Fresh Color ~ Fresh Start

house_paint_sI decided to have my living room and den painted and to rearrange those rooms into a different look.  It has been years since my house had a make over and I decided this would be the year.

I need a fresh start.  I am unable to  move nor do I want to at this time. This became the opportunity for me change my life, starting with my home.

“There is a time to grieve and a time to dance” {Ecclesiastes 3:4}  There is indeed a time under each season for us to grow.  A time to grieve, a time to heal and a time to begin again.

Now is the time for me to dance ~ to heal ~ to begin again as I take that giant leap, moving ahead with my memories kept lovingly tucked in my heart while I lay the past to rest ~ tearing the past down and building up a new life.  {“A time to tear down and a time to build up” Ecclesiastes 3:3}

The problem is I am no longer 3o and definitely not 20! What was I thinking??!!

It all started with the decision to plant a few shrubs, a new picture or two and the rearranging of the upstairs so my daughter can have a “living room”.

Tom and I did most of the work ourselves over the years but then we were younger and more energetic.  So I decided to hire someone to do the painting for me. 

Sounded like a good idea until I realized I still needed to pack everything up and move furniture and boxes to the kitchen, my bedroom and upstairs.  

Since I had plenty of time from when I made the arrangements I kept putting it off and as most will laugh as you know the time is here before we know it.  I had procrastinated long enough, P-day is near (Paint Day!)

p2So for the next week or two I may be AWOL.  The painter comes Monday and since I am going a bit lighter it may take up to three 3 days to get enough coats to cover my nice deep country colors, not to mention patching up 20 years of holes from new pictures, rearranging and dogs eating my walls – yes you read right! 

And of coarse I need to put everything back.  Thankfully I do have help, my good friend will be stopping by to  help today or tomorrow and as my daughter said, we will end up talking and laughing while she does all the work!

During all my “projects” from my honey do list I have had many people help me out either doing it for me or by teaching me how to become a Mrs. Fix It.  My sister and brother in law have really stepped in and words cannot express how much I appreciate their help during this past year.

With mixed emotions I look forward to the day when I am done and have rearranged not only my living room and den but my life to be fresh and new.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Fresh Color ~ Fresh Start

  1. Happy P-Days Patty!

  2. sharrielynn says:

    How wonderful! Nothing freshens things up like a new coat of paint :)

  3. I think that painting and some new decorating will really help. You of course will still have your memories but can start making new ones in your new environment…. take care Patty.. Diane

  4. lexiesnana says:

    I love it when things look fresh after painting. It does a mind good to see all that freshness.

    • Patty B says:

      yes it does. The garden I planted in the front was the best thing I could have done. Now I am an energizer bunny, well maybe not a energizer more like a bunny running on a low battery but hey I am moving!!! :D

  5. Ahh a fresh paint job! Your hard work will pay off Patty. I can’t wait until you’re able to sit back and gaze at your new digs. :)
    Diana xo

  6. Sweet Dear Friend, I’m so excited for you! Even just rearranging my furniture after a long whole peps me up as far as my home layout. :) You’ll have so much fun putting the room’s new “personality” together! Have fun!!

  7. margaret21 says:

    As ever, I’m in awe of your courage and ‘can-do’ attitude. Good luck with this most challenging of challenges. I’m sure it will all be worthwhile.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you but I know it is not my courage or attitude but that of Christ. With Jesus I know I can tackle any challenges. As bad as my walls look it will definitely be worthwhile even if we don’t like the color on the wall!! How can we go wrong with the color “beach house”!

  8. Oh I can so relate to this situation. We moved into a fixer upper a couple of months ago, and decided we cant live with the walls the way they were. So we hired painters and they never show up…only two times in a four week period. My house is literally a construction zone and I am about to lose my mind. I can’t find anyone to replace them…so we are in quiet the dilemma my friend. My advice, take a room or two make it comfy so you can endure the mess for ever how long it may take. Happy fourth!!!!

    • Patty B says:

      AGH…don’t tell me that!! Already the painter said he may not make until Tuesday. He did our swirl ceilings around 20 yrs ago and they still look great and he has a good reputation, but that said…I will feel better once he gets here and does the job. I am taking off work and would hate to take off more to get this done. Unfortunately I have no room left to make comfy, it is filled with all the living rm/den stuff. But I have the deck so I guess as long as the weather holds out I can escape to my deck. I know what you mean about losing your mind and it has only been 2 days since I started to move and pile things up. My daughter has already told me I better not be up all night moving things back after the painters leave – boy does she know me!!
      Good luck with your home I pray you get things back to normal soon. Hugs…

  9. russtowne says:

    I’m glad to hear of the steps you’re taking toward healing, Patty. May your dance be joyous, my friend.
    Russ

  10. I hope the final product is something you can really settle into and enjoy! Maybe you can post a couple before and after pics. Happy 4th!

