Civilian Life in Gettsyburg

This is my last installment of Gettysburg.  As you can now tell, I enjoy taking pictures.  This was a very interesting weekend for us. Both my husband and I enjoy learning about history and although this was a reenactment, it allowed us a glimpse of life in America during the time our country was divided.

General Lee talking to us about his life and the Civil War.  One fact many may not know.  General Lee did not believe in slavery and Gen and Mrs. Lee were in the process of freeing the slaves they had inherited from the father of Mrs. Mary Anna Custis Lee – George Washington Parke Custis, the step grandson of President George Washington.

The United States Christian Commission ~ they served on the battlefields of the Civil War “without rifles or cannons…they came with bibles, bandages and the love of Christ… http://www.usccgettysburg.org/history.asp 

Demonstration on the women’s life in the 1860’s, fashion show and daily life for the 1860’s woman.

Pennsylvania Belles!

Sutlers that accompanied the troops selling their wares. Today they sell reenacting supplies and gifts for the tourists.

Music – entertainment for the troops. Civil War version of the USO!

The food tent – preparing food for the troops…but a few troops ordered pizza.  I could not find the picture that had Union and Confederate troops eating pizza together…now if only we can solve all wars that way.

Thank you for traveling back in time with me….

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in History, Home, Special Moments and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Civilian Life in Gettsyburg

  1. who stole the head? great pics tell a great story

  2. Georgia Cummons says:

    I sure would have enjoyed that. Thanks for sharing and taking photos.

    Georgia

  3. Hi! I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.Congratulations! http://wp.me/p27eXb-8Y

  4. Just letting you know I thoroughly enjoyed your Gettysburg posts.

  5. Love, love, love this!!!

  6. Cathy G says:

    Hi Patty! Great series!

  7. I really really like this!

  8. I love this one! And what a wise (if funny) conclusion – if only all wars could be solved with pizza! These are all terrific photos and captions. Thank you so much. I really want to visit Gettysburg, and see the re-enactments, but until then, your great posts have brought me right there!

  9. cindy knoke says:

    What fun and how interesting!

  10. Patty B says:

    I hope to go to a few of living histories around my home town this summer too. they are indeed fun and you learn so much.

Leave a Reply

