Easy Baked Beans

With summer coming upon us and with it the cook out season, I thought a good easy Baked Bean recipe would be a good way to start my recipe page.
 
It is very easy to make and also easy to change to your personal taste. 
 
A pastor’s wife gave me this recipe years ago after I commented on her baked beans.  With three small children, working outside the home and assuming the duties of a pastor’s wife I wondered how she had the time to cook such great homemade baked beans.  She told me her secret…this is how it all began ~
 
2 large cans of Campbells Baked Beans
sprinkle brown sugar over them
add app 1/4 cup of light corn syrup (more depending on how thick you like them)
add crumbled cooked bacon
mix together and bake in 350 degree oven for an hour or two till thickened.
 
Over the years I changed it a little bit….
 
1 large can of Bush’s regular Home-style Baked Beans
1 small can of Bush’s Onion Baked Beans
1 small can of Bush’s Maple Cured Bacon
a dollop or two ( app 1 or 2 TBL) of BBQ sauce
crumbled cooked bacon
app 1/4 cup of light corn syrup (more depending on how thick you like them)
sprinkle light brown sugar
Mix together and bake in 350 degree oven for an hour or two till thickened
 
For a meal I mix in a little bit of cooked rice and ground beef. 
 
It has been my husband’s favorite for over 15 years – that was the last I made my homemade baked beans from scratch.
 
I hope you all enjoy it –
What is your favorite picnic or cookout dish?  Let us know.
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy Baked Beans

  1. I’m looking forward to picnic and backyard BBQ season! Thanks for sharing this yummy and easy recipe Patty. I’ll be making this in warmer weather for sure. Cheers, Gina

Leave a Reply

