The Message Of The Cardinal

states symbols USA

The Cardinal, my favorite bird “is symbolic of faith and comes to remind us, that though circumstances might look bleak, dark and despairing, there is always hope. The Cardinal comes to us to remind us to ‘keep the faith’ through circumstances might look bleak, dark and hopeless.  In addition, the cardinal is symbolic of the blood of Christ, reminding us that we as believers are covered by the blood of Christ.”[1]

Years ago I read “When a red bird flies in your path it is a sign from God that He loves us and has not abandoned us”  (unknown) For me, the Cardinal is more than a sign, it is a message of hope and reassurance of God’s presence in my life.

The Cardinal is devoted to his mate staying with her for life, supplying all that his bird family needs in food and in nesting, protecting his mate by ferociously defending its territory against any predator. 

It is the Cardinal that showed me how God sent His Son Jesus to stand guard over us, protecting us, and supplying us with what we need to sustain us in our life – food, shelter and His presence.   Not as ferociously as a Cardinal, Jesus protects us gently as a Shepherd caring for His sheep; He will defend and care for us even at the cost of His earthly life.

Twelve years ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer,  the male and female Cardinal found their way to me with their message of hope and would sit just long enough by my kitchen window to bring me comfort and strength to get through another day. 

Over the years with each difficult moment, deployments, complications from bad choices and doubts of my faith – the Cardinal always shows up reminding me of Gods promise that He is always near, sheltering me from life’s storms. 

It is the little red Cardinal who gets my attention when nothing else can.           It is the Cardinal that God sends His message of hope to me.

When our hearts are heavy and the burdens of life start to consume us, may our eyes be open to the message that comes from God’s messenger  the Cardinal, that His presence is all around us – every day and in every waking moment.

What is your message from God that brings you hope, peace and comfort?  Keep it close to your heart finding the perfect peace that comes from God alone.

“You will keep in perfect peace Him whose mind is steadfast, because He trusts in you”Isaiah 26:3 (NIV)

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home, Life As An Army National Guard Mom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The Message Of The Cardinal

  1. this was very comforting – thanks for sharing it

  2. I like that idea that birds serve as a reminder of God’s presence. I am listening to birds outside my window right now and it is a nice image to have to go along with this post. Thanks for sharing!

    http://stepstochangetheworld.wordpress.com/

  3. Patty, this is such a beautiful post…I’ve always seen the hand of God in nature, and I loved the info about the cardinal. May you continue to walk in health and peace. God bless you! ~ Marsha

  4. jeni says:

    What a sweet blog post! I found you by looking for the author of this poem that has come into my path recently… maybe you know:
    On a day that is bleak..
    though there is a new fallen snow
    You fret and you ponder which way you should go.
    You haven’t the heart to believe anymore, that the plans he has made.. would your own faith restore.
    You’ve struggled and tried to use your own power, to understand things before the right hour.
    But Jesus replies, ” Rest in my unending grace, And know my love and purpose is surely in place”
    I will not leave you, nor forsake you my child..
    Your faith is the fabric put on in the trial.
    So trust in me daughter and lean not on you, For the secret lies deep in the pain you go through.
    Acknowledge me daily with every heart cry, and I will show you the answer to why..
    The fruit you produce in obedience will, one day be a legacy your children fulfill.

    So look for the blessing I will send your way, A “Cardinal of Hope” to strengthen your day.

  5. I find birds can be very comforting.

    • Patty B says:

      They sure are and what a blessing to be hearing them again in the morning. But I worry they will freeze their little feathers off!! lol It is still way below normal here but they are returning just the same.

  6. Lisa M Buske says:

    Thank you for this beautiful blog. I blogged about the cardinal today and hoped to share a poem or other tidbit that would bring my readers to other blogs – I found yours via the Google search. I wanted to let you know I linked my readers over by clicking on either photo in my blog or a link within the blog itself. May God continue to bless you.

    Lisa M Buske
    http://LisaMBuske

    Today’s blog linking my readers to this blog:
    http://www.lisambuske.com/1/post/2014/05/the-cardinalmore-than-a-brilliant-colored-bird.html

  7. slamdunk says:

    Fantastic Patty B. And, thanks for sharing and inspiring us with your personal story.

