The Hurrier I Go The Behinder I Get

 I have always loved this saying, “The Hurrier I Go The Behinder I Get” and these past few weeks that is exactly what I felt my life was becoming.

Things were busy as usual but going rather well.  The weather we thought was getting better, so I started some spring cleaning, attended a workshop, continued with my bible study and even had things organized to finish my yearly report due the first of April. All was looking up for March.  Then I got sick with another cold followed by a case of shingles.  And of coarse it was on the left side of my head and in my scalp.  It affected my left eye, although thankfully I am not experiencing any lasting side effects in the eye.  But since it was near the eye not only did I have trouble focusing but I could not wear my glasses, so I could not read, write, or sew.  All I could do is watch tv and sleep.  I never realized not only is singles painful but it drains you of all energy.  In the midst of this we had to get the den ready to make over into my sewing room and my old sewing room into a sitting room of sorts for my daughter.  Add all of that to daylight savings time and losing an hour and you can understand why I am behind in everything.

Now here I sit on a Sunday night after being at work for one full week and the rooms in my house switched over looking over everything that did not get done while I was under the weather.  All my best laid plans to get caught up this weekend only made me realize that the more I hurried around getting things the more I was actually getting behind.  So I made myself a cup of tea and decided to get back to writing, my therapy when things go crazy.

I am on the mend and slowly getting my energy back and my house is once again organized and I do not have stacks of books all over my den and my sewing supplies are not in three different rooms.  Our dogs actually have their couch back!

To get us off to a bright and cheery start for the week I wanted to pick a favorite song that is indeed a toe tapping knee slapping song.  “A Place In The Choir” sung by Celtic Thunder, is also a tribute to George Donaldson one of the original singers who passed away March 12, 2014.  No one could roll their “r’s” like George in many of the songs he sings. 

Enjoy the song as you start off your week and I pray that all of you have a blessed week full of love, peace and joy!

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Music, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to The Hurrier I Go The Behinder I Get

  1. Glad you’re getting your strength back but it will still likely be awhile.. I know though it does feel good when there’s a lot of things cleared up that start to bug you…. but don’t overdo !… Diane

    • Patty B says:

      Thanks Diane, I never thought having shingles would drain me of my energy. Something I must live with for now but I hope it will be short lived.

  2. margaret21 says:

    What a wonderful turn of phrase! It’s becoming part of my vocabulary as from NOW. And I shall use it a lot this week, Moving Back Week. Glad you’re on the mend. I thought you’d beeen a bit silent.

    • Patty B says:

      Good luck with your move – soon you will be back to the white cliffs of Dover (did I say that right?!) I have to chuckle at what you said, thinking I was a bit silent, I must admit I am not known for being silent!! lol :D

  3. Feel better soon Patty! God bless!

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – God is good and I praise Him that it was not more severe. He has really been through a lot with me, so thankful He keeps His promises to watch over us.

  4. Glad you’re feeling better. I love that saying, have heard it a time or two. Along with “my rememberer is broken but my forgetter is working great”. ;) And I love this video, and will miss George so much, love them. Blessings to his family.

    • Patty B says:

      I love that saying too, I will have to remember that one. So true in our “old’ age. And yes George will be missed by many but not as much as his family. I understand he was a great guy – that doesn’t surprise me.

  5. imconfident says:

    Just take care of yourself, shingles do take a lot out of you. My mom had it and she really suffered. As for the saying – I used to work for a Mennonite lady and we sold many items with that saying on it – I still have some napkins kicking around somewhere. Hope you soon have your strength back!

    • Patty B says:

      We live near the Amish and that is a popular saying, I also have a few things with that on it. It is difficult but I am trying to take it easy and sleep when I need it. Did a good 2 hr nap today after leaving work early.

  6. I’m guessing that’s a father and his sons on your you tube link? Lovely voices!
    Diana xo

    • Patty B says:

      Actually George is the eldest on the group – (bald head) and the one that passed away, the rest are just band members and since this a few left and were replaced.

  7. Sending healing heartfelt hugs xoxo

  8. Enjoyed your post and so glad you are regaining your strength. Blessings for your week. Debra

  9. Prayers, Patty! Gee, you have been through the mill! Take care and so thankful for your sharing. :)

  10. Espirational says:

    Love A Place in the Choir and love Celtic Thunder. So sad to here of George Donaldson’s passing.

    Sorry to hear about your Shingles. I had them in my 30′s and it wasn’t fun. Mine were mostly on my back and I didn’t have the eye complications but treatment was delayed because of another complication. Hope you get better soon.

  11. Tiny says:

    I’m happy you’re getting better and hope you’ll be completely healed soon!

  12. Loved the song. Made me smile!

  13. good read Patty…I must say I can relate to what you saying! When I came home from the hospital after my stroke, I had a lot of down time – I wasn’t even allowed on the computer for 3 months! I just spent my time worrying about what I wasn’t doing….then the Lord humbled me when I saw that the world seemed to get along pretty well without me! Very encouraging post!

