The Stillness Of The Morning

Psalm 23:2-3 “He makes me
lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters, He restores my soul.”  (NIV)

There is nothing special about the view from my deck.  There are no green pastures or quiet waters. In the spring the trees come alive again and are full of their bright  green leaves.  They now hide the mountain view that we enjoyed during the autumn and winter.   I can hear the whisper of God as the leaves gently move in the morning breeze that make known His Presence. It is here that God restores my soul.  The stillness of the mornings gives me time to reflect on God’s Word before the busyness of the day begins.

We have been blessed by being able to travel and enjoy the beauty of God’s creation in many places.  We have stood in awe on the tip of Niagara Falls; we have been to the top of the world at the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon and marveled at what God created. The ocean can only be described as something that is so powerful yet so calming.

But the back of my house on my deck is my refuge; it is the first thing in the morning that calls out to me.   Here I sit and hear the sounds of nature: the morning call of the birds and squirrels, the tap, tap, tap of the woodpeckers.  On more than one occasion, I have caught glimpses of cardinals soaring through the trees.  Not that long ago, I read that when a red bird flies in your path it is a sign from God that He loves us and has not abandoned us.  For me, it is a reassurance of God’s presence in my life.

This is not the only place I spend with God.  When it rains and or is too cold to sit on the deck, I sit on my front porch or my sacred space inside the house.  The view is different but the sounds are the same and the Spirit of God is with me through the Grace of Jesus Christ.

When my quiet time is disrupted because of over sleeping or busy mornings I find other ways to keep my morning time with God. I admire the morning sun as it just peeks out at just the right moment to create spectacular bright sun rays through the clouds,  giving a glimpse of the radiance of heaven.  Then there is music. On my way to work I sing God’s praises and worship Him with the wonderful gift of words and melodies.  I may be out of tune but my heart sings in perfect harmony to each song.

Each morning, I find that my green pastures are singing praises to God as I enjoy the green landscapes that I pass on my daily drive to work.  My quiet waters are when I reflect on God’s Word, sitting on my deck enjoying the view that prepares me for each day.

Where is your place of refuge?   Go there often.  Whether your quiet time is in the stillness of the morning or in quietness of the evening, find restoration in your green pastures and quiet waters. Embrace the peace that is from Jesus Christ. It is a peace “which transcends all understanding, that will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7.  (NIV)

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Daily Devotions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Stillness Of The Morning

  1. Patty,
    I loved this wonder insight into your time with our Lord. My time is just before I go to sleep at night. I don’t know if you noticed but I always mention having a date on facebook as my sign off for the day. That is my quiet place and it is a wonder to have His Word taking root in my heart little by little again. It has been too long and dry without Him.
    Thanks for sharing the link.
    RoseAnn
    My site is up and running: http://www.flowerofgracephotographs.com

  2. The True Light! says:

    It is so important to find ways to keep our time with God! You make a very good point here!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

