Welcome

Welcome everyone to my very first blog.  Let me begin with saying I never thought in a million years I would be sitting here with my cup of tea, writing down my thoughts to share with friends and family.  

It all started with a journaling class a few years ago, when I found fulfillment by expressing myself with writing.  My father was a story teller and he once told me I come from a long line of story tellers, passing down family history, stories, tall tales and legends from generation to generation.  He died when I was 14 yrs old, and I often wonder about all the stories I had missed out on.  I guess in a sense I am caring on that tradition of story telling through my writing. 

Recently an opportunity came up as I realized that like me there are many parents out there with children in the military.  Unlike me though, many have no military ties and have nowhere to go and no one to talk to who is going through the same experiences.  As I read  from Proverbs 16:9  ” A mans mind plans his ways, but the Lord directs his steps” and from Isaiah 30:21 “whether you turn to the right or to the left your ears will hear a voice behind you saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it'” , that God was gently showing me the path that I am to take through His Word and all I had to do was to listen.  God also has a way of putting special people in our lives and it was after a suggestion from a new friend and an old one, encouragement from a very dear friend Debbie, praying with my Spiritual Director and especially the support of my husband Tom, I was able to get out from my comfort zone and listen to Gods voice calling me to step out in faith and trust Him.   

This is a work in progress and I hope you enjoy it as I find my way through the wonderful world of blogging!

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Welcome. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Welcome

  1. Debbie Hamilton McLaughlin says:

    I’m sure your Dad would be so proud of you Patty. You have such a kind and big heart and I know there are a lot of people out there who are going to enjoy reading your blogs, military and non military. May God bless you on this new and exciting adventure x

    Like

  2. I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. You can find it here: simplyjuliana.wordpress.com/Very Inspiring Blogger Award

    Like

  3. hopesquires says:

    Patty — thanks so much for listening to God’s call and sharing your stories. I love that you’re carrying on the tradition of story telling that comes from your father (and the generations before). I look forward to browsing through your blog and learning from the stories you have chosen to share.

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by and your kind words. My little world here in north central PA has grown so much through the wold of blogging. I look also look forward to learning and growing through your articles.
      Blessings ! Patty

      Like

      • hopesquires says:

        Patty — thanks for stopping by again to check out this week’s guest post. It occurs to me that my guest blogger’s book Love Letters to a Child may work especially well for military families, who seem to be a remnant of our population that hasn’t abandoned the art of writing real letters.

        Like

      • I was thinking the same thing when I read it earlier today. With your permission I will post the link to this article on Military Moms and Dads and also reblog for my book review/military family section. Thank you! Blessings – Patty

        Like

  4. imconfident says:

    Hi Patty, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award. Follow this link for more information – http://imconfident.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/1032/

    Like

  5. Hi Patty. Thank you so much for stopping in at On Faith and Writing. I appreciate you taking the time to say hello. I will come back when I have more time and visit longer. God bless.

    Like

  6. Hi Patty.

    Pleased to meet you. :).

    My name is Kevin Gillespie, I do, MUCH prefer, however, to be called Kev. :). I live in Wales. :).

    Thank You for Following my Blog, MUCH Appreciated. :).

    I am now Following your Blog too. :).

    Best Wishes. 🙂
    Kev. 🙂

    Like

    • Patty B says:

      Nice to meet you too – Wales always reminds me of a fairy tale place to live. I have never been lucky to visit but the pictures I have seen are breathtaking. Thank you for the follow back, as I get back into my routine I look forward to reading your blog with my evening cuppa!

      Like

  7. Bird says:

    We have so much in common! My youngest daughter is in the Air Force. I feel like the Lord pushed me out of my comfort zone to begin writing as well. You are right. The Lord directs our steps. I’ve been blogging for a couple of years now, and it has made a big difference in my life.

    My father, too, is a talented storyteller. He had a brush with death last year, and I am presently collecting his stories and writing them down. He told me the same thing — we’re from a long line of them.

    Thank you for your comment on my post. It really helps to hear encouragement from fellow Christians.

    ~ Bird

    Like

  8. Hello Patty! A great initiative to fulfill your dreams indeed. Thank you and hope to read your stories and get peaceful sleeps! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

