Sing Sing Sing by Benny Goodman

I grew up listening to the great Big Bands of the 30’s and 40’s.  My father had them on the old 38’s and on his reel to reel recorder similar to the picture I found on google.

My fondest memories are Sunday afternoons coming in from playing outside all morning to the tunes of the greatest musicians; Benny Goodman, Glenn Miller and Harry James just to name a few.

Sing, Sing, Sing is one of my favorites and to jump start the week, turn your volume up and enjoy the fantastic sounds of yesteryear when music was music!

Later on in the afternoon with the music turned off and we would watch John Wayne defeat the German or Japanese army single handed! ;)

 

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Music, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sing Sing Sing by Benny Goodman

  1. My feet are tapping ~ ready to dance! ♥

  2. gpcox says:

    The Big Bands had a sound all their own – I still listen to them! Great post, Patty, Thanks! ;)

  3. Bernice says:

    What a nice memory!

  4. We love the Big Band music… and the movies of the era too Diane

  5. I love those bands too – especially Glenn Miller. I also love Henry Mancini and his orchestra and old tunes like Stardust, Moon River, Smoke Gets in Your Eyes etc.

  6. Sheryl says:

    This post brings back memories of my family going to hear Fred Waring and the Pennsylvanians in Williamsport when I was a child. We almost never went to shows when I was a kid–but my father really liked the big band sound of this group–so somehow he managed to take us to the show.

  7. Beautiful flowers on your banner photo, by the way!

  8. Sartenada says:

    Wonderful memories. I remember it when my hobby was DX-listening (long distance radio listening around the world). Very enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

