Kissed by God

Kissed by God

This has been a very difficult week with no time to rest. I did not allow myself the solitude I needed to feel the presence of God during this time of unrest.

 This morning as I felt the walls of anxiety closing in around me, I could sense the gentle nudging of Jesus to sit in silence – to just “be”. Taking a deep breath, slowly releasing all the stress, I welcomed my solitary moment and allowed the peace of Jesus into the deepest part of my being.

I was behind in my morning devotional time and decided to read yesterdays devotion, not realizing that God would speak to me by reassuring me that He is my Shelter and my Refuge from the storms of life, offering me rest and comfort through this time of uncertainty.

The verse for that day read “How often I have wanted to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings” (Matthew 23:37). In this verse Jesus wanted to gather His people together as a hen protects her chicks by sheltering them under her wings.

This morning I was one of those chicks, needing to be gathered under His Wings, safe and secure under His protection.

The ending verse read: “You alone, Father, are my refuge, my place of safety. For You will cover me with Your feathers, You will shelter me with Your wings.” (Psalm 91:2,4)

God’s timing is perfect. Kathy Troccoli, author and singer, talks about God moments or being kissed by God. This morning was one of those precious moments in a devotional reading that was a day late. Was it coincidence or a God moment? I believe that it was a God moment and that He lovingly kissed me through the words of another to get me through this hurdle.

Thank You Lord for the shelter of Your wings, that allows me the rest I need to make the right decisions.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kissed by God

  1. WOW!!! You read my heart today!! Great post!!

    Like

  2. robind333 says:

    What a beautiful message. God always knows what we need even before we do. Glory be to God. Wonderful post….Many, many blessings to you…Robin

    Like

Leave a Reply

