Just when I thought it was safe to leave the house ~

 Just when I thought it was safe to leave the house I was hit again with another case of the shingles.  Thankfully this last episode was not as severe and I thank my doctor for “squeezing” me in-between his other appointments so I was able to start another round of medication before the rash even started.  I did miss more work and I felt as if a mack truck had hit me.  I was down and out again for a few days.  Face it, it has indeed been a long winter of sickness for me.  So much so that my daughter said next winter she is putting me in a bubble.  Sounds good to me!

But, this will soon behind me.  Spring has finally sprung and I have my windows opened letting in plenty of fresh air.  The past week the sweet music of the birds filled my house, so although I was home sick, I was able to enjoy the sounds of spring.

Now it is back to catching up.  Not only is my housework piling up but my desk is overflowing to the point I am using a tv tray to catch the overflow.

God is never one to waste a teaching moment and these past few months He taught me patience.  And it only took 50 + yrs for me to learn!  So although soon, I will no longer see my desk, as things are piling up on my kitchen table and my dust bunnies are having little bunnies I realized those things are not as important as I would want them to be.  Patience for me came in the form of allowing Gods timing to work and not to rush my recuperation because I did not think it is happening fast enough because I wanted my routine back.  Developing patience I found that if the dishes sit on the kitchen counter or my bed is not made, the world still goes on.  Imagine that!!

Not only does the world still turn and a new day dawns, but I found my life got simpler.  Its been a long time since I have stopped long enough to not only smell the roses but to drink in my surroundings, enjoying the beauty of living within the city limits.  The way the street lamp casts its golden glow through my windows. The sound of the train as it makes it way through our little city in the evening.  And like today the cool spring breeze winding its way through all my rooms with the sounds of the neighborhood filling my home – you know the sounds; children playing, dogs barking and the sound that cars make in the distance, to name a few.

 So another lesson learned from my Heavenly Father – When I learned to accept what is, and embrace life in each present moment, my impatience turned to blessings.  So although I can’t say I embraced having shingles, I did learn to accept it for what it was and to enjoy my time resting in my comfortable surroundings. A good attitude is indeed the best medicine.

“Patience is not the ability to wait, but the ability to keep a good attitude.” {unknown}

“Patience and perseverance, if we have them, overcome mountains of difficulties” {M G Gandhi}

“The keys to patience are acceptance and faith. Accept things as they are, and look realistically at the world around you. Have faith in yourself and in the direction you have chosen.”

 

- Ralph Marston
Read more at http://www.beliefnet.com/Inspiration/2010/04/Quotes-on-Patience.aspx?p=9#lk5IuYM

“The keys to patience are acceptance and faith. Accept things as they are, and look realistically at the world around you. Have faith in yourself and in the direction you have chosen.”

 

- Ralph Marston
Read more at http://www.beliefnet.com/Inspiration/2010/04/Quotes-on-Patience.aspx?p=9#lk5IuYMK2DfMKDM1.99

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Just when I thought it was safe to leave the house ~

  1. Oh nooooo! They are so painful… again! I so hope that indeed the medications will halt the progression… The sounds of spring are here too and they do help to offset some of the stresses that are present. The tulips are poking their noses through the earth, the Robins are looking for worms and soon we will have lilacs in the yard as the buds are on the tips of the branches…. Let’s hope for you and I that the summer is ‘illness free’ so as to drink it in… body, soul and spirit.. take care Patty… Diane xoxo

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Diane, yes spring is sure good medicine to get these winter blahs and illnesses out of our systems. Doing better and looking forward to getting back in my routine, I missed reading my blogs and spending my evenings with all of you. :)

  2. LubbyGirl says:

    Sure sorry you’re having to endure this again, but you have some wonderful insights on this. I think I may share this with my neighbor, who I’ve finally gotten to meet. She could use some encouragement like this.