  11. Sheryl says:

    What a wonderful project! I’m also hoping that you post a few photos when you are done. I also feel like it’s more difficult to tackle remodeling projects now than when we was younger. For example, we want to get new carpeting in the living room but just the thought of having to move everything makes us keep putting it off.

    • Patty B says:

      All this sprucing up and fixing things have been good therapy that is for sure. And I can understand how you feel about the carpet. If it were not for the dogs I would be read to rip out the carpet and use the hardwood underneath with decorative throw rugs. It is the original hardwood and not in 100% perfect shape but when we got the new carpet we found it considering how old it is it is in really good shape. But in a few years I will be back to taking things out of the rooms to pull up the carpets. I don’t even want to think about it!

  12. Good on you, Patty, for getting help to do the painting. I hope you have lots of fun along the way.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    • Patty B says:

      I always like moving things around and “sprucing” things up so once all the work is done and I can fix it up again I will be happy.

  13. Tiny says:

    All the best for your P-days!

  14. Wonderful post, Patty. There’s a time to embrace fresh changes, starting with color. Our asst. pastor when I was growing up worked as a paint mixer for Sears. After a family suffered the loss of a family member, his wife took a casserole and fresh bread by as comfort food. His job later, usually months later but it could be any time, was to furnish the paint and work to freshen up a room in the house, or paint the porch, or add color to kitchen cabinets. He softly sang hymns as he worked, and when he died in the late 70s, as people passed by his casket at the cemetery, instead of tossing in flowers on top of the casket, many tossed in paint chips to thank him for the color he’d brought into their lives.

    • Patty B says:

      What a mission! he sure used his talents for good. I like what people did at his funeral, a true testimony of a faithful servant. Change is good no matter how small. Thank you for sharing that story – it reassured me that this was indeed a right thing to do.

  15. Elizabeth says:

    It’s good to fresh up. After everything is done, you will be glad you did it! Good lucky and show us some pics after everything is done. Happy Sunday!

  16. Denise Hisey says:

    You are a marvel, Patty!

    Now, think about this P-Day can also mean Patty-Day!

  17. Iñigo Boy says:

    So cool! My mom keeps reaarranging our house and so at times I couldn’t find my stuff! Hahahha! But I always love how the room looks after she finishes rearranging :D
    I hope you share a photo of your living room and den when you’re done:)

    • Patty B says:

      ha ha Tom used to say the same thing. He would always come home to a “new” house when he was away for military trainings. Creative minds think a like!!

  18. Patty – You are indeed a brave woman. I’m looking forward to hearing about your new lighter colors and what colors you actually selected. I’m happy you hired someone to do the actual painting. Tom was always my capable and perfectionist painter. I loved that without batting an eye he agreed to doing the process in my office that no matter where I look, the walls are a soft sky blue and with his delicate touch, I see clouds everywhere.
    You have come so far this past year. I know it’s not easy and being on your own after being a couple is not exactly a cake walk but you are giving all of us a plan that should we need to, we will be able to come back and read your blogs and understand the process ‘Patty took.’
    I think the idea of giving your daughter her own ‘living room’ is a terrific idea. I love the concept. With love and prayers, Sheri

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Sheri for your uplifting and encouraging words. As we know it is through the power of the Holy Spirit I have gotten this far. I have also gained much strength from you and others who have walked this walk before. Just like I had to learn there is life after cancer, there is indeed after life after someone we love dies. Thank you for always being here for me. I treasure you!

  19. Deb says:

    Hello. Diane sent me over to visit your blog. I lost my husband April 23rd, and she thought perhaps your blog would give me new hope. I can’t say that I envy you for your P-Day work, just the feeling that must come with it.

    • Patty B says:

      Deb I am glad you stopped by – Diane is such a caring person and I know she is one of many people I have gained strength from. I am so sorry that you have to experience the pain and heartache of losing your husband. I left a message on your page and if you ever need to talk please feel free to contact me. We are both in a sisterhood neither one of us wanted. You know to this day I still have trouble saying the word “widow” – because I still feel very much married.

