Diversity In A Crayon Box

Diversity In A Crayon Box

Last weekend my daughter
and I attended a retreat along with other women from three Presbyteries in our central region.  We gathered together for
bible study, fellowship, fun, and of course, good food!

The retreat took us on a trip around the world, where we explored “Gods
Wonder Full World”.  Through God’s word, we discovered the uniqueness of each continent and its people.  And, as we “travelled”, we experienced the
beauty in the creativity God has provided in everything He created for us, from the flowers and trees to all the different animals; each unique to every
continent and valuable to each other. 

Being raised in the Army, then living in a multi cultural neighborhood in
New Jersey, I have always been exposed to the many different traditions and
customs of people.  Growing up we never thought of someone as being different.  I was blessed to have known Native Americans, African-Americans, Puerto Ricans, Japanese, Koreans, Italians, Polish, and Jewish people. I am definitely the better person for having known each and every one.

Our country is a melting pot of many different nationalities; our heritage
is as different as the sun is to the moon. And we are not perfect.  Mistakes
have been made over the years but they are being corrected as we each embrace our diverse heritages and appreciate how our diverseness made this country great.

At the end of our retreat, we were given this poem I would like to share
with you.   

Just A Box of Crayons

While walking in a toy store                                                                                                   
The day before today,
I over heard a Crayon Box
With many things to say.
 
“I don’t like red!” said Yellow.
And Green said, “Nor do I”!
And no one here likes Orange,
But no one knows quite why.
 
“We are a box of crayons
That really doesn’t get along”
Said Blue to all the others.
“Something here is wrong!”
 
Well, I bought that box of crayons
And took it home with me
And laid out all the crayons
So the crayons could all see
 
They watched me as I colored
With Red and Blue and Green
And Black and White and Orange
And every color in between.
 
They watched as Green became the grass
And blue became the sky.
The yellow sun was shining bright
On White Clouds drifting by.
 
Colors changing as they touched,
Becoming something new.
They watched me as I colored.
They watched till I was through.
 
And when I‘d finally finished
I began to walk away.
And as I did the Crayon Box
had something more to say…..
 
“I do like Red!” said the Yellow
And Green said, “So do I!”
And Blue you are terrific!
“So high up in the sky.”
 
“We are a Box of Crayons
Each of us unique,
But when we get together
The picture is complete”
— written by Shane De Rolf

When we all work together combining our colors and talents that God has
given us, our world will indeed be a complete colorful picture of what God has
created.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Diversity In A Crayon Box

  1. I like the poem very much. It would be wonderful if this country could learn how
    to become a complete picture. I hate the fact that there is bickering going on.
    But I am a child of God first and then a citizen of this world, to a citizen
    of America, living outside of Philadelphia and finally a member of my family.
    Be even families bicker and but we mend. Why can’t Americans and others
    living here learn how to be like families and mend their differences?

  2. Debbie Hamilton McLaughlin says:

    Great blog Patty, and great poem. I wish more people would appreciate and respect each other more. Let’s hope one day we get to live in a world where rascim and persecution are resigned to the history books and people learn to embrace our wonderful unique differences :o)

  3. Patty Beggs says:

    We have made such great progress over the years but there is still so much that needs done. It begins with us to keep the road clear for future generations to make what Debbie said “where rascim and perecution are resigned to the history books” and like RoseAnn said “…learn how to live like families”.
    Thank you for your input. I enjoy hearing from you.

  4. DKW says:

    Really like this! Aren’t we all guilty of this thing called prejudice!

    • Patty Beggs says:

      Yes, you are right Doretta we all have a tendency to think less of others and think only our color matters. That is why it is important to start with each of us to break this cycle of prejudice.

Leave a Reply