  3. You are an amazing woman. I hope you are fully recovered soon. :) HUGS!
    Diana xo

  4. Katie says:

    Sorry for your suffering but glad you found a positive lesson we all could use. 8)

  5. Mustang.Koji says:

    Oh, Patty… I did not know you had a relapse of the shingles. Oh, my… Although I have not endured it, my aunt and Mrs. Johnson both did and they couldn’t express fully how they felt. I hope the medications do help.

    I am so happy you were able to find the happiness in your daily life through this last episode. As Gary Cooper said in Sgt. York, “The lord works in mysterious ways.” And your Spring sounds so delicious indeed. *Smiling*

    • Patty B says:

      I stopped asking God “why” a long time ago and I am learning to just accept things as they are. It only took me over 50 years to learn this!! lol Today you would not think our spring is delicious, rain and cold – it should be 25 degrees tonight. Old man winter is fighting to stay. :)

  6. I am so sorry you are suffering another bout of shingles. I am told that it is very painful so I wish you a speedy recovery.

    Your post has been very good for me today, recovering, as I am from a bout of pneumonia and feeling so impatient that I cannot do all the things I love (apart from knitting -Knitting for Wool Against Weapons is keeping me sane!) I have to learn and practse patience and will try hard to learn from your wisdom.

    All the best to you, Patty,
    Sally

    • Patty B says:

      I am sorry you are under the weather as well. Prayers for a quick recovery for you. I would love to learn more about knitting for Wool against weapons, sounds like a great cause. If you would not mind, when you are feeling better send me some information. Easter blessings to you and your family!

  7. Shingles shingles go away! Patty has other stuff to do! (Sorry….no rhyme this time!) ;)

    I do hope you feel better. And I greatly appreciate your outlook and beautiful attitude. :)

  8. I hope you feel better soon. Your amazing attitude is sure to speed up the healing process!

  9. Patty, it sounds as though you have thoroughly embraced this time with the Lord. That’s something we rarely do when faced with God’s imposed times of rest. When you allow yourself to drink in His splendor, you will surely see Him in a new way as He draws closer to you.

    • Patty B says:

      You are so right Susan, sometimes we need these need times so that we can drink in His splendor – and illness is the only way to slow us down.

  10. Denise Hisey says:

    Ouch!
    Glad you are feeling better, and that you basked in His presence while you were recuperating.

  11. Sheryl says:

    Shingles are not fun! I’m glad that you are on the road to recovery.

  12. I pray you are all better soon. Thank you for reminding us of this truly important lesson: patience, patience, patience!

  13. gpcox says:

    I can not imagine what you’re going thru with those shingles. A fellow worker I knew had them and she was in agony. I sincerely hope all of your symptoms fade soon!!

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – they are finally going away and only a few episodes of pain – hopefully they too will soon fade away. It feels good to be back to normal and reading my blogs again, I sure did miss it.

  14. Gee, Patty! More prayers sent up for you! Special thoughts too. :)

  15. I am wishing a warm, gentle spring for you.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Hilary after a beautiful sunny and warm weekend, old man winter is making his last stand! ;) Easter blessings to you and your family.

  16. Praying for your recovery. I know those things are super painful!

  17. margaret21 says:

    So sorry about your shingles. My husband has had 2 bouts in the last year, so I know at (thankfully for me) second hand experience how wretched it is. Glad you’re on the way up!

  18. JanBeek says:

    I pray for your healing, PattyB. I am so sorry about your shingles. Bless you for finding the pony in the pile of cr*@ … for reminding us there are blessings in our trials if we remain faithful to look for them. Now about that venture outside … :)

  19. Sorry to hear about your health. Thank you for your lesson on not trying to do everything ‘yesterday’. Hope you are better in health now your weather has changed. :) Susan

  20. kerisjournal says:

    Oh no! Praying. I had chicken pox as an adult but hear shingles is much worse. Get better quick♡

  21. My mother had a terrible case of the singles–SO painful. I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