      • Deb says:

        Diane is such a sweetie and I’m glad she found my blog a while back. She’s traveled this road with me and prayed for me along the way. Thank you for visiting as well.

      • Patty B says:

        Continue to lean on Diane and others right now – you do not have to go through this alone.

  20. Hi Patty, I’d like to give you a link if you don’t mind to a friend and fellow blogger who lost her husband just 2-3 months ago I think it is….. He was ill with different medical conditions but especially his lungs. Anyway his wife Deb… in her 50’s I think is having a very difficult time and while she manages to hold down her job.. she’s really struggling. I feel that ‘empathy’ where one has actually ‘been there’ is much stronger than sympathy and so I hope you don’t mind me connecting you with her… I gave her a link to your site, and she said she is going to pop over….. Here’s her link Diane http://dlrjournal.wordpress.com/2014/07/13/where-have-i-been/

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – I will contact her. I am sorry I have been neglecting my messages, but now that the painting is done and the house put back together I am returning to my normal routine. You are right the empathy is much stronger. Although both have seen me through, it was those who have lost their husbands that really carried me and built my strength. God bless you for being such a caring friend.

  21. Patty I have only just started following you so I’m unaware of what you are grieving about, I did try to understand by looking back but I can’t find why. Please forgive me if I’m being intrusive but I don’t just want to just have a guess why in case I’m in error.

    Christian Love – Anne

    • Patty B says:

      Anne, bless your heart, you are not being intrusive. Last year my husband died suddenly at home with me and my daughter nearby. He was here one minute talking to me not 5 minutes before he decided to take a nap and never woke up. My son said it beautifully, he went to sleep here and woke up in the presence of God. Comforting yes, but still painful.

      • Dear Patty, my heart feels such sadness for you, I’m finding it hard to write, how you must miss him especially in the quiet of the morning and at night.

        We know we don’t grieve as those who have no Hope do but we still miss our Loved ones and yet as long as they are in our heart, they are not far from us.

        Dear Aba Father please bring your comfort to Patty in the times that she feels lost without her husband, the very special Man she Loved and who Loved her, may she feel your arms through others Compassion, may she find comfort in the words of those who understand, bless her with healing tears when she grieves and may she feel your strength when trials come and also know she is not alone, You are always with her as you tell us in the Scriptures, You understand, You were also separated from your Son, may Your Loving words always be a reality for Patty to hold onto until they are together again. In Jesus Name, Amen

        Christian Love Always – Anne

      • Patty B says:

        Thank you Anne for allowing God to speak through you – your prayer touched my heart today. I would indeed be lost if I did not have the love of God in my life to wipe away my tears and His promises to help me face each day. My mother also had a saying about how we keep our loved ones alive when we think of them – yes, they live on in our hearts until the day we are reunited again. God bless you – Patty

  22. sf says:

    Paint jobs are tough stuff. It wasn’t until I had started painting a room, that I had realized that I was more afraid of heights than I had expected to be. I couldn’t get myself to step on the second-to-top step (very top step having a DO NOT STEP message on it, of course – hehe). So every time I’d watch a handywork show somewhere and see how the folks can get on top on ladders all the way to the top or on a higher up ladder, I so wish I could do the same. Painting ceilings is the worst for me. My arms tire of the work so quickly and my face gets all messed up when scraping old paint off or painting new paint on. It’s a messy job! But when it’s all done and the place is kinda like shining all new, what a rewarding thing to look at! Glad for ya that you and your husband are taking on such a tough task, and are able to get some help from your friend too. What’s nice is if you end up even do some creative re-arranging with your furniture and stuffs. Have fun and don’t forget to take enough breaks in between the Paint Day work!

    • Patty B says:

      You are right, but when I was younger I did not mind it too much. I know we did not know each other last year and so you would not have known, but my husband passed away suddenly so this painting and sprucing up the front of my house has been therapeutic for me in many ways in helping to deal with things as I learn to live again.
      I like how you said, the place is all shining all new, and it all shining and new or as my dad would spit shine perfect – just what I needed. Blessings!

      • Keith Lannon says:

        Bless you mightily my blogging friend. What an incredibly brave step. Excellent therapy and a great way to mark new beginnings. Making new memories whilst treasuring the old ones. Take lots of pictures to record your ventures and give good reason to make new holes in those walls. Big hug to you. X Amanda

      • Patty B says:

        Thanks Amanda, I like what you said, give good reasons to make new holes in my walls…now that is a good attitude to have! ;)

Leave a Reply

