it is mighty and fearsome, and as beautiful as any part of God’s creation!. But I too live in the mountains, now – I have lived all over, but Hubs and I have retired to the Smoky Mountains of western North Carolina. Our youngest son, his wife and our gorgeous, wonderful and perfect granddaughter Zoë (our only grandchild so far) live on the Outer Banks of NC in Nags Head. So, we always have a place to stay when we visit the ocean – which is never often enough! It’s a long drive (almost 9 hours if we drive straight through!), but we usually take at least 10, to make a few brief stops for the sake of our rear ends!

    Thanks so much for your visits to my blogs. I hope you will understand that my lack of visiting here or commenting is only because the demands of two writing projects going on now have become quite overwhelming! I will always, in God’s name, wish you enough. . .

    Like

    • It is such an adventure to travel and live in all parts of the world. My family comes from North Carolina as well. I have always loved the Smokey and the Blue Ridge mountains. Ours here in Pa – the Appalachian mountains are what my dad would call “the foot hills”! But they are still beautiful.
      Thank you for stopping by and I hope to have you visit often. I understand about the demands of our lives! God’s blessings to you as you finish your writing projects! Patty

      Like

  3. Looking at your beautiful images of the different beaches made me feel that I am home. I agree with each word, “It is the call of the seagulls, the sounds of the ocean, the strength of the waves, the warm sand in-between my toes and the sunny beaches that call out to me, and I am blessed with not only the splendor of the mountains but the magnificence of the ocean.” Well said and more. Thank you.

    Like

  4. Love both your words and your images. Thank you for sharing

    Like

  5. Mustang.Koji says:

    I am always amazed at how nature designs our country’s beaches to be so different… The eastern seaboard beaches are so long with nice grassy berms. The western beaches are much shorter and rockier for the most part. And Hawai’i… from white sand to black. Coarse to powdery. Thanks for the reminders and lovely photos!

    Like

  6. You nailed it. There’s something about the smell, breeze and the sight of the ocean from a beach that keeps drawing us back. Maybe because it’s constantly changing. Maybe because it’s a relief to be somewhere that having sand everywhere is okay and I don’t have to clean up.

    Like

  7. the beach – I have to connect with it before the summer is over

    Like

  8. Love these pictures and esp. OC, MD. Makes me homesick for there!

    Like

  9. dilipnaidu says:

    Oh what beautiful pictures. There is a certain fascination about the vastness of the sea and the magnificence of the beach.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  10. Sheryl says:

    Great beach pictures! They do a wonderful job of capturing the different “personalities” of the various beaches.

    Like

  11. russtowne says:

    Thank you for the fun post and the great song and photos, Patty! I love your blog!
    Russ

    Like

  12. Being a beach girl as well, I understand your love of the beach & its beauty. Video was so much fun to watch too! xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

