A Fresh Start For 2012

For many of us, the start of the New Year brings reflections of our past year along with the anticipation for a brand New Year.  It is with that anticipation that I am reminded of Anne of Green Gables who said our tomorrows are fresh and new with no mistakes in it.  That could also be said for our New Year, for 2012 is a fresh new year with no mistakes in it.  But as the wise Miss Stacey reminded Anne, there are no mistakes in it yet.  But that doesn’t stop us from the excitement of looking forward to a new day or starting a new year over with our resolutions to fill our lives with hopes and dreams.

Advent gave me the opportunity to reflect over my past year with all the mistakes and all the blessings to discover fresh dreams and a renewal of hope for an uncertain future.

Each day God called me to Him and showed me to behold the Lamb of God, which is to observe, to study and to recognize Jesus Christ in and around my life.  I am to daily seek Jesus the Lamb of God in everything I do.  Like Brother Lawrence I am to seek Jesus even in the ordinary tasks such as washing the dishes or doing the laundry, two of my least favorite things to do.

I realized that I was limiting God by my expectations of who He is.  I was doing things my way by not trusting God in my daily life.  My motto has been “if you want it done correctly, you have to do it yourself” and that was exactly what I was doing. I was not leaving room for the endless possibilities of a faith filled life.

Over the years like many of us I lost the child like excitement of each new day.  God has shown me that to live a joyful life I need to recapture the “first” wonder of the everyday world around me, anticipating each new day with fresh eyes, like that of a child.  I have discovered once again the eyes and heart of the child I once was, as I try to look forward once again to each new day that are full of opportunities with no mistakes in them “yet”!

So what am I to give my Lord Jesus in 2012? After years of searching it took only 28 days for me to realize that I am only to give Jesus my heart, completely and with the faith of a child…nothing more…nothing less.

As I look forward to 2012 with my life centered on Christ, my hope is to accept the unknown with confidence and continue to grow in faith with what I discover from the 365 fresh new mistake free days.  And as 2012 comes to a close I will step eagerly to the manger in celebration of the birth of Jesus, the Son of God and prepare myself for the wonder of the next New Year and ultimately for His final coming.

As you fulfill your New Years resolutions, I ask that you reflect on 2011 and take what you have discovered with you into 2012.  Live each new day in confidence ready to embrace your challenges, learning from the mistakes yet to be made, and with the wonder of each new day with the eyes of a child you once were.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

