Our Heavy Loads

 “Come to me and I will give you rest – all of you who work so hard beneath a heavy yoke” Matthew 11:28 (T.L.B.)

A yoke is a heavy wooden harness that fits over the shoulders of an ox and is used by the oxen to pull heavy loads.  Images of wagons headed out west come to my mind when I think of a yoke.

For many of us our burdens become heavy loads and it feels as if we, like the oxen, are confined to a yoke as we try to live each day with our burdens getting heavier and heavier, dragging us down.  But the lighter the load the more freely the oxen are able to move and are not dragged down by the extra heavy weight.  The same would apply to us.  The lighter our burdens the more we are free to move forward in our lives. The more burdens we pile on ourselves the heavier our load and harder it is to move forward.

We each have our own struggles of disappointments, hardships, and stress.  For the military family, as we face deployments and separations the yoke becomes one of loneliness and fear that we carry with us in each waking moment.  For me during those days of separation the yoke not only got heavier but also tightened around me to the point I had to remind myself to breathe.  And during my diagnosis of breast cancer I felt as if the heavy load would crush me as I struggled under the heavy yoke of cancer.

I am no minister nor do I have any degree in theology.  I am a housewife and mother still learning how to live one day at a time as I grow daily in my faith.  And one of the things I have learned that to let go of my burdens I first need to learn how to ask for help.

 Jesus invites us to come to Him and we do not have to be alone; throughout the Bible Jesus tells us to be strong and courageous, to not be afraid or terrified and that He goes us with wherever we are ~ He will never leave us or forsake us.  Jesus understands that life is not easy because we live in a world that is filled with sin.

We can go to Him and ask Him to lighten our load; it is as simple as asking. 

If we allow Him, Jesus will refresh our souls and prepare us as to live in this fallen world.  We will eventually learn to let go of the burdens we place on ourselves. Our burdens that destroy and control us will be replaced with His presence. Jesus will help us carry our burdens affirming us and giving us strength that will eventually enable us to break free from the yokes that bind us.

“He will minister to us and through us; he will give us strength and hope and peace and joy, and ever abiding love… Jesus wants us to come to Him and to place our burdens on Him. The invitation is given to each of us. Come to the Lord, come to him with your cares, come to him with your problems, come to him with all the burdens of life and he will help you carry them.” [1]


[1] From personal devotional notes – author unknown
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our Heavy Loads

  1. Georgia Cummons says:

    Well, that sure was encouraging this am. Thanks for posting it. Have read 2 devotionals of encouragement this am, sure hope God is preparing me for some upset today! LOL

    • Patty Beggs says:

      I hope you don’t have any upsets today ~ but if you should, we both know Christ is right there with you ready to help carry your load! Blessings for a hope filled day ~ Patty

  2. The True Light! says:

    Yes we can lighten our earthly burdens at the feet of the Lord and He will carry us through. It may not be in the exact way we pray for, after all, He is not a vending machine! But He promises help and He will deliver it in some form…

    Steve

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you for your comment, yes God always answers and as we look back we can see how He took our heavy loads off and replaced our burdens with His Grace and Mercy.

      • The True Light! says:

        Funny how He does that…lol! You’re welcome for the reply. God loves His children so much and wants them to be happy and secure in their choice to follow Him!

        Have a great day Patty…

        Steve

Leave a Reply