  8. What a neat story. I had missed this one. It certainly is a lovely bird.

  9. Thank you Patty for joining up with us, I value your kindness in doing so and also your encouragement with the Likes but I need to apologize for calling you Betty and not Patty, I’m very sorry, names are important.

    I too have a special remembrance of God’s Love both in His creation and in His Scriptures.

    For me it is a Butterfly, although I do not believe they are magic or have any other powers but like your Cardinal which I also like as I do all birds, Butterflies touch my heart. I will leave a link that maybe you will have a chance to see, it is about how a Butterfly reminded me when I was very frustrated with Computer problems and felt like giving up, that I was not alone.

    Butterfly Love- http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/12/02/the-butterfly-dance/

    Below is also the Scripture God gave me in a very fierce Storm in my life and I’m also reminded often by God’s Truth in them, that I’m not alone.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

    • Patty B says:

      Anne, first no need to apologize, I did not even catch it at first! I have been called Peggy and even Nancy (how Nancy I have no idea) so Betty is a first!! LOL My dad had saying you can call me anything you want just don’t call me late for supper. 🙂
      Those verses have also been my favorites since a dear friend shared them with me 30 yrs ago and since then these Words of God have seen me through alot.
      How thankful I am that God knows us and keeps His promises to never leave us and to always be here for us. God has never disappointed me. Even when I could not pray He sent me His children to pray for me. How awesome is that?! Blessings!

  10. dilipnaidu says:

    How beautiful.thanks.

  11. I don’t know how I missed this post the first time around. It’s a wonderful message. I see cardinals all the time outside my kitchen window where I keep the bird feeder. Now I’ll think of you when I see the cardinal.

    • Patty B says:

      What a lovey gift. Because of my dogs I can’t have feeders, but I do love see the cardinals when they fly into the tree by my kitchen window. Especially in the snow. Thank you for your comment

  12. hopesquires says:

    Have you read Paula D’Arcy’s Gift of the Red Bird? Your post brought to mind this lovely little book, and I think you’d enjoy it.

  13. This is beautiful! I was just listing a cardinal painting on Etsy when I decided to do a little more research about them because I grew up in Australia and we don’t have them there! So nice to read! https://www.etsy.com/listing/268357340

  14. santanajoy says:

    This is so timely. I recently realized that I equate my sighting of cardinals with God’s presence. In an especially rough time, I have been spotting them in the moment of my need. Today during a difficult phone conversation I looked out the window and up flew a cardinal into the tree right in my view. It stayed there the whole conversation. I so appreciate God revealingly his care in this way and his presence.

    • Patty B says:

      So do I – God reveals His presence to us in so many ways. Blessings to you during this time and may you experience God’s presence as He holds you close.

  15. Paula Love says:

    I lost my daughter (only child) and 2 yr. old grandson to a car/semi accident (she fell asleep) in early May. I chose the cardinal picture for the little folder. Coming home from their viewing, there was a cardinal on the front step of my house, hopping into the plants My bf said “There’s Laura, telling you they are OK”! Of course, that made me cry.
    A short while later a pair of cardinals made a nest in my climbing rose, by my side gate, with one baby making it’s entrance! I chose not to use that gate (to my back yard) so I wouldn’t disturb them. The baby evidently fledged and was gone – I checked the ground to make sure it wasn’t dead! I had told my Dad about the nest and he figured it had to be a robin’s nest, but I knew it wasn’t!
    Then 3 wks. ago, my Dad passed away and shortly afterwards, I discovered a new cardinal nest, in a different bush, about 4′ away from the first one!!! I feed birds year round, and know their different chirps, so I know when the cardinals are near and rush to see them!
    This is such a blessing and I try to believe there is a connection with my profound losses and the lovely, sometimes scrappy cardinals!
    One of my cousin’s shared “The Message of the Cardinal” with me and I truly appreciate it!. I had read another, similar message earlier and yours seems to confirm the importance of this gorgeous bird. Thank you.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you for sharing this with me. My husband passed away suddenly 3 yrs ago and I do not feed birds but since then I have seen cardinals every now and then when I need to be reminded my DH is not far away. I thank God for the little reminders of our loved ones and His promise that we live together for eternity in His presence. I am sorry for your heartache. May God continue to bless with His many promises and the wonders of the signs He sends you.

Leave a Reply

