The Prize

It is always an honor to receive a notification that I have been nominated for awards.  This has been a wonderful journey of not only writing but meeting such awesome people.  I especially want to thank : The Remissionary  and  Theblazingtrail nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award; and GrowingChristianWoman nominating me for the One Lovely Blog Award.  They have become an important part of my daily walk with God, through a touch of a humor, plenty of encouragement and daily life lessons.

According to the Encarta Dictionary an award is something given for achievement.  Wikipedia states: An award is something given to a person or a group of people to recognize their excellence in a certain field; a certificate of excellence. Awards are often signified by trophies, titles, certificates, commemorative plaques, medals, badges, pins, or ribbons. An award may also simply be a public acknowledgment of excellence, without any tangible token or prize.

I like the some of the other words for award – honor, gift, reward, give, and bestow, which give true meaning to these Blogging Awards.  We all unselfishly bestow our gifts and talents to others through our words, verse and photos.  It is also a gift to receive such wonderful blessings in my inbox every day.

Another word “prize”  reminds me of a biblical verse from Philippians 3:14 “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” 

Paul is telling us to follow earnestly – to keep an eye on the goal and not to be distracted and in the end we will receive the prize when we reach our goal… eternal life with Christ Jesus.   There are many prizes waiting for me, the awards bestowed upon me by new friends, the reward of my family, the gift of  beautiful days and my goal for which God has called all of us “heavenward in Christ Jesus” 

What is your goal as you press on towards the ultimate award that is found in Jesus Christ?  Is it in your writing or is it a hidden desire waiting to be nurtured?  Whatever your goal do not get distracted, but keep doing what God has called you to do, and when you reach the finish line your prize will be these words:  “Well done, good and faithful servant; you were faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things” (Matt. 25:21).

I know I am to pass on the awards to other blogs that I have enjoyed, that have inspired and encouraged me.  But that is such a difficult task.  I enjoy everyone’s articles , poems and pictures.   There are the poems I start off my day with, and the beautiful pictures I enjoy when I come home from work after a busy day and the articles I have my evening cup of tea with.  So, if you do not mind, I am going to do something different, I nominate all of you for the following awards: The Very Inspiring Blog – not a day goes by that I don’t get encouraged or inspired in my Christian walk and The One Lovely Blog Award – There is something special and unique about everyone that brings beauty into my life.

And I invite all of you to visit my community of bloggers and check out their pages.  Each one of you are very special to me.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Awards, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Prize

  1. Auntie Em says:

    Congratulations, Patty! What a well-deserved honor!

    Like

  2. Cathy G says:

    Congratulations, Patty – well done! What a lovely way to acknowledge this award!

    Like

  3. This is the best post I’ve seen about awards. Thank you so much for tying it in with such inspiring biblical passages, and for exploring other words for award – such as honor, gift, give and reward. And I adore how you concluded, sending out your love to all your readers and inviting us to visit all your friends in your Community. We are so blessed to have you as part of our blogging family.
    With Love and Gratitude, Gina

    Like

  4. You are truly very deserving of these awards! I may not get on here every day, something to do with the five kids thing :), But I do always look forward to your stories and insights and the inspiration that I take away from here! Thank you!

    Like

  5. LubbyGirl says:

    What a great post about awards! As my foster father would’ve said, “Ya dun good!”

    Like

  6. russtowne says:

    I’m glad to see that other bloggers find your blog to be award-worthy too! It proves that I’ve got good taste when I rave about your blog! Congratulations, Patty!
    Russ

    Like

Leave a Reply

