Meatloaf

This week I bring you one of our families favorite recipes for meatloaf.  Before I begin I would like to share what I found on the history of meatloaf.
 
The meatloaf has European origins as early as the 5th century.  It is a traditional German and Belgian dish.  The American meatloaf has it origins in scrapple, a mixture of ground pork and cornmeal served by German Americans in Pennsylvania since colonial times. 
 
The meatloaf as we know it did not appear in cookbooks until the late 19th century.
 
In 2007, meatloaf was voted the seventh-favorite dish in the United States according to Good Housekeeping.
 
During the Great Depression, cooking meatloaf was a way to stretch the food budget, using an inexpensive type of meat and other ingredients as leftovers; along with spices, and adding cereal grains to the meatloaf to stretch the meat.
 
Patty’s Meatloaf
1-1 1/2 pound of meatloaf mix (I use veal, pork and beef)
1 pound lean ground beef
A generous 1/2 cup Italian flavored bread crumbs ( I normally use Italian bread crumbs, but as you can see I did not have any when I made it this weekend, so I added Parmesan cheese and Italian seasonings)
1/2 cup of rolled oats
2 eggs-beaten with just a little of water)
Garlic and Onion powder to taste
Dash or two of nutmeg
BBQ sauce
Beef Broth
 
Blend meat together, add egg mixture, and 1/4 cup of the BBQ sauce.
 
Blend with hands – the bread crumbs, oats, seasonings (you can add any seasoning that you prefer)
 
Shape into a loaf and put in a slow cooker, add beef broth to cover the bottom of cooker.  Cook on high 4-5 hours. 
 
Take out of the slow cooker and put in a baking dish, brush on more BBQ sauce and bake in a 325 degree oven till browned and then top with Cheese (American or Velveeta works best because it melts perfectly) Turn off oven and place meatloaf back in oven to melt cheese.
 
This normally feeds my family of 4 with plenty for leftovers.  The best thing about meatloaf is you can make it anyway you like it.  At times I had substituted the BBQ sauce for A1 sauce, one time I even added shredded carrots, and I have stuffed it with ham and cheese.  I have yet to try the Scottish way of baking it with a hard boiled – egg in the middle.
 
As I searched for the history of meatloaf I found an idea about adding mashed potatoes on top when it is done and continue baking till the potatoes are browned, sort of like a shepherd’s pie.
 
What are your favorite ingredients for meatloaf?
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meatloaf

  1. Georgia Cummons says:

    I never heard of making meatloaf with anything but ketchup or tomato sauce. My grandmother added a can of vegetable soup and crackers. LOL It was good. I finally found a recipe my husband likes. BTW, if you add a sprinkle of brown sugar no one will get indigestion from eating it. My husband doesn’t know this but I’ve been adding the brown sugar for about a year or more. LOL I think I will make meatloaf next week. Haven’t had that in awhile. I might just make it tomorrow. Let me get some ground beef out of the freezer, that’s what I use. 🙂

    Like

    • This is what I like about meatloaf, it is such a simple meal but such a variety in ways to fix it. Two more ways to try it, vegetable soup is also a great way to get my family to eat more vegetables! 😉 Thanks for the hint of brown sugar, will definitely add it the next time I make it..

      Like

Leave a Reply

