In The Grip Of Grace

In the Grip of Grace by Max Lucado (1996)

Do you have one of those books that changed your life ~ one book that changed how you think, how you live and how you worship? “In the Grip of Grace” by Max Lucado is that book for me. 

At the time I had only read a few books by Max Lucado.  They were thought-provoking, inspiring and deepened my faith.  Then in 1999 I was attending a women’s  Bible Study and we decided to read “In The Grip Of Grace”  Little did I know Max would take me on a journey that would awaken a deep longing to have Jesus in my heart. 

 That journey took us through the book of Romans where I recognized my helplessness in doing things alone and relying on all the wrong things to get me through life’s difficult situations.  I did not think God would love me because no matter how hard I tried I still made the same mistakes. I thought all of these things would keep me apart from His love. I did not know that all I needed to do was to reach out and take the extended hand of God and hold on to the  “grip of His Grace”. 

Max Lucado explains grace that is easy to understand and apply to our lives.   He answers  questions that we may ask ourselves: ” Can I drift too far? Wait too long? Slip too much? Did I out-sin the love of God?”

The answers to these and many other questions we may have are found in this book and in the verse:

Romans 8:38-39 “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither ….anything else in creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

No matter what happens to us, no matter where we are, and no matter what we do, we can never be lost to His love.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books, Home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In The Grip Of Grace

  1. balanceinunblancedworld says:

    God has used Max Lucado’s children’s books to explain HIS wonderful love and grace! I love the one about others giving us dots and stickers, but the creator lovingly sands them off and reminds his creation it doesn’t matter what others think of us.

  2. I love how Lucado thinks “out of the box” about things when it comes to his stories in his books. They are thought provoking!

  3. LLM says:

    I’ve really been set free by grace the last several years of my Christian life. I’ve not read this book by Max Lucado yet…it is now on my list! : ) I also recommend “What’s so amazing about Grace” by Philip Yancey and “Grace Awakening” by Chuck Swindoll. Also – thanks for liking a recent post of mine.

    • I can also recommend “What’s so amazing about Grace” – very powerful. I have not read Grace Awakening, but Chuck Swindoll is also a favorite of mine as well as his sister Lucy. Thank you for the suggestions!
      God in His unique way reached out to me today with a reminder through what you wrote: “Reach out in love with no strings attached. That is grace”, God answered a question for me through you – it is something I needed to be reminded of. Blessings!

  4. sf says:

    I had read this book years ago and had enjoyed it. Max writes so comfortably, in a coffee table book kinda way.

Leave a Reply

