Light Your Candle

“Where there is love there is always hope”.{unknown}

The beginning of 2013 I started to write about what Diana wrote on her blog, “talktodiana”, on December 30, 2012, Diana wrote:

“choose love over hatred…One person, one heart at a time, is all it would take.
Perhaps, like me, you will choose love…even when someone believes differently than you, when things don’t work out quite the way you planned them and it feels like the entire world is against you. Let’s start with the person nearest to us. Let’s choose love.” 
 

Then in a comment from one of my articles reminded me of what I started to write last January. Russell from russelrayphotos2  made this comment, “Why not ask your God to heal the sick, feed the hungry, house the homeless, and bring peace to the world? If there is a God, and all those billions of people were to ask for those four things, would S/he listen?”

In answer to his question, yes I do believe God listens and answers.  His answer is to show us how we can all work together to restore the peace and love that was lost with the first sin.  God is not the hatred that we see every day, God is love, He is peace, and He is the Light for our darkened world.  Remember Jesus ate with the tax collectors and not only healed but physically touched those with leprosy. We can do no less.

Instead of only asking God for these things, let us ask God how does He want us to restore the world that He entrusted us to care for. 

To begin we can share His love by lighting the candles of our hearts ~ the love that is in each of us, for the world to see.  It is through the love of God that is in each of us that will bring restoration to our hurting world.

It is the same thing when at our Christmas Eve services we each light a candle passing that light to the person next to us lighting the way for the love of Jesus to enter our hearts.  What if each of us symbolically lights a candle and as we do on Christmas Eve?  We can light the candle next to the person nearest to us by loving them – lighting the way towards hope, love and peace.

We can write about it, express it in photographs or art or even by simply doing a good deed.  We can pass it on so that by the end of 2014 everyone will experience God’s Love as we pave the road to peace.

Let us all share God’s love in practical ways.  It can be something so easy as walking a cart back to the store for someone who is elderly or has a small child.  It can be as simple as a smile to a weary store clerk or waitress.  How many of us can buy an extra can of food when we go grocery shopping for our local food banks?  Instead of buying that extra cup of coffee at a gourmet coffee shop put that money in a jar and at the end of the month donate to a local charity.  Small?  Yes, but if we all do our part you will be amazed to see how fast it multiplies to care for those in need.  I leave little pass it on cards when I tip my waitress, something cheery to hopefully bring a smile to a weary soul.  I have begun to put them in the bills I pay every month as well.  There are many opportunities to pass the light that is in our hearts to someone else.

It has to start somewhere, let it start with you by lighting the candle of your heart and choosing love instead of hatred.  Let us all light our candles and pass it along to light someone’s life.

Today February 12, 2014 I light my candle, passing the love of God to the next person I meet.

 peace-banner-bloggers4peace

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bloggers for Peace, Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Light Your Candle

  1. Having just read the lovely comment you left on my blog post, I have to tell you that I feel like a recipient of your light. Thank you Patty.

  2. It’s a beautiful post and concept of passing kindness and love…. in whatever way we can. I did actually go to look at the ‘cards’ you mentioned but got a message …’didn’t have permission’ … Anyway it’s a great idea … Diane xo

  3. I am sure it is hard for non-Christians to understand why the bad and evil is allowed. I just know I am very thankful for the blinders to have been taken off of my eyes, so know I can see♥ Great post.

  4. I’m humbled and honoured by your link to my blog. I love this post Patty! Hugs and love to you!
    Diana xo

  5. joecruzmn says:

    What a great article you wrote. We are called to be candles for other people that go through suffering.

  6. gegebearbear says:

    Patty, I love your post! I am iced in and havento to catch up with my reading. Fabulous post. Your interpretation of the quote and turning it around was perfect! My candle is definitely lit for love! Glad I managed to get to your post! ?….Jillxo

  7. Denise Hisey says:

    This reminds me of the quote “I can’t do everything, but I can do something.” We can each do one small thing to make a difference, and together we will make a big difference.
    Wonderful post, Patty!

    • Patty B says:

      it is like “pay it forward” I have had a few friends who have been in line to get a free coffee from the person in front of them, and then they did the same thing the next time they went through. Such a wonderful concept, I hope it catches on all around the world.

  8. LubbyGirl says:

    This is great! I like the suggestions about the smile to a weary worker, and the “past it on” cards, and buying an extra can for the food bank. Our church runs a food bank. Yep, it’s true, we can all do SOMETHING!

    • Patty B says:

      My mind just cannot comprehend how much food and money we would be able to collect to help those in need just by giving a dollar without government interference that is….there are millions upon millions of people in this world who can give and we could do so much if everyone just pulls together.

  9. Sheryl says:

    Beautifully written. . . it is so much better to share love and caring than to get caught up in anger.

  10. God shares his love & light through his children on Earth. Today, we are blessed to feel his love through you. There is hope when there is love, truly beautiful. I hope and pray, so many will embrace it their hearts and live it every day.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you, that was beautiful what you wrote. I have met so many loving and caring people with pure hearts through blogging – together we will make this world a better place!

  11. 1annecasey says:

    Amen Patty and God bless you. : )))

  12. Cathy G says:

    What a lovely post – thank-you, Patty!

  13. Amen, sister. Good for you.

  14. Bravo, Patty. Well written and I know every word was guided by The Lord’s hand and into your heart. Thank you for speaking up for what we know is true.

  15. SingleFocus says:

    God is Love (1John 4:16). Well said! “The whole world is full of His glory” and we can be a reflection of the light of His glory as we demonstrate His love with acts of love and kindness every day. Oddly enough we tend to forget to pass that light to those closest to us ( that brother, sister, child or parent, etc.). If we all are faithful in doing as you suggest, there will be a ‘roaring blaze’ of God’s love and glory all over this world. This is our hope in God, the Father of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!

  16. tazeinmirzasaad says:

    God bless you dearest Patty! :)

  17. It was said of Eleanor Roosevelt that she’d rather light candles than curse the darkness.
    Lovely post. Keep shining.

  18. tazeinmirzasaad says:

    Beautiful thought of lighting candles! God bless you sweet Patty!

  19. Patty, I came over for a look and I’ve decided to become a permanent resident. Loved what you had to say here. There are too few of us who speak the love, light and peace of Jesus out into the world. I’m so glad to find another sister in Christ who speaks life and builds his kingdom through love. Bless you.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – that is such a sweet comment. I am finding many brothers and sisters in Christ with blogging. Isn’t it wonderful how God even uses the internet to bring His people together. I am honored to meet you and to consider you one of my sisters in Christ!

Leave a Reply