    • Patty B says:

      Isn’t it amazing how the world gets along without us!! :) The world may get along without you but we all need you and your encouraging and uplifting blog! Glad you are doing well after your stroke –

  14. 1annecasey says:

    I hadn’t heard that phrase before, but I love it! It is so easy to get caught up in the busyness of living. Sometimes we need to be stopped in our tracks so we can take stock and realise what is really important in our lives. Luckily we have our little Monty to drag us out into nature every day – always good for centring the soul! Best wishes for a complete recovery Patty and I hope things get less busy for you. : )))

  15. I’m not sure I’ve ever heard that expression before! But I totally get it. I have undoubtedly experienced it myself.

  16. Katie says:

    Hope all is better now and you are recovered and caught up! 8)

  17. Mustang.Koji says:

    Patty… I’m sorry this post slipped by… I hope things have improved for you by now. Shingles is so ugly; did you try the vaccination before you got it? I heard it may not work all the time…

    But your hurrier, the behinder thing is so true! What is it with life at times that make this so unavoidable?? Sometimes, I think it’s just me but it happened to you, too!

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you for your concern, yes thankfully I am doing much better still do not have much energy, it had really zapped me. I pray I never get them again. For once I wish I was over 60 – so that I would be able to get the vaccine, but alas I am not, I must wait for my insurance to pay for it. I feel as if I have ticking time bomb inside of me. As far as that saying, that seems to be my life’s motto with each passing year!! lol It is always a joy to have you stop by.

      • Mustang.Koji says:

        We have to wait until 60??? Didn’t know that! At least that’s but a few months for me. And I can’t figure out why alerts stop coming when people post. It seems like every so often, the “+’s” to indicate follow change to “-”… :-( Get better, Patty! Your cousin is going amok! Lol

      • Patty B says:

        California may different for the vaccine, but here in PA I have to wait and pray I don’t get them again. I get “hiccups” often from wordpress…I am sure he is going amok – patience is not in our families vocabulary!! lol

      • Mustang.Koji says:

        You know what’s funny? You cuz just had the same problem!

  18. I’ve heard that’s really rough. Hope you are feeling better by now. Grab a good book and just chill out – if possible. I’m sending good thoughts your way.

  19. gpcox says:

    I need to get your title up over my desk – The hurrier I go, the behinder I get!! – In huge letters along with a memo to take a deep breath now and again.

  20. LubbyGirl says:

    That was beautiful – both your post and the song.

  21. tazeinmirzasaad says:

    I hope you feel better soon dearest Patty! Take things slowly, me too, when I try to hurry, things fall apart!

  22. PASTOR DAVIS/MASTER TEACHER says:

    Greetings my friend, just stopped by for a moment to say thank you for the many visits to the house of the Lord. The Lord loves it when we share blessings with each other, because we are all one in His body created for His purpose and to do His will. May you find peace in all that you do to keep you balance and content as you walk out your purpose. Now let each moment of this weekend be a blessing for you as you lift your eyes towards heaven and thank Him for each moment in time. Then take a moment and bless someone else that comes into your present. It just might be the person that the Lord has sent to receive a morsel of food or a drink of water. For we know that He is truly good all the time, and everything he does is for the good of all His Children. I love you and appreciate you dearly my friend. Stop by anytime, the house of the Lord is always open to receive His Children.

  23. Sheryl says:

    I love Pennsylvania Dutch sayings like this one. The picture reminded my of some plaques with Pennsylvania Dutch sayings on them that my mother-in-law used to have hanging in her kitchen.

  24. Patty, I couldn’t agree more about time slipping away. I hate it that you had to suffer thru shingles. That’s one more gripe I have about gov controlled medication and thus Tricare. If I remember correctly, Tricare will pay a part of the shingles vaccine. Our internist insisted we both get the vaccine a couple years ago and between BC/BS and Tricare, we didn’t have to pay anything.

    • Patty B says:

      I called tricare and they won’t cover it for anyone under 60…but my dr said the “health officials”” are now recommending age 50 and above, so I am calling next month to see if they have it changed yet and still hoping to have get it for free through the health department. I got it a second time so my doc wants me to have it, but tricare aint’ budging.

  25. alygeorges says:

    Hi Patty, hope you’re feeling better already. :-) I’ve nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. http://alygeorges.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  26. Patty, Patty, Patty!! Not shingles?! Oh no. My mom had them, they were terrible. I hope you get well soon. Love that song. Indeed, it was a knee slapping song. Hugs.

  27. This is a perfect saying. It is a state I often get into, perhaps in response to the phrase my mother’s used to use all the time – Don’t keep your wishbone where your backbone ought to be. It is difficult to get the balance right. I hope you are truly better now.

  28. HI Patty,
    I’m so glad to know you are getting your feet back on the ground. (Love the song, too!)

Leave a Reply

